Englander Mattress Reviews

Get The Best July 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Englander

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Englander is a brand of Southerland mattress and was founded in the 1800s. They focus predominantly on foam, latex, and hybrid mattresses with an eco-friendly flare. They are committed to lower carbon-footprint practices and standards. Overall, they piggyback off of many of Southerland's mattress production facilities across the United States and are predominantly found in Southern and Midwest US mattress retail stores. Their difference is found in their selection of cooling foams and eco-friendly latex.

Mattress Score

Overall Score: 7.1/10

Customer Satisfaction: 7/10

Price Value: 7.1/10

No Back Pain: 7.1/10

Price: $429-$3499

Trial Period: No Trial

See More Scores

Get Yours Now

See Our Top Mattress Choices

Englander's Specifics

Englander mattresses is an old traditional mattress company, based in the Northeast. They have a range of mid-grade mattresses that they sell in their showrooms and through partners across the country. They have some complaints from customers about durability and longevity of their mattresses. Although some of these complaints may be related to picking the wrong firmness levels, some sleepers have had issues with the construction and perceived quality.

If you are looking for long lasting comfort, take a look at our top rated mattresses, which customers stand behind. Specifically, the Dreamcloud mattress has a pillow top and fluffy feel similar to some of the higher end Englander mattresses, but comes at a competitive pricepoint and has a great owner satisfaction rating.

Quality of Materials

Englander gets mixed reviews from customers when it comes to initial feel and support. There are some that were comfortable with their Englander mattresses, but there were others that reported quick sagging issues with their mattresses. Some have also noted that the initial comfort felt worse than they expected.

Mattress Types

Englander has a variety of mattress lines for customers to choose from. Each of these mattress lines feature innersprings. We'll go through each of the options in detail:

Englander Hybrid

Englander's Hybrid collection comes with layers of gel infused memory foam, latex, and micro-coils. Most customers like what they get in terms of initial comfort, but others had issues with the durability of some of these mattresses. In terms of edge support, these mattresses should provide equal comfort towards the side of the mattress. However, those that are larger may find that they sink too far into the mattress depending on the firmness selected.

The pros: Mattress with cooling technology and pocketed micro-coils for a mid-range pricepoint.

The cons: Issues with durability reported and some reports of issues with material quality.

Final Score: 6.9 / 10

Egel Hybrid

Egel mattresses by Englander are infused with additional ultra-cooling gel foam that helps with warm sleeping. They additionally have benefits such as anti-microbial foams used. Some customers like the way that they feel initially with these mattresses, but others had issues with the long term longevity of the mattresses. There are some additional issues reported on initial feel with some of the mattresses.

The pros: Gel-infused memory foam provides cooling for warm sleepers.

The cons: Prices are high for the material quality. Some have also had durability concerns with some of these mattresses.

Final Score: 7 / 10

Hotel Collection

Englander's Hotel Collection is its luxury brand of mattresses that are designed to mirror 5-star hotel experiences. They are featured at Hiltons, Marriott, Sofitel, among others. One of the things to note about these mattresses is that hotels usually change mattresses out sooner than the average customer. This means that durability may be lacking more than expected for the quality. Additionally, there are some higher prices for these mattresses, which can be found for a higher value in other online brands.

The pros: Hotel brand initial feel is positive for many sleepers.

The cons: Durability is called into question and some have reported problems.

Final Score: 7.1 / 10

Tension Ease

Tension Ease is Englander's high profile hybrid mattress -- featuring graphene infused memory foam and posturized pocketed coils. These mattresses are designed to relieve posture and straighten the spine. Most customers report feeling good on these mattresses initially, but there are some reports of difficulties with durability. If you are larger in body type, you'll want to make sure that the mattress firmness is in the firm range to ensure that it will be comfortable.

The pros: Posture-focused hybrid mattress.

The cons: Some high prices and issues with durability.

Final Score: 6.9 / 10

Browse Englander Customer Reviews

Few months in, started sagging

I bought a latex Englander pillow top bed about 6 years ago, in the store it was super comfortable but after I got it (Queen size) and had it for a few months it started sagging. I only weigh 143 and it shouldn't do that. Within a few years it was awful. When it became horrible, I called them and spoke with the customer service team, I sent pictures and documented how bad it was. The bed I had was discontinued, and they actually replaced it with a top of the line pillow top mattress--it was their best model, and probably about an $1800 mattress. I was thrilled, now 6 months into it--I have to turn the thing constantly to avoid the sagging. It is almost as bad as the other one and I completely hate it. I bought a new bed this week. I really wanted it to work out but these are just not great. I can say their customer service was excellent, but I would never recommend these. They aren't cheap and they are so uncomfortable--I can't imagine 2 people on one that weigh more than me.

Started sagging in eight months

We spent $1150+ on an E-gel, cool gel technology Queen, and after about 8 months it started to sag. Englander sent someone over to check the bed and we were told it was 'expected' wear and tear - I'm furious - less than 2 years old - absolutely awful and I am doing everything in my power to spread the word everywhere on the net about this company and their expensive, sagging mattress. :( My $400 mattress was more comfortable after 6 years than this one. I feel bitter about the amount of money and lack of accountability for poor quality, poor durability and crap customer service. Anyone know how to launch a class-action law suit against these clowns?

Bought in the 90s -- still good!

I bought an Englander mattress in December 1996. It was a double-pillow top queen sized mattress with the matching box spring. It is only now that I am thinking of replacing it with a new mattress. I am thinking about a memory foam mattress. This model was the best one that the store carried. For the entire time that I have had the mattress, it was wonderful and very comfortable. The only reason that I am want to replace it, it because of its age. It always had a protective cover on it.

Cheap and good

Just bought a englander capri. Queen size for $396 after tax. So far so good

Best mattress I ever owned

Had a Queen pillowtop for a month now. Absolutely the best Mattress I've ever owned. I saved hundreds of dollars and would recommend The Mattress Outlet and Englander Mattress to anyone that wants a great night's sleep. You do not need to spend thousands to be comfortable. I am completely satisfied with the product.

Love it

We bought a englander back in 05 and have been happy every night since. I feel like I am sleeping on a cloud. Not sure the model but it was about $1200

Worst ever

I bought an Englander Ultimate Visco Pillowtop, expensive, the store went out of business and I am stuck with the worst mattress in the world, it is only two and a half years old and has two holes one on each side and a hump in the middle, pleople learn from my mistake do not buy this mattress.

Biggest ripoff of my life

Do not buy an Englander mattress. The biggest ripoff in my life of 56 years is the Englander mattress. Only 6 months ago we bought one for over $800.00. I have been sleeping in a hole for 3 months now. Tomorrow i will cut it in half and transport the halves to the wholesaler where I will glue them to the sidewalk in front of the store.

Durability -- NONE

Bought this mattress three months ago and it has a giant hole directly in the middle of the mattress. I am not a big person and can't understand how normal sleep would ever cause something like this to happen. I am so disappointed and all I want is a new mattress, but the store said that the sale was final. I was jipped out of hundreds of dollars.

My back aches and the mattress is falling apart

Six months in and I can't even sleep in this bed because the bedding itself has entirely degraded. I am not a sensitive sleeper and would gladly sleep on a couch any day, but this bed has turned into a painful metal mess. I can't do this to myself.

Constant pain and sagging

Bought this bad a year ago and have been in constant pain since 2 weeks in. The shoddy crafstmanship is unbelievable. Buyer beware!!!

Everyone loves it

I purchased my mattress by chance from an store that was going out of business in 2007. To this day everyone that comes to visit brags about the restful night they get. Nothing but snores from the guest bedroom. I brought my second one, replacing my mattress with an Englander, now I have two. I hope my second one last as long as my first one.

I purchased a king sized mattress

I purchased a king sized mattress and box spring January 2014 - from Beds Beds Beds in Crestwood, The mattress is an Englander Mattress OAKVILLE FM is what is on the tag. I emailed Englander Bedding twice and got no answer - I will try calling the company directly later today. The mattress is lumpy my spouse and I weight about 137-150 each so there is no valid reason why the mattress should be lumpy. I don't know if this complaint will do anything but I quite unhappy with the mattress (the box spring appears ok). I keep hearing Englander mattress stands by their product and so far no response. The mattress before we see that it is lumpy in 3 spots is a firm mattress and we both got a good nights sleep.

Englander Geneseo

Mattress has been sagging for 3-4 years now, and it is only 6 years old! I only weigh 135 pounds! Wake up stiff and sore. Just bought a big name competitor's mattress/box springs and guess what -- all my aches and stiffness went away.

Compare Englander With These Brands

Compare With Dreamcloud

Compare With Bear Mattress

Compare With Nectar

Compare With Level

Compare With Awara

Compare With Puffy

Compare With Avocado

Compare With Brooklyn Bedding

Compare With Layla

Compare With Nest Bedding

Compare With Leesa

Compare With Amore

Compare With Saatva

Compare With Nolah

Compare With Birch Living

Compare With Plushbeds

Compare With Tuft And Needle

Compare With Eight

Compare With Helix

Compare With Cocoon

Compare With Tulo

Compare With Allswell

Compare With Loom And Leaf

Compare With Winkbeds

Compare With My Green Mattress

Compare With Nora

Compare With Zenhaven

Compare With Sleep Ez

Compare With Idle

Compare With Ghostbed

Compare With Sapira Sleep

Compare With Big Fig

Compare With Essentia

Compare With Purple

Compare With Voila

Compare With Aviya

Compare With Cariloha

Compare With Hyphen

Compare With Luxi

Compare With Spindle

Compare With Casper

Compare With Naturepedic

Compare With Lull

Compare With Performasleep

Compare With Dreamfoam Bedding

Compare With Tempurpedic

Compare With Arctic Dreams

Compare With Brentwood Home

Compare With Airweave

Compare With Urban

Compare With Eve

Compare With Reverie

Compare With Lifekind

Compare With Christeli

Compare With Craftmatic

Compare With Oso

Compare With Hypnos

Compare With Technogel

Compare With Novosbed

Compare With Restonic

Compare With Endy

Compare With Dormeo

Compare With Doze

Compare With Intellibed

Compare With Dromma

Compare With Verlo

Compare With Amerisleep

Compare With Eluxury Supply

Compare With Flobeds

Compare With Zotto

Compare With Classic Brands

Compare With Easy Rest

Compare With Cuddle

Compare With Bed In A Box

Compare With Savvy Rest

Compare With Foam Sweet Foam

Compare With Kiss

Compare With Keetsa

Compare With Therapedic

Compare With Vi Spring

Compare With Pranasleep

Compare With Sleepys

Compare With Diamond

Compare With Postureloft

Compare With Simmons Beautyrest

Compare With King Koil

Compare With Innomax

Compare With Ashley Furniture

Compare With Parklane

Compare With Comfortaire

Compare With Sleep Science

Compare With White Dove

Compare With Qomfort

Compare With Comfort Tech

Compare With Natures Sleep

Compare With Dream Bed

Compare With Ikrema

Compare With Springwall

Compare With Hästens

Compare With Banner

Compare With Safavieh

Compare With Tuck

Compare With Lebeda

Compare With Mlily

Compare With Perfect Cloud

Compare With Corsicana

Compare With Charles P Rogers

Compare With Purasleep

Compare With Sleep On Latex

Compare With Dynasty

Compare With Zinus

Compare With Eclipse

Compare With Novaform

Compare With Sleep Innovations

Compare With Hampton And Rhodes

Compare With Wolf

Compare With Sherwood Bedding

Compare With Custom Comfort

Compare With Kluft

Compare With Gold Bond

Compare With Aireloom

Compare With Spa Sensations

Compare With Bed Boss

Compare With Shifman

Compare With Bowles

Compare With Personal Comfort

Compare With Enso

Compare With Ethan Allen

Compare With Sleep Number

Compare With Solstice

Compare With Yogabed

Compare With Jamison

Compare With Signature Sleep

Compare With Boyd

Compare With Raymour And Flanigan

Compare With Dutch Craft

Compare With Sealy Posturepedic

Compare With Stearns And Foster

Compare With Maxim

Compare With Zuzu

Compare With Cheswick Manor

Compare With Icomfort

Compare With Lucid

Compare With Ortho

Compare With Serta Perfect Sleeper

Compare With Spring Air

Compare With Linenspa

Compare With Southerland

Compare With City

Compare With Kingsdown

Compare With Symbol

Compare With Astrabeds

Compare With Ikea

Compare With Denver

Compare With Bobs Bobopedic

Compare With Eastman House

Compare With Pangeabed

Compare With Tomorrow

Compare With Resort Sleep

Compare With Zeopedic

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.