Ethan Allen vs Nolah

Get an Instant Discount for Nolah Up To $300 Off Mattresses & More

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Ethan Allen

Ethan Allen sells their own brand of hybrid and foam mattresses at their retail and online locations. At well over $1,000 for a queen, their prices are only competitive against high end name brands. They have multiple firmness options in their lineup and most customers have described their mattresses as comfortable. Some customers had issues with the durability of some of the mattresses.

Nolah

Nolah is a 2016 mattress entrant with a new response to the memory foam mattress. Nolah crafted its very own foam, called Nolah AirFoam™. Its innovation is that it retains less heat than other memory foam or common 'visco elastic' foams. It also has less pressure than even high end memory foam, meaning that it is easier on the hips and shoulders. Nolah's testers say it is also more durable and great for side sleepers. With 2 different mattress options and 7% of profits going to wildlife adoption, Nolah is a brand anyone can feel good about!

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Nolah in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Nolah

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Ethan Allen: 7.6/10
Nolah: 9.4/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Ethan Allen: 7.7/10
Nolah: 9.4/10

Price Value:
Ethan Allen: 7.5/10
Nolah: 9.4/10

No Back Pain:
Ethan Allen: 7.6/10
Nolah: 9.4/10

Price:
Ethan Allen: $599-$8996
Nolah: $619-$1769

Ethan Allen:
Get Yours Now

Nolah:
Up To $300 Off Mattresses & More

Ethan Allen's Owner Satisfaction

Sleeper reviews can be hard to understand from a high level -- especially with brands trying at all costs to protect their reputation. Sleepers, sadly, don't always feel comfortable from these mattresses. There are still folks that are content, but others who are really not. Learn more details about the mattresses below.

Ethan Allen's Supportiveness

Some have described these mattresses as being supportive, but others have had complaints about the support lasting. For those that are larger in frame or have tender spines, do some added research before purchasing.

Edge Support
The customers have mixed thoughts about edge support on these mattresses. Some feel positive about the mattress supportiveness across the surface, but others had problems with dipping along the sides.

Ethan Allen's Durability

Having a mattress that lasts is one of the most important factors to sleepers. Everyone is hopeful in finding a bed that is just as comfortable ten years from now as it was day one. However, these mattresses are not rated well by some reviewers on durability and some have experienced breakdown after only a short time. If you are thinking about using this mattress nightly, read the reviews to make sure that it will match your body type before buying.

Nolah's Owner Satisfaction

It is smart to use customer data to understand the quality of products and brands. However, it can be hard to figure out especially if you don't have all of the takeaways from the customer reviews. Customers are some of the happiest with these mattresses based on our analysis., which should assist in your mattress search.

Nolah's Supportiveness

Mattress support is key to a healthy night sleep. You want something that will align your spine rather than causing you nightly pain. These mattresses do a very good job supporting the back while keeping things comfortable.

Edge Support
Edge support is really important for those that like to dangle their feet over the side of the mattress. These mattresses are supportive along the edges and don't suffer from too much contouring versus the center.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
A popular test for reviewers, the bowling ball test does a good job showing firmness and contouring, but also evenness of support. If a mattress doesn't have even response, some may find the mattress uncomfortable. Luckily, these mattresses are evenly supportive across the surface of the mattress.

Nolah's Durability

In terms of the durability, these mattresses do a good job versus competitors. Finding a mattress that is works with your body and is durable could mean years of comfortable sleep. while one that fails quickly can mean endless back pain. For most sleepers, these mattresses will last up to a decade, which is decent for today's mattresses. Those that are heavier than average or use their mattresses more than once a day may experience a slight decrease in durability.

Get an Instant Discount for Nolah:   Up To $300 Off Mattresses & More

Browse Ethan Allen Customer Reviews

Like many people, a back ache prompted me to buy a new mattress

Like many people, a back ache prompted me to buy a new mattress. After much research, I selected a bed offered by Ethan Allen and was willing to drive a long distance to purchase it. When the bed arrived at the local warehouse, I was told there would be approximately 7-10 days for delivery to my home. My back ache and sleep were worsening so I called the store and asked if there was any way to expedite the delivery; I didn't expect this special service but tried anyway. To my surprise, the store manager cut some red tape and had my bed delivered in two days. The bed is great, sleep is great, back ache gone. Thank you, Ethan Allen.

View More Reviews

Browse Nolah Customer Reviews

Life changing,truly!!

I love my new Nola mattress! This mattress is truly a life changer for me and my husband. We are so happy we purchased the Nola mattress because we both sleep much better at night. I often suffered from hot flashes at night and would put the covers on and take them off covers on and off, too and turn all night. Now I sleep much cooler and in a deeper sleep and I feel much more rested the next day. I would rate the firmness as a 4-5 on scale 1-10. I like the softness and I still feel supported. No more left hip pain. I also sleep on my back at times and I wake with no backaches. Another advantage is the liberal return policy of 120 days and free pickup if you are dissatisfied. We have owned it for 3weeks. One doesn't know how well you will like a mattress until you sleep on it for a week or so. We liked the Nolah from the first night with no break in period. Our previous mattress was a memory foam with a latex topper and slept very hot and I could not return it after trying it out for a couple weeks. the Nola does not sleep hot. I would highly recommend viewing online videos to visualize the softness. that's what I did and found that I was very happy with this purchase.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.