Ethan Allen vs Layla

Get an Instant Discount for Layla Get $125 Off & 2 Free Pillows

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Ethan Allen

Ethan Allen sells their own brand of hybrid and foam mattresses at their retail and online locations. At well over $1,000 for a queen, their prices are only competitive against high end name brands. They have multiple firmness options in their lineup and most customers have described their mattresses as comfortable. Some customers had issues with the durability of some of the mattresses.

Layla

Layla got its start in 2015 as the mattress in the box trying to fight homelessness with every mattress purchased. Since then, they have focused themselves primarily on making one better mattress, crafting an infused-copper memory foam mattress for everyone. With materials that are cooler and more customizable, there is definitely something to this mattress. If you are interested in a slightly soft all-foam mattress, this is mattress is worth a look.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Layla in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Layla

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Ethan Allen: 7.6/10
Layla: 9.4/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Ethan Allen: 7.7/10
Layla: 9.4/10

Price Value:
Ethan Allen: 7.5/10
Layla: 9.3/10

No Back Pain:
Ethan Allen: 7.6/10
Layla: 9.3/10

Price:
Ethan Allen: $599-$8996
Layla: $499-$999

Ethan Allen:
Get Yours Now

Layla:
Get $125 Off & 2 Free Pillows

Ethan Allen's Owner Satisfaction

Some sleepers are comfortable with their new beds, but others were not as satisfied with how the mattress made them feel. Even though there are those that like these mattresses, overall they have lower customer satisfaction than average. Read on for more specifics if you are interested in buying.

Ethan Allen's Supportiveness

Overall, these mattresses may leave something to be desired in terms of lasting support. Though there are some folks that find comfort and support, others have reported discomfort. If this brand is on your list, do additional research to ensure it works for your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is always important to those that like to sit close to the edge of the mattress However, others don't really mind as long as they are comfortable sleeping. Edge support in these mattresses may not be excellent so make sure to do added research if it is important for you.

Ethan Allen's Durability

Long lasting mattresses are wonderful, but not always simple to discover. Sadly, customers are not always pleased with the durability of these mattresses. That being said, some may provide comfort for years and years, while other customers may have much faster discomfort. If you have a wider frame than average, make sure to do some more research because you may be at a higher risk for durability issues.

Layla's Owner Satisfaction

Having great ratings from customers is an important indicator for shoppers. Customers provide some of the better ratings to this brand than most others, which should make you feel confident in doing more research into the product offering. Read the specifics below to learn if one will work for your body!

Layla's Supportiveness

Mattress support is one of the most important attributes for just about everyone. Even if you like mattresses in non-firm varieties, a mattress that aligns the back and shoulders is really important. Most report that these mattresses offer a good amount of support.

Edge Support
Some mattress connoisseurs report that edge support is a key for the mattress shopper. These mattresses do well in that category, which means that sleepers report feeling consistency in support near the sides of the bed.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Measuring mattress firmness with a bowling ball is a good approach and it does well measuring even support. These mattresses offer good even support, which will help with aligning the spine.

Layla's Durability

Longevity of comfort is one of the most important factors in selecting a new mattress. Though some factors, like dust mites, are reasons why keeping a mattress for longer than 15 years might not be the best idea, we could all sleep easier if it was a guarantee our mattress would last that long. Customers report that these mattresses do well overall in terms of durability. Most sleepers will be happy with these mattresses over 7 years, but rarely some folks have complained about the feel. If you are a larger person, you may want to do a price analysis to make sure these mattresses are for you.

Get an Instant Discount for Layla:   Get $125 Off & 2 Free Pillows

Browse Ethan Allen Customer Reviews

Like many people, a back ache prompted me to buy a new mattress

Like many people, a back ache prompted me to buy a new mattress. After much research, I selected a bed offered by Ethan Allen and was willing to drive a long distance to purchase it. When the bed arrived at the local warehouse, I was told there would be approximately 7-10 days for delivery to my home. My back ache and sleep were worsening so I called the store and asked if there was any way to expedite the delivery; I didn't expect this special service but tried anyway. To my surprise, the store manager cut some red tape and had my bed delivered in two days. The bed is great, sleep is great, back ache gone. Thank you, Ethan Allen.

View More Reviews

Browse Layla Customer Reviews

The near perfect bed

I recently moved from a 15 year old box spring mattress to memory foam. I had always thought of myself as a firm mattress sleeper since my box-spring mattress was pretty hard. After doing a bit of research, I purchased the Amerisleep Revere bed. Most of the memory foam mattresses averaged a firmness of 6-7 on online reviews, but I found out that this was way too hard for me after sleeping on the Amerisleep Revere bed for a couple months. I ended up returning that mattress and trying the Layla mattress that had a firmness rating of 3 on the soft side and a 7 on the hard hard on online reviews, but also liked the idea of being able to flip it to a firmer mattress if I wanted to (which I have not tried yet). After about a week of getting use to, I found that I am falling asleep way more easily that I did with the box-spring or Amerisleep mattress. Also the company is true to its word that it dissipates heat well through its copper infused mattress even with a mattress cover. I have not tried it during the peak of summer yet but I stayed relatively cooler at the end of summer that my previous two mattresses.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Puffy

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.