Get The Best Holiday 2021 Mattress Deals! Unlock Today's Coupons

Englander vs. King Koil

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Englander

Englander is a mattress brand founded in New York City in 1894. As part of the Southerland mattress family, their mattresses are made in the US and feature foam, latex, and pocket coils. Englander is committed to lowering their carbon-footprint through use of natural latex and recycled steel in some of their mattresses. These mattresses are predominantly found in Southern and Midwest US mattress retail stores. What sets Englander apart is their selection of cooling foams and eco-friendly latex.

King Koil

Founded in 1898, King Koil got its start selling traditional innerspring mattress. Today, their mattress lineup includes foam, latex, hybrid, and even smart mattresses. King Koil mattresses are sold across the globe in local retailers, although some of the mattress models may be advertised under different names than those found below. Overall, they make comfortable mattresses in a range of price points, but there have been some concerns about durability with some models.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend King Koil in this match up!

See Our Full Review of King Koil


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Englander: 7.1/10
King Koil: 8.4/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Englander: 7/10
King Koil: 8.5/10

Price Value:
Englander: 7.1/10
King Koil: 8.2/10

No Back Pain:
Englander: 7.1/10
King Koil: 8.5/10

Price:
Englander: $429-$3499
King Koil: $1099-$6299

Englander:
Get Yours Now

King Koil:
Get Yours Now

Englander's Owner Satisfaction

Some folks were completely satisfied with their new mattress, but others had issues with the feel. Despite those that are completely satisfied, this brand has lower sleeper satisfaction scores than the average. Research on below for more specifics on whether this mattress will work for you.

Englander's Supportiveness

In terms of providing comfortable support for everyone, these mattresses get mixed reviews. Some folks have described them as supportive and report sleeping soundly throughout the night, but others didn't feel entirely comfortable. If you are heavier than average, these mattresses may leave something to be desired.

Edge Support
Edge support is an essential item for those that like to lay close the edge of their mattress without dipping or rolling off. Some customers have found these mattresses to not be evenly supportive.

Englander's Durability

Customers find that durability is one of the most important attributes to finding a mattress. We are all hopeful to find a mattress that would be just as comfortable day one as it is 10 years from now. Unfortunately, not all folks have had good things to say about these mattresses in regards to durability. If you are thinking about buying and using full time, read the reviews to make sure it will work with your body before buying.

King Koil's Owner Satisfaction

We all want to see what customers are saying before we buy a product -- especially a pricy one. However, it isn't always easy to make sense of the takeaways when confronted with a bunch of brands. Based on our investigation of customer sentiment and reviews, sleepers rate these mattresses above average. However, there is some mixed feedback Research more below to see if one of these mattresses will work for you.

King Koil's Supportiveness

Most customers find these mattresses supportive, which means they do well aligning the spine per their firmness level. That said, there are rare reports of support issues, so make sure that your pick fits your sleeping preference and body type.

Edge Support
Overall, most reviewers report these mattresses have good edge support, which means most don't feel like they will fall off the mattress when rolling close to the edge of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In tests of the mattress density evenness and firmness, there is good even support throughout. That said, some reviewers complained about support issues over a long horison, so make sure it speaks to you before buying.

King Koil's Durability

A mattress that has good longevity can save you thousands. But sadly, these days, most things degrade faster as companies fight to find profits. These mattresses have mixed reviews when it comes to durability. These mattresses may last years for you, but others have reported not being as lucky. Make sure to read more about these before purchasing.

Browse Englander Customer Reviews

Few months in, started sagging

I bought a latex Englander pillow top bed about 6 years ago, in the store it was super comfortable but after I got it (Queen size) and had it for a few months it started sagging. I only weigh 143 and it shouldn't do that. Within a few years it was awful. When it became horrible, I called them and spoke with the customer service team, I sent pictures and documented how bad it was. The bed I had was discontinued, and they actually replaced it with a top of the line pillow top mattress--it was their best model, and probably about an $1800 mattress. I was thrilled, now 6 months into it--I have to turn the thing constantly to avoid the sagging. It is almost as bad as the other one and I completely hate it. I bought a new bed this week. I really wanted it to work out but these are just not great. I can say their customer service was excellent, but I would never recommend these. They aren't cheap and they are so uncomfortable--I can't imagine 2 people on one that weigh more than me.

View More Reviews

Browse King Koil Customer Reviews

Great Quality for Price

This mattress is comfy! It's not too firm and not too soft. I love it! I was a little nervous before I bought it because the price is so low. Once I went in the store and tested it out, I knew I was going to get my monies worth. Granted I've only had it for about a week now, even my boyfriend has confirmed it's super comfortale. Get it while it's on sale.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Puffy

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.