Englander vs Zinus

Get The Best March 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Englander

Englander is a brand of Southerland mattress and was founded in the 1800s. They focus predominantly on foam, latex, and hybrid mattresses with an eco-friendly flare. They are committed to lower carbon-footprint practices and standards. Overall, they piggyback off of many of Southerland's mattress production facilities across the United States and are predominantly found in Southern and Midwest US mattress retail stores. Their difference is found in their selection of cooling foams and eco-friendly latex.

Zinus

Zinus has been in the furniture game since 1979, selling extremely affordable furniture. They have used that experience to craft a solid Consumer Affairs accreditation and also online customer experience. They make three different mattress lines -- iCoil®, Green Tea Memory Foam, and Gel Memory foam varieties, all of which are extremely low-cost, which can be a big draw with customers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Zinus in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Zinus


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Englander: 7.1/10
Zinus: 7.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Englander: 7/10
Zinus: 7.6/10

Price Value:
Englander: 7.1/10
Zinus: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Englander: 7.1/10
Zinus: 6.5/10

Price:
Englander: $429-$3499
Zinus: $100-$499

Englander:
Get Yours Now

Zinus:
Get Yours Now

Englander's Owner Satisfaction

Some customers are happy with their mattresses, but others are not as happy and have had complaints about comfort. Despite those that love these mattresses, these mattresses have lower than average customer satisfaction. Read on below for more information about these mattresses.

Englander's Supportiveness

In terms of support, customers give these mattresses mixed reviews. Some feel like the mattresses provide good comfort, but others didn't feel great after a night's sleep. If you are above average in weight, you should do some added research before purchasing.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important attribute for those that like to sit on the side of the mattress without discomfort. Some folks may find these mattresses to not provide adequate edge support for them.

Englander's Durability

These mattresses may not provide the kind of durability that you'd hope. Some customers have had issues with feel and longevity issues after a short time. If you are larger or are looking for something supportive, these mattresses may comfort you initially, but take a look at the mattress specifications and reviews before buying.

Zinus's Owner Satisfaction

If you are considering one of these mattresses, make sure to read on for more information. Sadly, not all customers review them well overall. Some were perfectly satisfied with their mattress, but others had complaints about their comfort.

Zinus's Supportiveness

Having a supportive mattress is the key to a healthy night's sleep. You want a mattress that supports your health rather than causes you nightly aches. These mattresses do well working with your body and providing good support.

Edge Support
Edge support is one of the most important things to folks with mobility issues or enjoy sitting on the side of the mattress. These mattresses are competitive with their edge support and don't have much support degradation along the edges.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Popular among readers, the bowling ball test gives a good reading on mattress firmness and evenness of support. If a mattress is unneven in its supportiveness, some people may experience discomfor if it doesn't work with their body. Luckily, these mattresses provide solid even support for sleepers.

Zinus's Durability

Mattresses don't give sleepers the same kind of lasting comfort they used to. Finding a bed that lasts over 15 years is definitely not easy these days. However, finding a mattress that remains comfortable that long can save you thousands. Unfortunately, these mattresses get mixed reviews on durability. Many sleepers don't report issues, but others have complaints about durability over a shorter time frame than usual.

Check the Prices For Zinus:   Get Today's Prices

Browse Englander Customer Reviews

Few months in, started sagging

I bought a latex Englander pillow top bed about 6 years ago, in the store it was super comfortable but after I got it (Queen size) and had it for a few months it started sagging. I only weigh 143 and it shouldn't do that. Within a few years it was awful. When it became horrible, I called them and spoke with the customer service team, I sent pictures and documented how bad it was. The bed I had was discontinued, and they actually replaced it with a top of the line pillow top mattress--it was their best model, and probably about an $1800 mattress. I was thrilled, now 6 months into it--I have to turn the thing constantly to avoid the sagging. It is almost as bad as the other one and I completely hate it. I bought a new bed this week. I really wanted it to work out but these are just not great. I can say their customer service was excellent, but I would never recommend these. They aren't cheap and they are so uncomfortable--I can't imagine 2 people on one that weigh more than me.

View More Reviews

Browse Zinus Customer Reviews

Very cozy!

I've been sleeping on this for about 2 weeks now, and I'm kicking myself for not buying sooner! Very cozy.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.