Essentia vs Sealy

Get an Instant Discount for Essentia Get 20% Off + 2 Pillows

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Essentia

Essentia is a Canadian made mattress company that offers a variety of luxury natural and organic foam mattresses. Think latex, but with an interesting spin. Essentia has developed a new kind of latex-derivative that they have termed 'natural memory foam' that operates like memory foam, but is entirely naturally made from the milk from rubber trees. This process is expensive, which is reflected in the prices of the mattresses, but still is a must-look for those looking for an all-natural, comfy mattress.

Sealy Posturepedic

Sealy is a common mattress that you would see in a big box mattress store or warehouse outlet. Sealy is part of a publicly traded conglomerate, Tempursealy, who owns brands such as Tempur-pedic and Stearns and Foster. If you're looking for classic, then these designs may be just right, but be prepared to take a walk to a mattress retailer or buy on Amazon.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Essentia in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Essentia

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Essentia: 9.1/10
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Essentia: 9/10
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.3/10

Price Value:
Essentia: 9.1/10
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.1/10

No Back Pain:
Essentia: 9.1/10
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.5/10

Price:
Essentia: $1345-$7531
Sealy Posturepedic: $599-$1399

Essentia:
Get 20% Off + 2 Pillows

Sealy Posturepedic:
Get Yours Now

Essentia's Owner Satisfaction

Having great ratings from customers is an important indicator for shoppers. Customers give these mattresses higher marks than most competitors, which should give you a good reason to learn more about if they will work for you. Research on below to discover if this mattress will work for you!

Essentia's Supportiveness

Solid support throughout a mattress is essential to its feel and whether it is a ergonomically aligned with the spine. Overall, these mattresses do a fine job supporting the body for their firmness. So, you can rest easy that these mattresses will support your back while you sleep.

Edge Support
Reviewers describe these mattresses as having good edge support. This means that you can be comfortable sitting on the side of the bed and the mattress will give you additional surface area to sleep on.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Some reviewers love the bowling ball test to measure firmness and support. These mattresses have good consistency in the feel of their surface layers, which is perfect for customers wanting to feel secure about support.

Essentia's Durability

Durability and longevity are deciding factors for mattress shoppers. Getting up to a decade of use out of a mattress is well rated in terms of longevity. That said, there are a lot of factors such as body weight and craftsmanship that can affect durability. These mattresses impress reviewers with their durability. However, some that are heavier may see a slight decrease in durability.

Get an Instant Discount for Essentia:   Get 20% Off + 2 Pillows

Sealy Posturepedic's Owner Satisfaction

Finding out how customers really feel is sometimes a difficult task -- especially with brands trying at all costs to protect their reputation. These mattresses, sadly, aren't rated as well by sleepers. There are still customers that really appreciate these beds, but many others that don't. Read on below to get the details on the specifics.

Sealy Posturepedic's Supportiveness

Support isn't equal to firmness. Deep support and spinal alignment is essential to a healthy night's rest. Sadly, these mattresses have some mixed reviews when it comes to support. Most folks find the mattress to be supportive at the beginning, but some customers didn't feel supported well over time.

Edge Support
For folks that sit or lay on the edge of their mattress, edge support is essential. For most folks, these mattresses do a good job with edge support at the beginning, but some may find that it changes over time.

Sealy Posturepedic's Durability

Unfortunately, not everyone rates thair mattresses well in terms of longevity. While some customers felt comfortable with their mattress, others have experienced quicker issues than average. Make sure to take a look at the specifications, warranty, and reviews before buying.

Browse Essentia Customer Reviews

Best bed I have ever purchased.

I did a great deal of research looking for a new mattress. I always wanted to try a memory foam mattress. Did a great deal of testing and ended up with the queen size Classic 8 in January 2017. I was buying this mattress for our spare room to test it out because my wife and I were looking for a mattress for our king size bed. I tried it the first night and felt it was one of the best sleeps Imhave had in years. No waking up to back pain or stiffness. I convinced my wife to try it and we have been sleeping in the spare room on the Classic 8 ever since. We have just ordered the Classic 8 for our king size bed. I have also been telling my friends if they are looking for a new mattress to try an Essentia mattress. Thanks Essentia!

View More Reviews

Browse Sealy Posturepedic Customer Reviews

It really is a top quality innerspring mattress. It REALLY is!

I did a lot of research before buying this mattress. The deciding factor was the recommendation of Consumer Reports. When I first received this mattress, in a square box, I was soooo disappointed and upset. I attempted to return it before opening it, but realized how expensive shipping would be. I returned to the website and their were no reviews but I searched some other mattresses with the same features and price points and discovered that it would, when unfolded, rise to it's full 12 inches and it did indeed have cloth covered coils (innersprings). It Did rise, and then some. I think it's about 13". Very comfortable, everything Consumer Reports said it would be. It's a little firmer than I would like it to be. It's not hard by any means, in fact it's quite comfortable and very good for my husband's back, he likes it a little firmer than I. after putting a good quilted mattress cover on, it added just the amount of plush and squish I love. I get a good night's sleep and wake with no stiffness or aches. I really like it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.