Hampton And Rhodes vs Urban

Get The Best February 2020 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Hampton And Rhodes

Hampton and Rhodes is a brand of mattress retailer Mattress Firm, which owns west coast mattress retailer Sleep Train. This mattress is their economical counterpart to the normal name brand mattresses that cost more. One of their more popular products is the 'Aruba' hybrid mattress that comes with 7 layers of cooling and comfort foam, and a second layer of pocketed springs with a 'sale' price point of $599. That said, where you get value, you don't get detailed information on where the mattress was made or the specifics of the material.

Urban

Urban Mattress is both a retailer and a brand of mattress. They were founded in Boulder, CO in 2008 with only one store and have grown to 14 stores in over 12 cities across the US. Their retail operation carries other mattress brands such as Vispring (the luxury British bedding brand) and Tempur-pedic, along with their own brand Urban Mattress and Urban Naturals. They are also active in social responsibility, donating to local charities in each of their locations. They have a budget line of Urban Mattress bedding focusing on both memory foam and hybrid bedding with a mid-price point to fit any budget.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Urban in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Hampton And Rhodes: 7.8/10
Urban: 8.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Hampton And Rhodes: 7.7/10
Urban: 8.8/10

Price Value:
Hampton And Rhodes: 8.1/10
Urban: 8.8/10

No Back Pain:
Hampton And Rhodes: 8.6/10
Urban: 8.9/10

Price:
Hampton And Rhodes: $189-$699
Urban: $299-$4299

Hampton And Rhodes:
Get Yours Now

Urban:
Get Yours Now

Hampton And Rhodes's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews can be sometimes difficult to find and make sense of -- especially with some companies focusing heavily on protecting their reputation. These mattresses, unfortunately, don't get the best reception from customers versus competitors. There are still sleepers who are perfectly cozy with these products, but others that are not as much. Learn more details about the mattresses below.

Hampton And Rhodes's Supportiveness

In terms of support, customers give these mattresses mixed reviews. Some customers feel like these mattresses provide a cozy comfort, but others didn't feel great after a night's sleep. If you are larger than average, you should do added research to make sure you find a match for you.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important item for anyone that likes to lounge on the side of their mattress or has mobility concerns. Some may find that the edge support in these mattresses is not as robust as others.

Hampton And Rhodes's Durability

Getting a mattress which has lasting comfort is what buyers are after. Everyone is hopeful in finding a bed that is just as comfortable ten years from now as it was day one. However, sadly these mattresses are not rated very well by sleepers on longevity and some have experienced issues after only a short time. If you are considering buying for nightly use, make sure to review the specs against your body type to make sure it will work for you.

Urban's Owner Satisfaction

Getting input from customers is a great way to shorten your list of potential mattresses to look at. Customers review these mattresses highly, but there were a select few that had complaints. The below has more information about the feel of the mattress and a selection of customer reviews -- learn more to see if one of these works for you!

Urban's Supportiveness

These mattresses do well with support vs many other competitors. Their materials do a solid job at aligning the spine and help most folks get comfortable. Reviews describe the mattresses as quite supportive and and don't mention initial issues with loss of resiliency.

Edge Support
Edge support is important for those that like to sit on the side of the mattress and are looking for a supportive surface. These mattresses offer good support on the sides and edges.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is good for measuring firmness and support throughout the mattress. Customers report that these mattresses are evenly supportive throughout.

Urban's Durability

It's a hard prospect finding products that last decades. Brands, for the most part, rather not make a product that lasts a lifetime if they can make repeatable revenue. However, there are still good brands out there. Customers say that these mattresses do a great job on quality. They should do well up to a decade for most customers, though some folks who are larger may find they break down a short time before that.

Browse Hampton And Rhodes Customer Reviews

Literally, THE best purchase I've ever made!

I bought this mattress about two weeks ago. I like to run, a lot, and my back was awfully sore. My doctor, Dr. Richard Nygaurd, recommended I get a new mattress. After careful consideration, I selecting this cooling memore foam mattress. It is literally amazing! I simply love it! Now, after my second night run, my back feels supported and happy! Four thumbs up!

View More Reviews

Browse Urban Customer Reviews

Bought it in Aurora, CO

Liked what I felt in the store, but it feels a little less magical at home. However, I can't complain much because it still really beats my old crappy Serta.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.