Ethan Allen vs Tempurpedic

Get The Best April 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Ethan Allen

Ethan Allen sells their own brand of hybrid and foam mattresses at their retail and online locations. At well over $1,000 for a queen, their prices are only competitive against high end name brands. They have multiple firmness options in their lineup and most customers have described their mattresses as comfortable. Some customers had issues with the durability of some of the mattresses.

Tempurpedic

Tempur-Pedic is the memory foam mattress pioneer and a household name in the mattress industry. It is a popular name brand mattress and part of the mattress powerhouse, Tempur-Sealy along with other name brands like Stearns and Foster. With the reputation of starting the memory foam mattress movement, Tempur-Pedic has a legacy to live up to, and with a suite of offerings to fit nearly every sleeper -- there is a lot to be said for this brand.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Tempurpedic in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Tempurpedic


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Ethan Allen: 7.6/10
Tempurpedic: 8.9/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Ethan Allen: 7.7/10
Tempurpedic: 8.9/10

Price Value:
Ethan Allen: 7.5/10
Tempurpedic: 8.4/10

No Back Pain:
Ethan Allen: 7.6/10
Tempurpedic: 8.7/10

Price:
Ethan Allen: $599-$8996
Tempurpedic: $1599-$8398

Ethan Allen:
Get Yours Now

Tempurpedic:
Get Yours Now

Ethan Allen's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews can be hard to see from a high level -- especially with brands trying at all costs to protect their reputation. These mattresses, unfortunately, aren't scored as well by customers. There are still customers that are happy with their mattresses, but others that are not as pleased. Learn more details about the mattresses below.

Ethan Allen's Supportiveness

In terms of support, these mattresses have had some mixed reviews. Some feel like the mattresses provide good comfort, but others didn't feel comfortable while they slept. If you would describe yourself as plus-sized, you should do some added research before purchasing.

Edge Support
Edge support is an essential item for those that like to lay close the edge of their mattress without dipping or rolling off. Some may find that the edge support in these mattresses is not as robust as others.

Ethan Allen's Durability

These mattresses may not be as durable as you would hope after buying. Some reviewers have had complaints regarding durability and comfort over a short horizon. If you are shopping for a mattress with lasting support but are also are larger than average person, these may provide initial comfort, but do a last check on the mattress specifications and return policies before purchasing.

Tempurpedic's Owner Satisfaction

Most customers reviewed these mattresses highly and felt comfortable in their beds. Some folks didn't feel as comfortable, however. If one of these mattresses looks good to you, make sure to learn more below.

Tempurpedic's Supportiveness

Most reviewers find these mattresses to be supportive, which means both their support and comfort layers align the back and comfort the body for most. That said, there are a few issues reported by a few customers, so make sure to do research to align your pick with your sleeping position and body type.

Edge Support
Overall, most sleepers report that these mattresses have good edge support, which means most don't have any problems sitting on the side of the mattress comfortably.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In tests of the mattress density evenness and firmness, there is solid support throughout. That said, some have complained about support issues over a long period, so make sure to look at customer feedback before buying.

Tempurpedic's Durability

It is extremely important for shoppers to find a durable mattress, but some companies care more about profits than they do about quality. That said, these mattresses get high marks from sleepers on durability. Most folks will continue to be happy about their mattress after 5 years, but some who use their mattress more than average will find that it doesn't last as long.

Check the Prices For Tempurpedic:   Get Today's Prices

Browse Ethan Allen Customer Reviews

Like many people, a back ache prompted me to buy a new mattress

Like many people, a back ache prompted me to buy a new mattress. After much research, I selected a bed offered by Ethan Allen and was willing to drive a long distance to purchase it. When the bed arrived at the local warehouse, I was told there would be approximately 7-10 days for delivery to my home. My back ache and sleep were worsening so I called the store and asked if there was any way to expedite the delivery; I didn't expect this special service but tried anyway. To my surprise, the store manager cut some red tape and had my bed delivered in two days. The bed is great, sleep is great, back ache gone. Thank you, Ethan Allen.

View More Reviews

Browse Tempurpedic Customer Reviews

Great Mattress!!

I received the mattress a few days ago, and after 24 hours, it has been some great sleep! The mattress itself is a bit on the firm side, but I have read that it will soften up, which is good.
It feels wonderful and is a great buy! I am so glad I went with this instead of the Tempurpedic or iComfort...Saved quite a bit! Overall, I am satisfied. The mattress came rolled up and vacuum sealed, so there was a slight odor, but that dissipated within 24 hours. The bed says, BedBoss on the side of it also. I'm excited to get to sleep in this weekend on it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.