Englander vs Ethan Allen

Get The Best March 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Englander

Englander is a brand of Southerland mattress and was founded in the 1800s. They focus predominantly on foam, latex, and hybrid mattresses with an eco-friendly flare. They are committed to lower carbon-footprint practices and standards. Overall, they piggyback off of many of Southerland's mattress production facilities across the United States and are predominantly found in Southern and Midwest US mattress retail stores. Their difference is found in their selection of cooling foams and eco-friendly latex.

Ethan Allen

Ethan Allen sells their own brand of hybrid and foam mattresses at their retail and online locations. At well over $1,000 for a queen, their prices are only competitive against high end name brands. They have multiple firmness options in their lineup and most customers have described their mattresses as comfortable. Some customers had issues with the durability of some of the mattresses.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Ethan Allen in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Englander: 7.1/10
Ethan Allen: 7.6/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Englander: 7/10
Ethan Allen: 7.7/10

Price Value:
Englander: 7.1/10
Ethan Allen: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Englander: 7.1/10
Ethan Allen: 7.6/10

Price:
Englander: $429-$3499
Ethan Allen: $599-$8996

Englander:
Get Yours Now

Ethan Allen:
Get Yours Now

Englander's Owner Satisfaction

Discovering how folks really feel about a certain mattress is sometimes a hard thing -- especially with all of the marketing being done by companies and retailers. Sleepers, sadly, don't always feel comfortable from these mattresses. There are still customers that are very satisfied, but many others who are not. Learn more details about the mattresses below.

Englander's Supportiveness

Some are happy with the supportiveness of these mattresses, but some others have been dissatisfied. For those that have back pain already, make sure to read the reviews to make sure the mattress works for you.

Edge Support
There are mixed signals about edge support on these mattresses. Some have been happy with even support throughout the mattress, but others had issues with sagginess towards the sides.

Englander's Durability

These mattresses may not be as durable over the long term as you'd expect. Some sleepers have had problems with feel and durability over a shorter than average time. If you are searching for a mattress with lasting support and are of a heavier build, these may provide initial comfort, but do a last check on the mattress specifications and return policies before purchasing.

Ethan Allen's Owner Satisfaction

Some sleepers are content with their beds, but others are not as pleased overall. Even though there are those that like these mattresses, overall they have lower customer satisfaction than average. Read on for more specifics if you are interested in buying.

Ethan Allen's Supportiveness

In terms of having support long term, these mattresses get mixed reviews. Some have described them as supportive and report being comfortable, but others didn't feel great after a night's sleep. If you are someone who is above average in weight or has wide shoulders or hips, you may want to do additional research to make sure these mattresses will work for you

Edge Support
Edge support is an essential item for those that like to lay close the edge of their mattress without dipping or rolling off. Some folks report this brand's mattresses are not evenly supportive and may dip for some.

Ethan Allen's Durability

Long lasting mattresses are wonderful, but not always simple to discover. Sadly, customers are not always pleased with the durability of these mattresses. This means that some mattresses still may last years and years, while other customers find their mattress to break down quicker than expected. If you are a bigger person, make sure to take a look at all of your options.

Browse Englander Customer Reviews

Few months in, started sagging

I bought a latex Englander pillow top bed about 6 years ago, in the store it was super comfortable but after I got it (Queen size) and had it for a few months it started sagging. I only weigh 143 and it shouldn't do that. Within a few years it was awful. When it became horrible, I called them and spoke with the customer service team, I sent pictures and documented how bad it was. The bed I had was discontinued, and they actually replaced it with a top of the line pillow top mattress--it was their best model, and probably about an $1800 mattress. I was thrilled, now 6 months into it--I have to turn the thing constantly to avoid the sagging. It is almost as bad as the other one and I completely hate it. I bought a new bed this week. I really wanted it to work out but these are just not great. I can say their customer service was excellent, but I would never recommend these. They aren't cheap and they are so uncomfortable--I can't imagine 2 people on one that weigh more than me.

View More Reviews

Browse Ethan Allen Customer Reviews

Like many people, a back ache prompted me to buy a new mattress

Like many people, a back ache prompted me to buy a new mattress. After much research, I selected a bed offered by Ethan Allen and was willing to drive a long distance to purchase it. When the bed arrived at the local warehouse, I was told there would be approximately 7-10 days for delivery to my home. My back ache and sleep were worsening so I called the store and asked if there was any way to expedite the delivery; I didn't expect this special service but tried anyway. To my surprise, the store manager cut some red tape and had my bed delivered in two days. The bed is great, sleep is great, back ache gone. Thank you, Ethan Allen.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.