Ethan Allen vs Kingsdown

Get The Best June 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Ethan Allen

Ethan Allen sells their own brand of hybrid and foam mattresses at their retail and online locations. At well over $1,000 for a queen, their prices are only competitive against high end name brands. They have multiple firmness options in their lineup and most customers have described their mattresses as comfortable. Some customers had issues with the durability of some of the mattresses.

Kingsdown

Kingsdown has been around 1904 and provides competitively priced, luxury style mattresses -- many seen in mattress retailers and homegoods stores. You can also find them sold online through larger mattress retailers. They offer a variety of mattresses with various designs -- from latex, gel foam, and innerspring vareties. Though most customers like their mattresses at first, there are some complaints about durability problems over a short duration reported by customers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Ethan Allen in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Ethan Allen: 7.6/10
Kingsdown: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Ethan Allen: 7.7/10
Kingsdown: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Ethan Allen: 7.5/10
Kingsdown: 8.5/10

No Back Pain:
Ethan Allen: 7.6/10
Kingsdown: 8.5/10

Price:
Ethan Allen: $599-$8996
Kingsdown: $700-$2500

Ethan Allen:
Get Yours Now

Kingsdown:
Get Yours Now

Ethan Allen's Owner Satisfaction

Not all sleepers like these mattresses. Some customers were happy with the way their new mattresse made them feel, but others reported being uncomfortable. Although one of these may work great for you, because of the responses it is more difficult to estimate. Take a look below to learn more about the specifics and to see if the mattress will work for you.

Ethan Allen's Supportiveness

Firmness isn't the same as support. Excellent support means having a mattress that cradles your hips and shoulders to align you back. Sadly, some customers don't find these mattresses to have great support. Most customers are comfortable with the support right after purchase, but some have reported support issues as time as gone on.

Edge Support
For those that like the lay close to the side of their mattress or have mobility issues, even edge support is very important. At first, these mattresses do a good job with edge support, but some may find that it changes over time.

Ethan Allen's Durability

Sleepers note that durability is one of the most important factors to them. Everyone is hopeful in finding a bed that is just as comfortable ten years from now as it was day one. That said, not all customers rate these mattresses very well on durability and some have had issues over only a short horizon. If you are considering buying for your main mattress, do some research on the reviews and return policy before purchasing.

Kingsdown's Owner Satisfaction

If you are examining this brand, take a look below for more details about these mattresses. They, unfortunately, don't get the best reception from customers overall. Some customers had positive things to say about their new mattress, but others didn't feel good about the comfort.

Kingsdown's Supportiveness

Overall, these mattresses have above average supportiveness, which is refreshing for those that need a mattress to align the spine. However, there are some reviewers that describe a lack of support for their bodies, so make sure that the firmness range is aligned with your body type.

Edge Support
Edge support is an indicator of how supportive the sides of the mattress are versus the center. These mattresses do fine overall, but some folks may experience less edge support over time.

Kingsdown's Durability

We all want a mattress that lasts 10 years or more, and when our mattress is instead something crummy that causes us pain after only a year, this is the worst. However, it is getting more and more difficult to find a durable mattress nowadays. With more choices for us than ever, some brands aren't always investing in quality. With these mattresses specifically, some sleepers report problems with lasting comfort. Durability issues don't happen to everyone, but make sure to read more about the warranty and the return policies.

Browse Ethan Allen Customer Reviews

Like many people, a back ache prompted me to buy a new mattress

Like many people, a back ache prompted me to buy a new mattress. After much research, I selected a bed offered by Ethan Allen and was willing to drive a long distance to purchase it. When the bed arrived at the local warehouse, I was told there would be approximately 7-10 days for delivery to my home. My back ache and sleep were worsening so I called the store and asked if there was any way to expedite the delivery; I didn't expect this special service but tried anyway. To my surprise, the store manager cut some red tape and had my bed delivered in two days. The bed is great, sleep is great, back ache gone. Thank you, Ethan Allen.

View More Reviews

Browse Kingsdown Customer Reviews

We literally tried everyone else. This is an amazing bed.

We went through four different mattresses, and actually returned a discontinued Kingsdown mattress before getting this mattress as a replacement. Although we did not buy through Amazon (did not know at the time we could), this mattress is amazing. We tried the top of the line "number" bed, sent it back. Top of the line (and I mean expensive) memory foam number bed, and sent it back. Tried another Kingstown mattress that we still didn't like, and they talked us into this mattress....and I am so happy they did. We have had this mattress for over a year, and there are still days my wife and I wake up and say "holy cow I love this bed." I wanted to pass along this review, because we searched for a bed that wouldn't leave us with aches for two long, long years, and since the customer service was so good, I wanted to pass this along to other people.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.