Englander vs Nectar

Get an Instant Discount for Nectar Get $100 Off & 2 Premium Pillows

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Englander

Englander is a brand of Southerland mattress and was founded in the 1800s. They focus predominantly on foam, latex, and hybrid mattresses with an eco-friendly flare. They are committed to lower carbon-footprint practices and standards. Overall, they piggyback off of many of Southerland's mattress production facilities across the United States and are predominantly found in Southern and Midwest US mattress retail stores. Their difference is found in their selection of cooling foams and eco-friendly latex.

Nectar

Nectar is one of the most popular mattress brands. They have great differentiators - their memory foam mattress is a perfectly cozy medium-firm (both supportive and pressure-relieving), which most customers find desirable versus others. Also, they offer a full year trial and a 'forever' warranty, which is really generous compared to other brands. With CertiPUR-US foams, optional white glove delivery, a competitive pricepoint, and 'Buy Now, Pay Later' financing through Affirm, this is definitely a brand to consider. From the UK? See our review for the UK version.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Nectar in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Nectar

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Englander: 7.1/10
Nectar: 9.6/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Englander: 7/10
Nectar: 9.7/10

Price Value:
Englander: 7.1/10
Nectar: 9.8/10

No Back Pain:
Englander: 7.1/10
Nectar: 9.4/10

Price:
Englander: $429-$3499
Nectar: $499-$999

Englander:
Get Yours Now

Nectar:
Get $100 Off & 2 Premium Pillows

Englander's Owner Satisfaction

Understanding how customers feel about mattresses can be a great guiding force for shoppers. Sleepers, regrettably, don't always repond positively towards these mattresses. Some feel cozy and comfortable, but others don't feel that way. There are more details below to study if you are considering buying.

Englander's Supportiveness

Support is a bit different than firmness. Good support means that it lines up your back and spine -- leading to a healthier night sleep. Unfortunately, these mattresses have some mixed reception when it comes to support. Most customers are comfortable with the support right after purchase, but some folks felt like support was lacking over the long term.

Edge Support
For those that like sitting on the side of their beds, edge support is key. At first, these mattresses do a good job with edge support, but some may find that it doesn't work for them over time.

Englander's Durability

Sadly, not everyone rates these mattresses well for longevity. While some folks had good experiences with the performance, others describe feeling issues and discomfort of a short time. If you are considering, make sure to read more reviews and go over the return policies before you buy.

Nectar's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews are one of the strongest ways to figure out if a mattress is likely to work for you. In total, they provide a glimpse into the real selling points and also fallbacks of a product. That said, with so many brands making an effort to showcase their positive reviews, it can be tough to make a decision. But, with understanding the customer review and sentiment data across the industry -- customers are some of the happiest about these mattresses.

Nectar's Supportiveness

These mattresses are well supportive versus other competitors. They offer the support needed to align the vertebrae and customers report feeling good levels of comfort on the mattress. Customers describe these mattresses as offering solid support on the surface layers and and don't report loss of support over the short term.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important attribute for most sleepers and desire even support throughout. These mattresses have good edge support for those that need it.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Resting a bowling ball on the mattress is a good way to measure support and firmness. These mattresses are good at being supportive evenly thoughout the mattress.

Nectar's Durability

Customers are always on the lookout for highly durable mattresses. However, with durability not always being the highest priority for companies, it can be a tough prospect to find a mattress that lasts. Luckily, these mattresses have high ratings for durability. Most sleepers will see them last up to a decade. Those that use their mattress more than nightly or are heavier than average may find their mattress is slightly less durable.

Get an Instant Discount for Nectar:   Get $100 Off & 2 Premium Pillows

Browse Englander Customer Reviews

Few months in, started sagging

I bought a latex Englander pillow top bed about 6 years ago, in the store it was super comfortable but after I got it (Queen size) and had it for a few months it started sagging. I only weigh 143 and it shouldn't do that. Within a few years it was awful. When it became horrible, I called them and spoke with the customer service team, I sent pictures and documented how bad it was. The bed I had was discontinued, and they actually replaced it with a top of the line pillow top mattress--it was their best model, and probably about an $1800 mattress. I was thrilled, now 6 months into it--I have to turn the thing constantly to avoid the sagging. It is almost as bad as the other one and I completely hate it. I bought a new bed this week. I really wanted it to work out but these are just not great. I can say their customer service was excellent, but I would never recommend these. They aren't cheap and they are so uncomfortable--I can't imagine 2 people on one that weigh more than me.

View More Reviews

Browse Nectar Customer Reviews

Wow - Renee H.

This mattress changed our lives for the better! It is absolutely the perfect firmness and temperature. We had a queen bed for so long and desperately needed a king since our baby sleeps with us. We couldn’t afford the insane prices out there so we took a chance on Nectar and boy did it pay off.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Level

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.