Englander vs Simmons

Get The Best October 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Englander

Englander is a brand of Southerland mattress and was founded in the 1800s. They focus predominantly on foam, latex, and hybrid mattresses with an eco-friendly flare. They are committed to lower carbon-footprint practices and standards. Overall, they piggyback off of many of Southerland's mattress production facilities across the United States and are predominantly found in Southern and Midwest US mattress retail stores. Their difference is found in their selection of cooling foams and eco-friendly latex.

Simmons Beautyrest

Simmons Beautyrest is a very well known brand that has invested in big advertising over the past several years. They have worked closely with major mattress retailers for generations and offer popular in-store options. With a variety of designs like the Beautyrest Black and Recharge lines, Beautyrest is a brand to consider for many. However, not all Beautyrest models are equal, with some of their models having reports of durability issues and their newer online-direct models potentially offering more value.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Simmons Beautyrest in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Simmons Beautyrest


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Englander: 7.1/10
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.4/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Englander: 7/10
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.4/10

Price Value:
Englander: 7.1/10
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.1/10

No Back Pain:
Englander: 7.1/10
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.2/10

Price:
Englander: $429-$3499
Simmons Beautyrest: $799-$6999

Englander:
Get Yours Now

Simmons Beautyrest:
Get Yours Now

Englander's Owner Satisfaction

Customers don't always feel good about these mattresses. Some folks report feeling comfy, but others experience discomfort. Therefore, it is hard to understand if one of these will keep you totally comfortable. Look on below to see if one of these may work for you.

Englander's Supportiveness

Customers have mixed reviews about the support found in these mattresses. Though there are some who like the response of these mattresses, others have found these mattresses to disagree with their backs. If this brand is on your list, do additional research to ensure it works for your body.

Edge Support
Overall, edge support is extremely important to those with mobility issues. Others aren't as tied to it as a end-all for a good mattress. These mattresses may not offer the kind of edge support that lasts so make sure to do added research if it is important to you.

Englander's Durability

Unfortunately, not everyone rates thair mattresses well in terms of longevity. While some folks had good experiences with the performance, others have experienced quicker issues than average. If you are thinking about buying, read up on the return and warranty policies beforehand.

Simmons Beautyrest's Owner Satisfaction

Some folks were very pleased with their mattresses, but others had issues. Despite those that had a good experience, overall these mattresses have lower than average satisfaction from customers. Read on if you are considering buying for more information on the mattresses.

Simmons Beautyrest's Supportiveness

In terms of having support long term, these mattresses get mixed reviews. Some customers feel comfortable and well supported, but others didn't feel that the mattress was equipped to provide comfort. If you have a heavier body type than average, you should do added research to make sure you find a match for you.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important item for anyone that likes to lounge on the side of their mattress or has mobility concerns. Some customers may find that the edge support is not as capable as they would hope.

Simmons Beautyrest's Durability

These mattresses may not provide the kind of lasting comfort that you want. On a shorter than average basis, some sleepers have reported feel and durability issues. If you would consider yourself larger or looking for something with lasting support, these mattresses may comfort you initially, but do some more research before buying.

Browse Englander Customer Reviews

Few months in, started sagging

I bought a latex Englander pillow top bed about 6 years ago, in the store it was super comfortable but after I got it (Queen size) and had it for a few months it started sagging. I only weigh 143 and it shouldn't do that. Within a few years it was awful. When it became horrible, I called them and spoke with the customer service team, I sent pictures and documented how bad it was. The bed I had was discontinued, and they actually replaced it with a top of the line pillow top mattress--it was their best model, and probably about an $1800 mattress. I was thrilled, now 6 months into it--I have to turn the thing constantly to avoid the sagging. It is almost as bad as the other one and I completely hate it. I bought a new bed this week. I really wanted it to work out but these are just not great. I can say their customer service was excellent, but I would never recommend these. They aren't cheap and they are so uncomfortable--I can't imagine 2 people on one that weigh more than me.

View More Reviews

Browse Simmons Beautyrest Customer Reviews

Five Stars

Outstanding mattress at an unbeatable price. Mattress Firm wanted $1k for the same exact mattress!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.