Get The Best October 2021 Mattress Deals! Unlock Today's Coupons

Ethan Allen Mattress Reviews

Ethan Allen sells their own brand of hybrid and foam mattresses at their retail and online locations. At well over $1,000 for a queen, their prices are only competitive against high end name brands. They have multiple firmness options in their lineup and most customers have described their mattresses as comfortable. Some customers had issues with the durability of some of the mattresses.

Mattress Scores

Overall Score: 7.6/10

Customer Satisfaction: 7.7/10

Price Value: 7.5/10

No Back Pain: 7.6/10

Price: $599-$8996

Trial Period: No Trial

See More Scores

Get Yours Now

See Our Top Mattress Choices

Ethan Allen's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews are sometimes hard to make sense of -- especially with companies coming in and out of the market quickly. These mattresses, sadly, don't get the highest reception from sleepers. There are still sleepers who are perfectly cozy with these products, but others that are not as much. Learn more details about the mattresses below.

Ethan Allen's Supportiveness

In terms of providing comfortable support for everyone, these mattresses get mixed reviews. Some have described them as supportive and report being comfortable, but others didn't feel that the mattress was equipped to provide comfort. If you have a heavier body type than average, these mattresses may not work 100% for your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important attribute for those that like to sit on the side of the mattress without discomfort. Some customers may find that the edge support is not as capable as they would hope.

Ethan Allen's Durability

These mattresses may not be as long-living as you'd like. Some customers have had issues with feel and longevity issues after a short time. If you have a larger body frame and are hoping for something with longevity, you may feel good initial comfort, but take a look at the reviews before buying.

Browse Ethan Allen Customer Reviews

Like many people, a back ache prompted me to buy a new mattress

Like many people, a back ache prompted me to buy a new mattress. After much research, I selected a bed offered by Ethan Allen and was willing to drive a long distance to purchase it. When the bed arrived at the local warehouse, I was told there would be approximately 7-10 days for delivery to my home. My back ache and sleep were worsening so I called the store and asked if there was any way to expedite the delivery; I didn't expect this special service but tried anyway. To my surprise, the store manager cut some red tape and had my bed delivered in two days. The bed is great, sleep is great, back ache gone. Thank you, Ethan Allen.

I ordered a mattress and box spring

On 4/29/06, I ordered a mattress and box spring from Ethan Allen for $2,500. It was to last a lifetime. On 9/15/08, Ethan Allen replaced the set with the same item. Here it is, 1/2012, and the mattress sags so badly, I am forced to replace it again. What is my recourse with Ethan Allen for a partial rebate?

My husband and I purchased an Ethan Allen Bella Queen Mattress

My husband and I purchased an Ethan Allen Bella Queen Mattress Set about one year ago. The disappointment is almost unbelievable! It is as though this is NOT the same bed we tested in the store. My husband, in particular, wanted this style of bed - not too much padding, but still enough padding to be comfortable. I actually wanted a big pillow top. However, I did try the bed in the store and thought it was comfortable. Once it was delivered, WOW! We were BOTH disappointed immensely. The mattress is the comfort and quality of a mattress set priced at $500 to $600. We have a very old Ethan Allen mattress (20+ years) and it never caved in, but had very little padding as they were made then. We have rooms of furniture bought from them at that same time, and recently bought a 2nd bedroom set and are happy with the furniture that we bought then and now.

Worst Mattresses Ever

Worst Mattresses Ever! My wife and I used to love Ethan Allen. They had awesome designs that we loved. We decided to fully furnish our new house from them. Overall, we were happy with the result except for some issues that varied between annoying (minor) to outright unacceptable (major).

Minor issues: 1) The surface of the corner tables in the main living room were damaged because of the lamps that we put on them. The lamps were from Ethan Allen as well and they were equipped with some form of pads at the bottom to avoid scratching the surface. That pad actually stuck to the surface and when lifting up the lamp, the paint was pulled out from the surface! Needless to say, it was an expensive piece. It happened to both corner tables. 2) The main dresser and bedside small ones we bought for the master bedroom looked great. Except that after a while, the drawers won't open and close properly. When we contacted EA, they told us it must be because of the weather conditions of where we live (hot and humid, although the A/C is running all the time).

Major issue: The memory foam mattresses we bought (qty. 2) were the worst mattresses we ever slept on in our lives. And it wasn't only us; any guest who slept over in the guest room gave the same feedback. They are just horrible. They cause back pain and neck pain. They bulge and form valleys and mountains! Upon calling them, they advised us to give them some time to get used to them! We tried. We never got used to them - $4,000 down the drain. Do not buy mattresses from Ethan Allen.

Don't buy your mattresses from them

Don't buy your mattresses from them, they do not honor their warranty!!!

Ethan Allen's furniture designs

Ethan Allen's furniture designs are beautiful and of great quality. However, I am really disappointed in your service and will not return to furnish the rest of our home with your designs. Having spent a rather significant amount of money on furniture for our daughter's room, this past May, I am surprised that we are still waiting for her bed to arrive this October. The initial delivery was set for June. I took the day off of work to wait for the delivery at the set appointment time. An hour prior to delivery my husband was contacted that the bed arriving was damaged and a new one would need to be made but the rest of the furniture would be delivered. Since we had a delivery appointment for June and a delivery set, we made room for the new furniture. The new dresser, end tables and mirror were dropped off and our daughter's mattress was now on the floor. What was a one night situation, has now been 4 months. Today, you finally arrived to install her bed. My husband took the day off of work to meet the delivery. Too bad your team didn't bring the screws needed to install the headboard or the frame...REALLY? To even add more insult- your team said it was at the warehouse and would probably NOT make it back again today. We have taken two days off of work, had our daughter without a bed for 4 months and making it happen today was not even considered. So sorry Ethan Allen, we were inconveniencing you.

We have been buyers

We have been buyers of Ethan for a long time. Our entire apartment in NYC was furtnished by Ethan Allan. Our home in PA is mostly Ethan Allen as well. our last experience with KOP store was to buy a mattress for our Ethan Allen bed. The mattress turned out to be not of good quality. There are visible depressions on the mattress where we sleep. We called the store and their "technician" came by and opined that the depressions are not deep enough for the mattress to be covered under warranty. I will not buy anything from Ethan Allen any more, their warranty is worthless.

In November

In November, I was on the hunt for a good quality, nice looking, durable & comfortable sofa bed that could withstand the wrath of two young kids and a heavy husband when the wife snored too load. I went to many, many furniture stores throughout the bay area, including an initial visit here w/ Leda Lindsay. With all the research and browsing I did, I still ended up returning to Ethan Allen. I based it on the quality of what i was getting, along w/ the price (it was the last day of their sales event). I purchased the Bennett Queen Sleeper and air mattress w/ the Maxwell Nutmeg fabric. The quality of the sofa frame, mattress frame and fabric were evident. And Leda was very patient and answered many questions during both visits, even made herself available in-between other customers. I've had the sofa 6 months now. I'm very pleased w/ it and the performance of the fabric thus far. I would definitely recommend this sleeper sofa and fabric combination for anyone looking for a quality sofa bed w/ kids. Leda was a great help w/ my purchase decision.

We went in to check out mattresses

We went in to check out mattresses. The entrance is pretty formal so I checked in with reception. She to me to feel free to look around and that the sales lady would be right with us. It's set up like a bunch of rooms. You walk from one complete room to another. The sales lady showed me several mattresses and they had a lot of literature on each one. She seemed as though she wasn't very knowledgable about the beds but was more than willing to get the answers that she was unsure of. Unthinking he was just new. The produces are nice but it takes a month to get a new mattress.

Like many people

Like many people, a back ache prompted me to buy a new mattress. After much research, I selected a bed offered by Ethan Allen and was willing to drive a long distance to purchase it. When the bed arrived at the local warehouse, I was told there would be approximately 7-10 days for delivery to my home. My back ache and sleep were worsening so I called the store and asked if there was any way to expedite the delivery; I didn't expect this special service but tried anyway. To my surprise, the store manager cut some red tape and had my bed delivered in two days. The bed is great, sleep is great, back ache gone. Thank you, Ethan Allen.

Horrible

Horrible !! I'm Sorry for anyone who falls victim to these scammers . They sell used furniture as new . They tell you furniture Is new , But they sell you model of the show room floor . They sell used mattress . As new . If anyone has purchased a mattress from them and it is off white kind of yellow with a Malibu logo on it your mattress is used . Also the furniture they sell if partly defective or they by furniture from other manufactures show room floors that are used as sell as new the last thing I will say is this I witnessed them with my own eyes sell a couch and a mattress that somebody dropped off next to the store trash can to a customer that came in saying that they were in need of a couch and a mattress and then they had very little money and this is what they sold them. I refuse to deliver the couch and Mattress so how was fired two days later

Fantastic furniture

Fantastic furniture store with high end products at a very reasonable price. The thing I like about Ethan Furniture is that it's not a huge chain like "Living Spaces" so you'll get much more personalized service. Employees are very helpful and can answer any questions you have on their furniture. Great assortment of couches, tables, bed frames and much more. I ordered a couch set, dining room table, bed frame and mattress from them. They took care of the delivery and the delivery guys were very professional and put together the furniture pieces perfectly. I love the couch and take naps regularly on it! If you're looking for a quality furniture, exceptional service and a "one-stop-shop" experience, look no further than Ethan Furniture!

My wife and I spent thousands

My wife and I spent thousands of $$$ on our son's entire Ethan Allen bedroom set (Bed Frame, Headboard, Mattress, Night Table, Book Shelf Cabinet, Closet, and Desk w/ Shelves) from this location. Admittedly, that was several years ago but, considering the reason we bought it in the first place (name recognition) and what we actually got (poor quality), and the fact that I am continually reminded of the bad deal we got every time I look at it, try to fix the hardware (again and again), or see how easily the wood stains by anything put on it (it's painted white), I had to finally share my tale w/ the rest of those who spent a lot for subpar furniture. We certainly were misled by the brand name and gave up going back to the saleroom in trying to address our issues w/ the furniture.

Horrible

These are the worst mattresses I have ever purchased! To the tune of almost $4000! As a previous reviewer states, what is in the store is not what shows up to your house. The mattresses I received are queen but don't fill out the bedframes and are not as high as shown in the store. What I received looks like a $500 set from a discounter! After 8 months the mattress was indented an inch deep as verified by a "quality control" inspector from Ethan Allen. I was told by EA customer service that was far off from the 1 1/4" indent that was needed to replace the mattress! Are you kidding me?? Great customer service Ethan Allen! I have spent $40,000 there and will never step foot in EA again. I am out $4000 for junk and have to replace my mattress.

High Priced Mattress, Poor Quality

We purchased an EA hybrid 5 years ago and have been disappointed with 5his mattress for that last 4 years. Mattress was very comfortable for about a year and since then it has gradually lost support. Right now we are sleeping in two sink holes tha5 get deeper every day. The center of the mattress has a huge hump that I need to climb over to get to the other side of the bed, and the mattress looks like there is a mountain running down the center when the bed is made. This mattress is expensive, but is not durable. I didn’t waste my time trying to file a warranty complaint due to experiences I’ve had with poor customer service on another purchase.

Avoid Mattress Purchase

I sought out the Ethan Allen store in my neighbourhood for a mattress by Kingsdown, which they claim make their mattresses, and I chose a medium firm costly mattress. The experience of lying on it in the store was dramatically different than what I have been experiencing at home. While it is very firm, it places pressure on my hips, buttocks, shoulders, not giving to the contours of the body. Most important, Ethan Allen's policy for mattresses is that there is no option for trial or exchange or refund. This has been an unsettling experience.

Compare Ethan Allen With These Brands

Compare With Avocado

Compare With Brooklyn Bedding

Compare With Tempurpedic

Compare With Dreamfoam Bedding

Compare With Classic Brands

Compare With Simmons Beautyrest

Compare With Zotto

Compare With Ashley Furniture

Compare With La Z Boy

Compare With Aireloom

Compare With Raymour And Flanigan

Compare With Stearns And Foster

Compare With Kingsdown

Disclaimer

*All metrics regarding customer sentiment are based on aggregated public review content, including reviews that have been submitted to this site and elsewhere that have been evaluated by our data science team. While we strive to provide useful metrics for the benefit of shoppers, we cannot certify their accuracy at any given time due to potentially incomplete and inaccurate data sources.

Furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.