Englander vs Oso

Get The Best August 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Englander

Englander is a brand of Southerland mattress and was founded in the 1800s. They focus predominantly on foam, latex, and hybrid mattresses with an eco-friendly flare. They are committed to lower carbon-footprint practices and standards. Overall, they piggyback off of many of Southerland's mattress production facilities across the United States and are predominantly found in Southern and Midwest US mattress retail stores. Their difference is found in their selection of cooling foams and eco-friendly latex.

Oso

Oso is an online foam mattress in a box company owned by Reverie, which makes lines of luxury foam mattresses and adjustable bases. Where Oso is different than other brands is that it has Dreamcell™ foam springs, which are made of latex foam and provide added support in the base layer, while being ventilated and cushioning the body without pressure points. Most folks like their Oso mattresses!

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Oso in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Oso


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Englander: 7.1/10
Oso: 8.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Englander: 7/10
Oso: 8.9/10

Price Value:
Englander: 7.1/10
Oso: 8.7/10

No Back Pain:
Englander: 7.1/10
Oso: 8.8/10

Price:
Englander: $429-$3499
Oso: $700-$1000

Englander:
Get Yours Now

Oso:
Get Yours Now

Englander's Owner Satisfaction

There are some negative ratings from sleepers for these mattresses. Some sleepers are happy with the feel, but others have had issues. Although one of these may work great for you, because of the responses it is more difficult to estimate. Continue reading below to learn if one of these mattresses will work for you.

Englander's Supportiveness

Some customers don't like the kind of support these mattresses provide. Though there are some that find these mattresses good for them, if you are bigger than average, make sure to read the reviews before buying.

Edge Support
For those that want quality edge support, some report that these mattresses don't have the best edge support.

Englander's Durability

Sadly, these mattresses don't always get love from customers on durability. While some have experienced good performance, others had comfort issues faster than average. If you are considering, make sure to read more reviews and go over the return policies before you buy.

Oso's Owner Satisfaction

Reading customer reviews is a powerful way to spot the right mattresses for you. These mattresses do great on customer satisfaction, but some didn't like the feel as much. Below is a list of customer reviews and specifics on the feel of these mattresses -- research on to make sure one of these works for you!

Oso's Supportiveness

You may think of supportive mattresses as mostly firm, but when we talk about support, we're talking about supporting the the body properly no matter the firmness. These mattresses are well rated at giving support to the average sleeper, but rarely, some customers are not so sure.

Edge Support
These mattresses have good support along the edges, which what customers want who sit on the edge of the mattress or roll over towards the edge at night.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
By using a bowling ball to measure firmness, you can find out if a mattress will be evenly supportive of the spine. These mattresses will provide a good amount of support overall, but you should do additional research if you have a larger or smaller than average body type.

Oso's Durability

Longevity is key to budget-conscious mattress shoppers. However, in an industry that sometimes focuses more on profits, it isn't always an easy thing to find. That said, with great data on material quality, craftsmanship, and customers feedback, these mattresses should do well with longevity and last more than 5 years for most sleepers. But, some heavier in body type sleepers may find them to be slightly less durable.

Browse Englander Customer Reviews

Few months in, started sagging

I bought a latex Englander pillow top bed about 6 years ago, in the store it was super comfortable but after I got it (Queen size) and had it for a few months it started sagging. I only weigh 143 and it shouldn't do that. Within a few years it was awful. When it became horrible, I called them and spoke with the customer service team, I sent pictures and documented how bad it was. The bed I had was discontinued, and they actually replaced it with a top of the line pillow top mattress--it was their best model, and probably about an $1800 mattress. I was thrilled, now 6 months into it--I have to turn the thing constantly to avoid the sagging. It is almost as bad as the other one and I completely hate it. I bought a new bed this week. I really wanted it to work out but these are just not great. I can say their customer service was excellent, but I would never recommend these. They aren't cheap and they are so uncomfortable--I can't imagine 2 people on one that weigh more than me.

View More Reviews

Browse Oso Customer Reviews

Amazing mattress

Amazing mattress and Amazing company! I am a professional athlete who competes for TeamUSA and I can't believe the difference this mattress has made in my performance and recovery! If you are looking for a new mattress I highly recommend this one!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.