Helix vs Serta

Get an Instant Discount for Helix Up To $200 Off + 2 Free Pillows

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Helix

Helix is one of the most innovative companies in the mattress-in-a-box movement. Over the last 3 years, they have been offering fully customized mattresses to customers with their high-tech sleep quiz. Being one of the first to provide dual sided firmness options, they also have made it even simpler for customers to select the right mattress (even if they don't want to use the sleep quiz). With 6 comfort designs to choose from, Helix has really focused on delivering to every type of sleeper.

Serta Perfect Sleeper

Serta offers innerspring and hybrid mattresses and are common at many mattress big box and retail outlets. You have likely heard the brand name on the radio. Serta has been in the mattress business for a long time and offers both classic innerspring designs and innovative all-foam and hybrid mattresses. While most customers find Serta's branded products to be initially comfortable, there are some concerns about durability for some sleepers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Helix in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Helix

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Helix: 9.4/10
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Helix: 9.3/10
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Helix: 9.4/10
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 7.1/10

No Back Pain:
Helix: 9.3/10
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 8.2/10

Price:
Helix: $600-$1245
Serta Perfect Sleeper: $299-$3499

Helix:
Up To $200 Off + 2 Free Pillows

Serta Perfect Sleeper:
Get Yours Now

Helix's Owner Satisfaction

Getting to the bottom of customer satisfaction is painstaking for the average shopper, especially with brands cleaning their online reputation. That said, overall, these mattresses are reviewed well by sleepers. However, there were some complaints from sleepers that didn't feel as comfortable. so take a look at the research below to make sure one of these mattresses will work for you!

Helix's Supportiveness

Some people think mattresses that are supportive are also always firm, but when we write about support, we are talking about material that aligns the spine. Most customers have described this mattress at performing well on support, but rarely, there are some complaints.

Edge Support
Most customers find that this mattress has good edge support, which fits the needs of most sleepers who like to sit on the side of their mattress or like to lie towards the sides of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Some reviewers use the bowling ball test to measure if mattresses are good at providing support to the spine. These mattresses do a good job overall, but there are some folks who rarely experience some discomfort.

Helix's Durability

It's a big win financially if your mattress is super durable and remains comfortable. It's one more great reason why durability is top of mind for mattress buyers. However, there are lots of brands that don't value the same thing. In spite of that, shoppers can still find great products by good brands. These mattresses are given high marks when it comes to durability. These mattresses should do a great job for up to a decade for those of average builds. Those who are heavier may have slightly time.

Get an Instant Discount for Helix:   Up To $200 Off + 2 Free Pillows

Serta Perfect Sleeper's Owner Satisfaction

Some customers were very happy with their new mattress, but others reported problems. Even though there are those that like these mattresses, overall they have lower customer satisfaction than average. Below you will find more information from customers on the specifics from these mattresses.

Serta Perfect Sleeper's Supportiveness

There are some customers that don't feel that these mattresses do well supporting them. Though some customers are pleased with these mattresses, if you are wider framed, take a look at the mattress specs before buying.

Edge Support
For customers looking for good edge support, you may want to take a look at the reviews as these mattresses have mixed reviews about edge support.

Serta Perfect Sleeper's Durability

Mattresses that last a long a time are great, but not always easy to find. Sadly, sleepers don't rate these mattresses well when it comes to durability. That said, some sleepers may discover their mattresses lasts more than a decade, while other customers find their mattress to break down quicker than expected. If you have a wider frame than average, make sure to do some more research because you may be at a higher risk for durability issues.

Browse Helix Customer Reviews

Better than before - Eric S.

My helix isn't perfect but it's a whole lot better than what I was sleeping on before. After a couple months I've noticed a little sagging on the side I typically sleep but overall I love my mattress, sound investment.

View More Reviews

Browse Serta Perfect Sleeper Customer Reviews

Really nice when warm. Hard as a brick when cold.

Have a cabin where the bed room temp is around 60 in the winter. The upper 3 inches of gel memory foam is really ridgid when cold. Climb into a cold bed is more like climbing onto a piece of plywood. After about 10 minutes, your body temp softens the foam and it is really comfortable... until you roll over too far onto a cold slab and you are back on the plywood.

I sure hope summer is more comfy.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Puffy

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.