Get an Instant Discount for Eight Get $250 Off The Pod

Eight vs. Sleep Number

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Eight

For those searching for the latest in sleep technology, Eight Sleep has you covered. Created with guidance from their Scientific Advisory Board, Eight Sleep has three smart mattresses that are shipped conveniently and directly to you in a box. The Pod, the Pod Pro, and the Pod Pro Max mattresses all feature dual-zone cooling and heating as well as an advanced sleep tracking app to help monitor things like sleep stages, toss and turns, as well as heart rate. Overall, these mattresses really are a gadget-lover's great night sleep!

Sleep Number

Sleep Number has innovated over the years, from their firmness number technology and now their smart mattress and anti-snore features. With more smart technology than ever before such as sleep tracking and automatic adjustments of temperature and firmness, most sleepers find the Sleep Number 360 mattresses very interesting. However, durability is a concern for many customers with reports of some components wearing out faster than expected given the high prices.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Eight in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Eight

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Eight: 9.3/10
Sleep Number: 7.5/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Eight: 9.2/10
Sleep Number: 7.4/10

Price Value:
Eight: 9.3/10
Sleep Number: 8.2/10

No Back Pain:
Eight: 9.3/10
Sleep Number: 8.5/10

Price:
Eight: $2295-$4095
Sleep Number: $699-$11098

Eight:
Get $250 Off The Pod

Sleep Number:
Get Yours Now

Eight's Owner Satisfaction

Keeping customers happy is a good first step in finding out if a mattress is going to be right for you. Reviewers score these mattresses very highly versus others. Take a look at the reviews and specifics of the mattress to learn if it will work for you specifically.

Eight's Supportiveness

Mattress support is key to a healthy night sleep. You want something that will align your spine rather than causing you nightly pain. These mattresses do well supporting your spine.

Edge Support
Edge support is really important for those that like to dangle their feet over the side of the mattress. These mattresses are supportive along the edges and don't suffer from too much contouring versus the center.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Popular among customers, the bowling ball test is a good indicator of firmness and contouring, but also of support. If the mattress doesn't provide even support, then there is a big problem. However, these mattresses do a good job providing even support for sleepers.

Eight's Durability

It isn't easy to find great products that last a decade with constant use. Brands, for the most part, rather make recurring money than craft something that can never break. However, there are still market leaders out there. These mattresses, specifically, provide a good element of durability to most sleepers. Most will find them last 7 - 12 years, though those who are of heavier builds may experience them faltering sooner.

Get an Instant Discount for Eight:   Get $250 Off The Pod

Sleep Number's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews can be hard to see from a high level -- especially with brands trying at all costs to protect their reputation. These mattresses, unfortunately, aren't scored as well by customers. There are still customers that are very satisfied, but many others who are not. Research more below to learn about the specifics of the mattresses.

Sleep Number's Supportiveness

Most customers describe these mattresses as providing good support, but others didn't always agree with the feel. For those with wider frames, take a look at the firmness levels and overall specs as you'll want to ensure that your body and spine are supported well.

Edge Support
For those that like sitting on their mattress with their feet hanging off the side, most will be comfortable and supported with these mattresses. However, some have had some issues so if you have mobility issues, make sure to review more.

Sleep Number's Durability

Mattresses with lasting comfort are amazing, but not always easy to find. These mattresses are not reviewed highly by customers when it comes to durability. That said, some mattresses may last a significant time without problems, while other mattresses may only last a couple years. If you are a heavier individual, read up on your options because you may be at a higher risk for durability issues from some mattresses.

Browse Eight Customer Reviews

Very cool bed

Although I have experienced bugs with my data collection, the overall concept of this bed is amazing. I am excited for future types of smart beds.

View More Reviews

Browse Sleep Number Customer Reviews

Going with the C2 and adding my own bells and whistles

Very grateful for Candid Reviewer's advice. We were interested in the C2 after seeing the excellent rating it received from Consumer Reports, with high marks for durability, side and back sleeping. We went to the sleep number store, stuck to our plan and avoided being up- sold, and bought (on Amazon) both the recommended fiber topper and a gel topper to experiment with once the C2 arrives. We also are using our old metal frame with a queen-size bunkie board ($69), for a nice savings compared to the $300 foundation from sleep number. More $ for new sheets and bedding!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Puffy

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.