Hampton And Rhodes vs Southerland

Get The Best July 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Hampton And Rhodes

Hampton and Rhodes is a brand of mattress retailer Mattress Firm, which owns west coast mattress retailer Sleep Train. This mattress is their economical counterpart to the normal name brand mattresses that cost more. One of their more popular products is the 'Aruba' hybrid mattress that comes with 7 layers of cooling and comfort foam, and a second layer of pocketed springs with a 'sale' price point of $599. That said, where you get value, you don't get detailed information on where the mattress was made or the specifics of the material.

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. With both memory foam and pocketed coil options, most customers like their mattresses at first, but some customers experienced issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Hampton And Rhodes in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Hampton And Rhodes


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Hampton And Rhodes: 7.8/10
Southerland: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Hampton And Rhodes: 7.7/10
Southerland: 7.3/10

Price Value:
Hampton And Rhodes: 8.1/10
Southerland: 8.3/10

No Back Pain:
Hampton And Rhodes: 8.6/10
Southerland: 8.1/10

Price:
Hampton And Rhodes: $189-$699
Southerland: $399-2399

Hampton And Rhodes:
Get Yours Now

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

Hampton And Rhodes's Owner Satisfaction

If you are thinking of buying, read on below for more information from customers. Sadly, they get some negative feedback from a selection of sleepers. Some folks were cozy in their new mattress, but others reported trouble getting comfortable.

Hampton And Rhodes's Supportiveness

Some customers describe feeling good support in these mattresses, but some have had issues with support over the long term. For those that are of larger body types or require more support for health reasons, read the reviews to make sure the mattress works with your body.

Edge Support
The customers have mixed thoughts about edge support on these mattresses. Some customers report feeling good with the support across the surface, but others had issues with sagginess towards the sides.

Hampton And Rhodes's Durability

Durability is one of the most important attributes to finding a mattress. We are all hopeful to find a mattress that would be just as comfortable day one as it is 10 years from now. Unfortunately, not all customers regard these mattresses highly overall on durability, and some have had some problems over the short term. If you are considering purchasing as your full time mattress, read the reviews to make sure it will work with your body before buying.

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

Getting a firm understanding of sleeper reviews can be a relief. Unfortunately, sleepers don't always feel great about these mattresses. Some are content with the feel and comfort level, but others are not so much. If you are considering buying, there are more details about mattress specifics below.

Southerland's Supportiveness

Customers have mixed feelings about the lasting support of these mattresses. Though some customers are pleased with these mattresses, if you have wide hips and shoulders, review the mattress specifications before purchasing.

Edge Support
For those that are excited about getting good edge support, some reviewers report that these mattresses may not have the kind of edge support over the long term that you may need.

Southerland's Durability

Mattresses that last a long a time are great, but not always easy to find. These mattresses are reported by customers to be not as durable as others. That said, some customers may find their mattress lasts longer than average, while other customers may have much faster discomfort. If you are a heavier individual, read up on your options because you may be at a higher risk for durability issues from some mattresses.

Browse Hampton And Rhodes Customer Reviews

Literally, THE best purchase I've ever made!

I bought this mattress about two weeks ago. I like to run, a lot, and my back was awfully sore. My doctor, Dr. Richard Nygaurd, recommended I get a new mattress. After careful consideration, I selecting this cooling memore foam mattress. It is literally amazing! I simply love it! Now, after my second night run, my back feels supported and happy! Four thumbs up!

View More Reviews

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible - Valerie

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.