Ethan Allen vs Southerland

Get The Best May 2021 Mattress Deals! Unlock Today's Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Ethan Allen

Ethan Allen sells their own brand of hybrid and foam mattresses at their retail and online locations. At well over $1,000 for a queen, their prices are only competitive against high end name brands. They have multiple firmness options in their lineup and most customers have described their mattresses as comfortable. Some customers had issues with the durability of some of the mattresses.

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. With both memory foam and pocketed coil options, most customers like their mattresses at first, but some customers experienced issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Ethan Allen in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Ethan Allen: 7.6/10
Southerland: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Ethan Allen: 7.7/10
Southerland: 7.3/10

Price Value:
Ethan Allen: 7.5/10
Southerland: 8.3/10

No Back Pain:
Ethan Allen: 7.6/10
Southerland: 8.1/10

Price:
Ethan Allen: $599-$8996
Southerland: $399-2399

Ethan Allen:
Get Yours Now

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

Ethan Allen's Owner Satisfaction

Getting a sense of how customers feel about mattresses can direct shoppers towards good options. Customers, unfortunately, don't always enjoy these mattresses. Some are very satisfied with the feel, but others report discomfort. If you are considering buying, there are more details about mattress specifics below.

Ethan Allen's Supportiveness

Overall, these mattresses may leave something to be desired in terms of lasting support. Though there are some that prefer the feel of these mattresses, others have had issues with spine alignment. If this brand is on your list, do additional research to ensure it works for your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is essential to those that like to lay close to the edge of the mattress. Others don't really feel its that big of a deal as long as they are comfy sleeping. These mattresses may not offer the kind of edge support that lasts so make sure to do added research if it is important to you.

Ethan Allen's Durability

These mattresses may not give the lasting comfort that you are striving to find. Some sleepers have had problems with feel and durability over a shorter than average time. If you would consider yourself larger or looking for something with lasting support, these mattresses may comfort you initially, but take a look at the reviews before buying.

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews can be hard to see from a high level -- especially with some companies focusing heavily on protecting their reputation. Customers, sadly, don't give these mattresses as high reception as others in the industry. There are still folks that love their mattresses, but there are many others with complaints. Read on to understand the specifics of the mattresses.

Southerland's Supportiveness

Support isn't equal to firmness. Excellent support means having a mattress that cradles your hips and shoulders to align you back. Sadly, some customers don't find these mattresses to have great support. Most folks find the mattress to be supportive at the beginning, but some customers didn't feel supported well over time.

Edge Support
For those with mobility concerns or like to lay close to the side of the mattress, edge support is very important. Overall, these mattresses do a good job at first with support at the edge, but some had complaints that edge support wasn't all it could be long term.

Southerland's Durability

Finding a mattress that is highly durable is the best, and when our mattress is instead something crummy that causes us pain after only a year, this is the worst. However, it is much more difficult to find a durable mattress nowadays than in years past. With the crazy amount of choices now, some companies are focused more on capturing mind-share and sacrificing quality. With these mattresses specifically, some sleepers report problems with lasting comfort. That doesn't necessarily mean that durability issues will happen to everyone, but make sure to read up more before buying.

Browse Ethan Allen Customer Reviews

Like many people, a back ache prompted me to buy a new mattress

Like many people, a back ache prompted me to buy a new mattress. After much research, I selected a bed offered by Ethan Allen and was willing to drive a long distance to purchase it. When the bed arrived at the local warehouse, I was told there would be approximately 7-10 days for delivery to my home. My back ache and sleep were worsening so I called the store and asked if there was any way to expedite the delivery; I didn't expect this special service but tried anyway. To my surprise, the store manager cut some red tape and had my bed delivered in two days. The bed is great, sleep is great, back ache gone. Thank you, Ethan Allen.

View More Reviews

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.