Eight vs Shifman

Get an Instant Discount for Eight $250 Off & 2 Free Pillows

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Eight

The Eight Mattress was first known for its smart mattress cover and tracker. With its initial success, Eight was one of the first companies to launch a 'smart mattress.' Their integrated tech offers bed warming, smart alarm (that wakes you at your lightest sleep level), an integrated mobile app and sleep assistant, and further customizations with your smart home. With mattresses at different pricepoints and firmness preferences, this is a great brand to consider!

Shifman

Shifman is a handmade luxury mattress brand that has been around since the last 1800s and has a legacy of elegant design and is found in mattress retailers and at Bloomingdales. Their mattresses are very high priced, usually well over $5,000 to start. Though they are a status symbol for some and boast hand craftsmanship, there are those that find that they provide a bad value for the materials used.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Eight in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Eight

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Eight: 9.3/10
Shifman: 7.6/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Eight: 9.2/10
Shifman: 7.6/10

Price Value:
Eight: 9.4/10
Shifman: 7.1/10

No Back Pain:
Eight: 9.3/10
Shifman: 7.4/10

Price:
Eight: $699-$1899
Shifman: $2,598-$29,783

Eight:
$250 Off & 2 Free Pillows

Shifman:
Get Yours Now

Eight's Owner Satisfaction

Sleepers can be a picky bunch when it comes to their comfort (as they should be), which is why finding a product that most agree on is a great check mark to finding out if it works for you. Versus others, these mattresses have very high scores from sleepers. Do some more research below to figure out if one of these mattresses are right for you.

Eight's Supportiveness

These mattresses are well rated for support versus many other competitors. They offer a more resilient sleeping surface to align the spine and most folks feel comfortable due to this. Customers describe that these mattresses are supportive and and talk about good performance and solid inital comfort.

Edge Support
Edge support is important for those that sit or lay close to the edge of the mattress and are looking for a supportive surface. These mattresses have good edge support for those that need it.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is good for measuring firmness and support throughout the mattress. These mattresses are good at being supportive evenly thoughout the mattress.

Eight's Durability

Mattresses with high durability are some of the most sought after by customers. However as companies focus more on profits and less on building quality products, finding a durable mattress can be a difficult things to find. Overall, these mattresses are some of the most durable based on the reviews and the product specifications. Most customers should have them last up to a decade. If you are larger in frame, you may find your mattress slightly less durable.

Get an Instant Discount for Eight:   $250 Off & 2 Free Pillows

Shifman's Owner Satisfaction

Sleeper reviews can be hard to understand from a high level -- especially with brands trying at all costs to protect their reputation. These mattresses, unfortunately, don't get the best reception from customers versus competitors. There are still those that love them, but many others have complaints. Get more details on the specifics and hear from customers below.

Shifman's Supportiveness

These mattresses aren't ideal for everyone in terms of their support. Though most report initial comfort and support of the spine, others have had issues with alignment long term. If you are considering these mattresess, make sure to take a look further before buying.

Edge Support
Edge support is definitely a concern for those that struggle with mobility. However, others don't really mind as long as they are comfortable sleeping. Customers have mixed reviews about the supportiveness of these mattresses so make sure to do added reading if it is important for you.

Shifman's Durability

Mattresses that are very durable are great, but difficult to find. Unfortunately, customers don't tend to rate these mattresses well in terms of durability. This means that some mattresses still may last years and years, while other mattresses may become uncomfortable faster. If you have a wider frame than average, make sure to do some more research because you may be at a higher risk for durability issues.

Browse Eight Customer Reviews

Very cool bed

Although I have experienced bugs with my data collection, the overall concept of this bed is amazing. I am excited for future types of smart beds.

View More Reviews

Browse Shifman Customer Reviews

I bought my first Shifman Mattress...

I bought my first Shifman Mattress in Bloomdales in 2001. It lasted me over ten years and was only tossed out due to the impossibility of getting such a heavy, well-made mattress down my third floor tenement stairs. I switched brands to my regret and have never gotten the good night's sleep I had with my Shifman. I can't even turn the mattress over because it is a one-sided mattress, something I was unaware of. When this one bites the dust, I'm returning to Shifman. It is a costly product and worth every cent.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Level

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.