Eight vs Stearns And Foster

Get The Best March 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Eight

Eight Sleep is at it again! After creating the only smart mattress in a box, they have recently launched a new smart, tempurature regulating mattress, named 'The Pod.' With an active grid on the top layer that can either cool or heat the sleeper based on the bed's current temperature, the pod keeps you perfectly cozy all night long. Additionally, with a contouring, medium-firm memory foam design, it really is a gadget-lover's great night sleep!

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy Posturpedic are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. But what do the consumers think?

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Eight in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Eight

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Eight: 9.4/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Eight: 9.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Eight: 9.4/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Eight: 9.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Eight: $995-$2495
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Eight:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Eight's Owner Satisfaction

Having great ratings from customers is an important indicator for shoppers. Mattress buyers give these mattresses better satisfaction scores than most other competitors, which should give you a good foundation to finding out if they will work for your preferences. Read on to learn if these mattresses will work for your body!

Eight's Supportiveness

These mattresses do well with support versus others in the industry. Their materials offer solid support for the back and hips and customers feel comfortable while cradled by these mattresses. Customers describe these mattresses as offering solid support on the surface layers and don't report many issues with sagging over a short horizon.

Edge Support
Edge support is important for those that sit or lay close to the edge of the mattress and are looking for even support. These mattresses do a good job providing edge support for sleepers.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is good for measuring firmness and support throughout the mattress. These mattresses provide an even supportive structure throughout the mattress.

Eight's Durability

Customers are always on the lookout for highly durable mattresses. But with companies focusing less on building quality products and more on shipping product, this can be more and more difficult to find. However, even still, these mattresses are rated well for durability. Most sleepers will see them last up to a decade. Those that are bigger or use their mattress more than 8 hours every night may find that their mattress is slightly less durable.

Check the Prices For Eight:   Get Today's Prices

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Not everyone feels positive about these mattresses. Some sleepers report feeling satisfaction with their new bed, but others not so much. Therefore, it is more difficult to estimate if one of these will work perfectly for you. Take a look below to learn more about the specifics and to see if the mattress will work for you.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

For stomach and back sleepers, a supportive mattress is essential. Also, deeper support that keeps the spine aligned with the rest of the body is an essential trait for side sleepers. For most, these mattresses are above average in terms of support. However, others had problems with the support so if you have a heavy build, make sure that your selection is right for you.

Edge Support
Most find these mattresses to provide good edge support. That said, there were some mixed reviews about the edge support.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Discovering a durable mattress is really nice, but it's not always that simple. These mattresses are not reviewed highly by customers when it comes to durability. This means that some mattresses still may last years and years, while other mattresses may become uncomfortable faster. If you have a wider frame than average, make sure to do some more research because you may be at a higher risk for durability issues.

Browse Eight Customer Reviews

Very cool bed

Although I have experienced bugs with my data collection, the overall concept of this bed is amazing. I am excited for future types of smart beds.

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Review from stephanie of Charlotte, NC

I am not accustomed to writing a negative review, especially after reading so many reviews that are positive; but please beware because you too could experience the same circumstances that we are currently experiencing. Unfortunately our experience with the Dartford Ultra Firm Mattress Set is not so positive; perhaps it is possible that we received a “substandard set”. At any rate, my husband and I saved and planned for this very expensive purchase for our retirement comfort and because we wanted a very high quality mattress. Additionally, before we made the decision we read numerous reviews, and we were convinced that this Stearns & Foster mattress would be the best for us. Well we’ve had our set for a little over one year and we have rotated it approximately twelve times just to keep it balanced, and still it has sags and there is a very conspicuous ridge in the middle of it.

We were informed that Macys has a very strong Customer Service satisfaction rate, so we contacted Macy’s regarding our experience and they advised us that an inspector would evaluate our concern and provide feedback to them. As we assumed it would be, the evaluation was not to our advantage. So it appears that the purchase that we thought would be very satisfactory especially given the reputation of Macys and Stearns & Foster, did not provide us with the value, quality and comfort that we expected Macys to stand behind. I would advise everyone to think twice about purchasing a mattress at this price point from Macys.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.