Hästens vs Southerland

Get The Best February 2020 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Hästens

Hästens is an ultra-luxury brand of mattress that is hand-crafted in Sweden and sticks to the basics of high end natural materials and crafstmanship. The materials used in a Hästens mattress include horsehair, wool, cotton, and other natural materials without the use of latex or memory foam. Customers report feeling invigorated by this mattress, but there were some durability concerns about the top layer -- which can be independently replaced for a fee.

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. With both memory foam and pocketed coil options, most customers like their mattresses at first, but some customers experienced issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Hästens in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Hästens: 8.2/10
Southerland: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Hästens: 8.2/10
Southerland: 7.3/10

Price Value:
Hästens: 8.3/10
Southerland: 8.3/10

No Back Pain:
Hästens: 8.2/10
Southerland: 8.1/10

Price:
Hästens: $3500-$65000
Southerland: $399-2399

Hästens:
Get Yours Now

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

Hästens's Owner Satisfaction

With data from customers, you can more accurately choose the right mattress. However, there are a lot of other brands out there competing for your attention. Customers report feeling both positively and negatively about these mattresses. Some are excited about their new mattress, but others are not very happy.

Hästens's Supportiveness

Having a supportive mattress is key for getting a good night's sleep. If your bed doesn't prop you up, you likely aren't getting the kind of sleep that you need to be getting. Most customers were happy with the support from these mattresses, but some had issues with the feel.

Edge Support
Most find the edge support that these mattresses provide to be good, which is ideal for those who like to put weight on the side of the mattress. Those that have heavier frames may still find some discomfort while laying close to the side.

Hästens's Durability

Mattresses don't last as long as they once did. A mattress that lasts 15 years is a hard thing for find. However, finding a mattress that really stays cozy that long can save you lots. Sadly, these mattresses have mixed ratings when it comes to durability. Some sleepers don't have any issues, but others report having quicker than average durability problems.

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

If you are thinking of buying, read on below for more information from customers. They, sadly, get some low reviews from customers. Some have had great things to say about how their mattresses work for them, but many others have had complaints about feel.

Southerland's Supportiveness

Customers have mixed feelings about the lasting support of these mattresses. Though some folks are happy with these mattresses, if you have a heavier body type, make sure that your choice fits with your body before buying.

Edge Support
For those that need longevity in their edge support., some customers report that these mattresses don't work for them on edge support.

Southerland's Durability

Unfortunately, customers don't always love the durability of these mattresses. While some sleepers reported lasting comfort, others talk about problems with comfort over a short duration. Make sure to do some extra reading of the reviews and warranty policies before buying.

Browse Hästens Customer Reviews

We worked with Barbro Sjötun

We worked with Barbro Sjötun at Hastens Soho and could not have had a better experience. Over the span of many visits, Barbro patiently took time to walk us through our many options. In addition to being an expert on Hastens and their amazing product line, she also seems to be an expert on sleep and had many insights that she was generous enough to share with us. Once we were ready to make the purchase, she was very responsive (even over weekends) - we could not be any happier with the service we were provided as well as the final product.

View More Reviews

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible - Valerie

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.