Englander vs Sleep Science

Get The Best August 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Englander

Englander is a brand of Southerland mattress and was founded in the 1800s. They focus predominantly on foam, latex, and hybrid mattresses with an eco-friendly flare. They are committed to lower carbon-footprint practices and standards. Overall, they piggyback off of many of Southerland's mattress production facilities across the United States and are predominantly found in Southern and Midwest US mattress retail stores. Their difference is found in their selection of cooling foams and eco-friendly latex.

Sleep Science

Sleep Science builds a line of latex and memory foam mattresses. Their claim to fame is their 'wedge' technology that provides edge support to every piece of the mattress. Additionally, they are Certipur certified, which means they have low VOC and no formaldehyde in their mattresses. They also use bamboo material in some of their mattresses. Their mattresses are made popular through their relationship with Costco warehouse stores where they are sold at a competitive price vs many of the retail sold mattresses of similar material quality.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Sleep Science in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Sleep Science


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Englander: 7.1/10
Sleep Science: 8.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Englander: 7/10
Sleep Science: 8.4/10

Price Value:
Englander: 7.1/10
Sleep Science: 8.7/10

No Back Pain:
Englander: 7.1/10
Sleep Science: 8.3/10

Price:
Englander: $429-$3499
Sleep Science: $399-2499

Englander:
Get Yours Now

Sleep Science:
Get Yours Now

Englander's Owner Satisfaction

Finding out how customers really feel is sometimes a difficult task -- especially with companies coming in and out of the market quickly. Customers, sadly, don't give these mattresses as high reception as others in the industry. There are still sleepers who are perfectly cozy with these products, but others that are not as much. Get more details on the specifics and hear from customers below.

Englander's Supportiveness

In terms of support, these mattresses have had some mixed reviews. Some have described them as supportive and report being comfortable, but others had problems getting comfortable. If you are someone who is above average in weight or has wide shoulders or hips, you should do some added research before purchasing.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important attribute for those that like to sit on the side of the mattress without discomfort. Some may find that the edge support in these mattresses is not as robust as others.

Englander's Durability

Mattresses with lasting comfort are amazing, but not always easy to find. Sadly, sleepers don't rate these mattresses well when it comes to durability. That said, some mattresses may last a significantly long time without issue, while other customers may have much faster discomfort. If you are a heavier individual, read up on your options because you may be at a higher risk for durability issues from some mattresses.

Sleep Science's Owner Satisfaction

Customers had mixed emotions about these mattresses. Many folks sleep well and describe a comfortable experience, but there were others who were not as comfortable. To make sure that one of these mattresses will work for you, read on below.

Sleep Science's Supportiveness

Most customers describe these mattresses as having above average supportiveness, which is refreshing for those struggling with the aches and pains of a sagging bed. That said, some folks have had issues with the firmness and support levels overall, so take a look at some of the other reports from customers to make sure your choice is right for your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is how much a mattress props you up along the sides of the mattress. These mattresses do well here, but heavier folks may experience some contouring.

Sleep Science's Durability

Mattresses don't last as long as they used to in years past. A mattress that continues to stay comfortable after 15 years is becoming rarer and rarer. That said, finding a long-living and comfortable mattress can save you thousands. These mattresses get mixed feelings on durability. Many folks don't report any issues, but others have comfort problems over a shorter time frame than is usual.

Browse Englander Customer Reviews

Few months in, started sagging

I bought a latex Englander pillow top bed about 6 years ago, in the store it was super comfortable but after I got it (Queen size) and had it for a few months it started sagging. I only weigh 143 and it shouldn't do that. Within a few years it was awful. When it became horrible, I called them and spoke with the customer service team, I sent pictures and documented how bad it was. The bed I had was discontinued, and they actually replaced it with a top of the line pillow top mattress--it was their best model, and probably about an $1800 mattress. I was thrilled, now 6 months into it--I have to turn the thing constantly to avoid the sagging. It is almost as bad as the other one and I completely hate it. I bought a new bed this week. I really wanted it to work out but these are just not great. I can say their customer service was excellent, but I would never recommend these. They aren't cheap and they are so uncomfortable--I can't imagine 2 people on one that weigh more than me.

View More Reviews

Browse Sleep Science Customer Reviews

NEEDS GOOD FOUNDATION - dont use bunky board!

We bought this mattress over a year ago...had no idea that they sold a separate foundation. Spent months replacing the bunky board we got from Crate and Barrell 2 times and dealing with back pain, even called the mattress mfr. The mattress mfr said they recommend their foundation instead of bunky board. Ordering it today, hopefully it will take care of the problem but paying $50 more than if I bought them together from the start. They need to update the description and recommend the foundation if they don't buy it separately OR don't even sell the mattress alone. Description said it needs a 'solid' foundation...what does that even mean? I had a hard time trying to find a bunky board that is solid wood from many retailers. Crate and Barrel's new bunky board is made of compressed cardboard! A painful process, but I like the mattress.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.