Englander vs Nolah

Get an Instant Discount for Nolah Up To $300 Off Mattresses & More

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Englander

Englander is a brand of Southerland mattress and was founded in the 1800s. They focus predominantly on foam, latex, and hybrid mattresses with an eco-friendly flare. They are committed to lower carbon-footprint practices and standards. Overall, they piggyback off of many of Southerland's mattress production facilities across the United States and are predominantly found in Southern and Midwest US mattress retail stores. Their difference is found in their selection of cooling foams and eco-friendly latex.

Nolah

Nolah is a 2016 mattress entrant with a new response to the memory foam mattress. Nolah crafted its very own foam, called Nolah AirFoam™. Its innovation is that it retains less heat than other memory foam or common 'visco elastic' foams. It also has less pressure than even high end memory foam, meaning that it is easier on the hips and shoulders. Nolah's testers say it is also more durable and great for side sleepers. With 2 different mattress options and 7% of profits going to wildlife adoption, Nolah is a brand anyone can feel good about!

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Nolah in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Nolah

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Englander: 7.1/10
Nolah: 9.4/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Englander: 7/10
Nolah: 9.4/10

Price Value:
Englander: 7.1/10
Nolah: 9.4/10

No Back Pain:
Englander: 7.1/10
Nolah: 9.4/10

Price:
Englander: $429-$3499
Nolah: $519-$949

Englander:
Get Yours Now

Nolah:
Up To $300 Off Mattresses & More

Englander's Owner Satisfaction

There is some negative input from sleepers about these mattresses. Some report feeling comfortable in their mattress, but there are others that have complaints. Due to this, it's harder to predict whether one of these will sleep perfectly for you. Read on to learn more about the specifics to find out if these mattresses will work for you.

Englander's Supportiveness

Support isn't exactly the same as firmness. Great support is when a mattress cradles the hips and shoulders to align the spine. Unfortunately, these mattresses have some mixed reception when it comes to support. Most find that they provide a good amount of support at the beginning, but some have reported support issues as time as gone on.

Edge Support
For those with mobility concerns or like to lay close to the side of the mattress, edge support is very important. For most, these mattresses do a fine job with edge support at the beginning, but some may find that it changes over time.

Englander's Durability

Unfortunately, these mattresse are not always rated well for durability. While some sleepers reported lasting comfort, others have experienced quicker issues than average. Make sure to do some extra reading of the reviews and warranty policies before buying.

Nolah's Owner Satisfaction

Read reviews and listening to customer stories can be a helpful way to choose a new mattress because it highly increases the likelihood that they will work for you. These mattresses receive some of the highest accolades from customers in regards to comfort. So, read on to learn more about this brand.

Nolah's Supportiveness

Offering support is extremely important to the general feel of the mattress and whether it enhances the natural curvature of the spine. These mattresses offer a good supportive surface to sleep on for most sleepers. That means that these mattresses will support you comfortably.

Edge Support
Most sleepers feel that the support towards the edge offers comfortable resistance. This means that the sides of the mattress will be comfortable for most folks and the mattress will provide a comfortable ledge to sleep on.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Some reviewers love the bowling ball test to measure firmness and support. Overall, these mattresses do well at keeping consistency across the mattress without many complaints, which is great for customers that are concerned about support.

Nolah's Durability

One of the biggest factors to buying a mattress today is durability. Getting 7 to 12 years out of your mattress is good in terms of durability. That said, mattress craftsmanship and sleeper body weight can affect durability as well. Customers give these mattresses good marks for durability against others. However, some that are heavier may see a slight decrease in durability.

Get an Instant Discount for Nolah:   Up To $300 Off Mattresses & More

Browse Englander Customer Reviews

Few months in, started sagging

I bought a latex Englander pillow top bed about 6 years ago, in the store it was super comfortable but after I got it (Queen size) and had it for a few months it started sagging. I only weigh 143 and it shouldn't do that. Within a few years it was awful. When it became horrible, I called them and spoke with the customer service team, I sent pictures and documented how bad it was. The bed I had was discontinued, and they actually replaced it with a top of the line pillow top mattress--it was their best model, and probably about an $1800 mattress. I was thrilled, now 6 months into it--I have to turn the thing constantly to avoid the sagging. It is almost as bad as the other one and I completely hate it. I bought a new bed this week. I really wanted it to work out but these are just not great. I can say their customer service was excellent, but I would never recommend these. They aren't cheap and they are so uncomfortable--I can't imagine 2 people on one that weigh more than me.

View More Reviews

Browse Nolah Customer Reviews

Life changing,truly!!

I love my new Nola mattress! This mattress is truly a life changer for me and my husband. We are so happy we purchased the Nola mattress because we both sleep much better at night. I often suffered from hot flashes at night and would put the covers on and take them off covers on and off, too and turn all night. Now I sleep much cooler and in a deeper sleep and I feel much more rested the next day. I would rate the firmness as a 4-5 on scale 1-10. I like the softness and I still feel supported. No more left hip pain. I also sleep on my back at times and I wake with no backaches. Another advantage is the liberal return policy of 120 days and free pickup if you are dissatisfied. We have owned it for 3weeks. One doesn't know how well you will like a mattress until you sleep on it for a week or so. We liked the Nolah from the first night with no break in period. Our previous mattress was a memory foam with a latex topper and slept very hot and I could not return it after trying it out for a couple weeks. the Nola does not sleep hot. I would highly recommend viewing online videos to visualize the softness. that's what I did and found that I was very happy with this purchase.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.