Helix vs King Koil

Get an Instant Discount for Helix $100 Off - Code HOLIDAY100

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Helix

Helix is one of the most innovative companies in the mattress-in-a-box movement. Over the last 3 years, they have been offering fully customized mattresses to customers with their high-tech sleep quiz. Being one of the first to provide dual sided firmness options, they also have made it even simpler for customers to select the right mattress (even if they don't want to use the sleep quiz). With 6 comfort designs to choose from, Helix has really focused on delivering to every type of sleeper.

King Koil

King Koil is a mattress brand that was founded in 1898. It started selling innerspring mattresses, but over the years has expanded to foam mattresses as well. You can find King Koil mattresses across the globe in local retailers. Some of their mattress models may be advertised under other names. Overall, they make comfortable mattresses in a variety of pricepoints, but some may find more value for the materials in other brands.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Helix in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Helix

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Helix: 9.4/10
King Koil: 8.4/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Helix: 9.3/10
King Koil: 8.5/10

Price Value:
Helix: 9.4/10
King Koil: 8.2/10

No Back Pain:
Helix: 9.3/10
King Koil: 8.5/10

Price:
Helix: $600-$1245
King Koil: $549-$3,399

Helix:
$100 Off - Code HOLIDAY100

King Koil:
Get Yours Now

Helix's Owner Satisfaction

Sleeper satisfaction isn't simple to get to the bottom of with plenty of brands doing work cleaning up their online reputation. That said, these mattresses are reviewed well by customers overall. But, there were some sleepers that disagreed with the feel. so look below to see if the mattress specifications will work for your body type!

Helix's Supportiveness

Mattresses that give good support are oftentimes thought of as firm, but when we mention support, we mean support that cradles your spine, hips, and shoulders. Most folks find this mattress supportive, but rarely, some customers are not always happy.

Edge Support
These mattresses have good support along the edges, which preferred for those that like to sit on the edge of the bed or sleep close to the sides of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
By resting a bowling ball on the mattress, you can measure how even a mattress is in terms of support. These mattresses do a good job at supporting the spine overall, but some with wide hips and shoulders may experience some discomfort.

Helix's Durability

High quality, durable mattresses are the most sought after by customers. However, with some brands out there focused on other things than durability, finding a mattress that lasts can be a difficult thing to find. However, even with this, thhese mattresses specifically do well when it comes to durability. For the average sized sleeper, they will last 7 - 12 years. Those that are bigger or use their mattress more than 8 hours every night may find that their mattress is slightly less durable.

Get an Instant Discount for Helix:   $100 Off - Code HOLIDAY100

King Koil's Owner Satisfaction

Some customers are very comfortable with these mattresses., but other folks have had different experiences. Sleepers were mostly positive, but there were some negatives that they described. Research more below for information on the specifics.

King Koil's Supportiveness

Mattress support is the secret for keeping things comfy at night and in the morning. These mattresses provide a supportive sleeping surface -- above average in the industry. This is important if you have back problems or need something that will keep the spine aligned properly. Most customers report that these mattresses do a decent job providing support.

Edge Support
Edge support is how much support there is on the sides of the mattress versus the middle. These mattresses offer good edge support overall, but some folks may notice more sinking along the side of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
By performing a bowling ball test, one can quickly figure out mattress firmness. It is also a great test to see if there is evenness in support or if there are peaks and valleys. Overall, these mattresses should work with your body and offer an even support feel.

King Koil's Durability

Finding a mattress that has comfort that lasts can save you lots of money. However, these days, everything from clothes to mattresses are wearing out quicker and quicker as businesses compete for profits. Customers give mixed feedback when it comes to the durability of these mattresses. These mattresses may last years for you, but others have reported not being as lucky. Make sure to take look at some of the customer reviews to see if the mattress should work for you before purchasing.

Browse Helix Customer Reviews

Better than before - Eric S.

My helix isn't perfect but it's a whole lot better than what I was sleeping on before. After a couple months I've noticed a little sagging on the side I typically sleep but overall I love my mattress, sound investment.

View More Reviews

Browse King Koil Customer Reviews

Great Quality for Price

This mattress is comfy! It's not too firm and not too soft. I love it! I was a little nervous before I bought it because the price is so low. Once I went in the store and tested it out, I knew I was going to get my monies worth. Granted I've only had it for about a week now, even my boyfriend has confirmed it's super comfortale. Get it while it's on sale.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Level

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.