Englander vs Stearns And Foster

Get The Best March 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Englander

Englander is a brand of Southerland mattress and was founded in the 1800s. They focus predominantly on foam, latex, and hybrid mattresses with an eco-friendly flare. They are committed to lower carbon-footprint practices and standards. Overall, they piggyback off of many of Southerland's mattress production facilities across the United States and are predominantly found in Southern and Midwest US mattress retail stores. Their difference is found in their selection of cooling foams and eco-friendly latex.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy Posturpedic are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. But what do the consumers think?

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Stearns And Foster in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Stearns And Foster


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Englander: 7.1/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Englander: 7/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Englander: 7.1/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Englander: 7.1/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Englander: $429-$3499
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Englander:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Englander's Owner Satisfaction

If you are examining this brand, take a look below for more details about these mattresses. Sadly, they don't get the best reception from all customers. Some folks were very comfy in their new beds, but others reported discomfort with the feel.

Englander's Supportiveness

In terms of lasting support, these mattresses have mixed reviews. Some customers feel comfortable and well supported, but others had problems getting comfortable. If you are larger than average, these mattresses may not work 100% for your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important item for anyone that likes to lounge on the side of their mattress or has mobility concerns. Some may find that the edge support in these mattresses is not as robust as others.

Englander's Durability

Discovering a durable mattress is really nice, but it's not always that simple. Sadly, sleepers don't rate these mattresses well when it comes to durability. That being said, some may provide comfort for years and years, while other sleepers may find their mattress falters quickly. If you have a wider frame than average, make sure to do some more research because you may be at a higher risk for durability issues.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Not everyone feels positive about these mattresses. Some sleepers report feeling satisfaction with their new bed, but others not so much. One of these mattresses may be great for you, but it makes it harder to predict. Continue reading below to learn if one of these mattresses will work for you.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

Most reviewers feel supported well by these mattresses, but others had complaints about overall feel. For those that have larger body types or wide hips or shoulders, review the mattress specifications and firmnesses before making a final decision as you'll want to ensure that your body and spine are supported well.

Edge Support
For those that like to sit on the side of the mattress, these mattresses have above average edge support. That said, some have had complaints so make sure to review more.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

In addition to being well supported, having a long lasting mattress is what shoppers are looking for. We all wish that our mattress would be just as comfortable a decade later as it was the first day. However, these mattresses are not rated well by some reviewers on durability and some have experienced breakdown after only a short time. If you are considering using as your full time mattress, read through the customer reviews and return policies to make sure that you are secure in your purchase.

Browse Englander Customer Reviews

Few months in, started sagging

I bought a latex Englander pillow top bed about 6 years ago, in the store it was super comfortable but after I got it (Queen size) and had it for a few months it started sagging. I only weigh 143 and it shouldn't do that. Within a few years it was awful. When it became horrible, I called them and spoke with the customer service team, I sent pictures and documented how bad it was. The bed I had was discontinued, and they actually replaced it with a top of the line pillow top mattress--it was their best model, and probably about an $1800 mattress. I was thrilled, now 6 months into it--I have to turn the thing constantly to avoid the sagging. It is almost as bad as the other one and I completely hate it. I bought a new bed this week. I really wanted it to work out but these are just not great. I can say their customer service was excellent, but I would never recommend these. They aren't cheap and they are so uncomfortable--I can't imagine 2 people on one that weigh more than me.

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Review from stephanie of Charlotte, NC

I am not accustomed to writing a negative review, especially after reading so many reviews that are positive; but please beware because you too could experience the same circumstances that we are currently experiencing. Unfortunately our experience with the Dartford Ultra Firm Mattress Set is not so positive; perhaps it is possible that we received a “substandard set”. At any rate, my husband and I saved and planned for this very expensive purchase for our retirement comfort and because we wanted a very high quality mattress. Additionally, before we made the decision we read numerous reviews, and we were convinced that this Stearns & Foster mattress would be the best for us. Well we’ve had our set for a little over one year and we have rotated it approximately twelve times just to keep it balanced, and still it has sags and there is a very conspicuous ridge in the middle of it.

We were informed that Macys has a very strong Customer Service satisfaction rate, so we contacted Macy’s regarding our experience and they advised us that an inspector would evaluate our concern and provide feedback to them. As we assumed it would be, the evaluation was not to our advantage. So it appears that the purchase that we thought would be very satisfactory especially given the reputation of Macys and Stearns & Foster, did not provide us with the value, quality and comfort that we expected Macys to stand behind. I would advise everyone to think twice about purchasing a mattress at this price point from Macys.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.