Englander vs Icomfort

Get The Best February 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Englander

Englander is a brand of Southerland mattress and was founded in the 1800s. They focus predominantly on foam, latex, and hybrid mattresses with an eco-friendly flare. They are committed to lower carbon-footprint practices and standards. Overall, they piggyback off of many of Southerland's mattress production facilities across the United States and are predominantly found in Southern and Midwest US mattress retail stores. Their difference is found in their selection of cooling foams and eco-friendly latex.

Icomfort

Serta iComfort has been a favorite mattress of mattress big-box stores and traditional marketers for years. But is it worth the hype? This mattress combines both memory foam and mini innerspring coils.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Icomfort in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Icomfort


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Englander: 7.1/10
Icomfort: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Englander: 7/10
Icomfort: 7.3/10

Price Value:
Englander: 7.1/10
Icomfort: 7.3/10

No Back Pain:
Englander: 7.1/10
Icomfort: 7.5/10

Price:
Englander: $429-$3499
Icomfort: $649-$3499

Englander:
Get Yours Now

Icomfort:
Get Yours Now

Englander's Owner Satisfaction

Figuring out the takeaways from customers can be a great eye-opener for shoppers. Customers, sadly, don't always have positive remarks about these mattresses. Some report being comfy, but there are some who have had bad experiences. If you are thinking about buying, make sure to get more details about the mattress below.

Englander's Supportiveness

Support isn't the same as firmness. Deep support means the mattress aligns the back and spine. Sadly, these mattresses have some mixed reviews when it comes to support. Most are satisfied with the supportiveness of the mattress right after purchase, but some customers described feeling less supported as time went on.

Edge Support
For those that sit on the edge of their mattress in the morning, edge support is very important. Overall, these mattresses do a good job at first with support at the edge, but some found it didn't last as well as they would have hoped.

Englander's Durability

These mattresses may not provide the kind of durability that you'd hope. Some reviewers have had complaints regarding durability and comfort over a short horizon. If you are looking for something with lasting support and would consider yourself plus-sized, these mattresses may comfort you initially, but do some added reading of customer reviews before purchasing.

Icomfort's Owner Satisfaction

Some folks were completely satisfied with their new mattress, but others had issues with the feel. Despite those that are cozy, this means that these mattresses have lower than average customer satisfaction. Look on below for more information if this mattress will work for you.

Icomfort's Supportiveness

Most reviewers report that these mattresses do well with support, but other folks didn't enjoy the feel of the mattress. For those that are heavier folks, take a look at the firmness levels and overall specs as you'll want to make sure that your spine is aligned properly.

Edge Support
For those that like sitting on their mattress with their feet hanging off the side, these mattresses will provide comfortable support for most people. However, some had complaints so review more if you need edge support for mobility purposes.

Icomfort's Durability

Finding a mattress that is highly durable is the best, and when instead our new mattress causes us pain after a year, this is the worst. However, finding lasting comfort nowadays is a real challenge. With more products available than ever, some brands are sacrificing quality. In terms of these mattresses, some sleepers report durability concerns. That doesn't mean that it will happen to you, but make sure to read the warranty and return policies before purchasing.

Browse Englander Customer Reviews

Few months in, started sagging

I bought a latex Englander pillow top bed about 6 years ago, in the store it was super comfortable but after I got it (Queen size) and had it for a few months it started sagging. I only weigh 143 and it shouldn't do that. Within a few years it was awful. When it became horrible, I called them and spoke with the customer service team, I sent pictures and documented how bad it was. The bed I had was discontinued, and they actually replaced it with a top of the line pillow top mattress--it was their best model, and probably about an $1800 mattress. I was thrilled, now 6 months into it--I have to turn the thing constantly to avoid the sagging. It is almost as bad as the other one and I completely hate it. I bought a new bed this week. I really wanted it to work out but these are just not great. I can say their customer service was excellent, but I would never recommend these. They aren't cheap and they are so uncomfortable--I can't imagine 2 people on one that weigh more than me.

View More Reviews

Browse Icomfort Customer Reviews

After 6 months...OMG this hurts - Christine M

Purchased an iComfort-Applause II King mattress and split box spring. It was ok for the first 6 months, then support degrades after that. I suffer from back pain so the i-Comfort Hybrid series in firm (Fundamental model) seemed like an ideal replacement for my 10-year-old inner spring Sealy mattress. Eventually you'll sink into a hole as the memory foam upper doesn't hold up. My partner and I now have a 'hill' down the middle of the mattress that limits your sleeping space to your own body cavity hole. I had Raymour & Flanigan's inspector come out used their measuring tools to come to the conclusion that the bed is not defective and is within the warranty allowances. Yet I continue to sleep in my confined hole and am now considering taking this POS to the dump and eating a good amount of money. I've filed a BBB complaint and Consumer Affairs report. Raymour & Flanigan is no help whatsoever! I do NOT recommend either R&F nor Serta. Very bad service. The inspection process was such a waste of time. I spent $1,650 on this set and it's barely a year old. Don't fall for the 100-day satisfaction sleep guarantee because 100 days is not nearly enough time to give a true assessment. I'll never buy another Serta Mattress since they obviously don't care to stand behind their claims that i-Comfort Series is 'revolutionary' and is worth the good money I paid for it. Don't fall for the Consumer Reports review that gave it a shining review. This experience has shown me that CR is no longer a good source for researching products before I purchase.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.