Eight vs Saatva

Get an Instant Discount for Eight Get $100 Off The Pod

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Eight

Eight Sleep is at it again! After creating the only smart mattress in a box, they have recently launched a new smart, tempurature regulating mattress, named 'The Pod.' With an active grid on the top layer that can either cool or heat the sleeper based on the bed's current temperature, the pod keeps you perfectly cozy all night long. Additionally, with a contouring, medium-firm memory foam design, it really is a gadget-lover's great night sleep!

Saatva

Saatva has innovated over time with their mattresses. Their original Saatva mattress is one of the best mattresses in a box for those looking for a traditional innerspring mattress feel. With an edge on quality, Saatva decided to invest in better coil technology to provide sleepers with a more comfy traditional mattress, but one shipped in a box to pass on more savings to customers. Over the years, they have innovated further, with a competitive number bed, called Solaire and a mattress for larger sleepers, called the Saatva HD.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend both Eight and Saatva in this match up!

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Eight: 9.4/10
Saatva: 9.4/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Eight: 9.2/10
Saatva: 9.4/10

Price Value:
Eight: 9.4/10
Saatva: 9.3/10

No Back Pain:
Eight: 9.3/10
Saatva: 9.3/10

Price:
Eight: $995-$2495
Saatva: $599-$1499

Eight:
Get $100 Off The Pod

Saatva:
Get Yours Now

Eight's Owner Satisfaction

Customers don't always love their mattresses, which is why finding good customer satisfaction is so essential. Reviewers score these mattresses very highly versus others. Do some more reading below to find out what customers are saying.

Eight's Supportiveness

All folks need a mattress that is supportive. Whether you like a firm, soft, or medium mattress, a bed that gives you a healthy spine is what we're all looking for. These mattresses do well with support over much of the competition.

Edge Support
Lots of folks are looking for mattresses with good edge support. These mattresses are strong in the edge support category, which means there is good support for sleepers on the sides of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is popular in measuring mattress firmness and it does well measuring the surface layers for even support. These mattresses do well with evenness of support across the surface of the mattress.

Eight's Durability

Mattress shoppers are on the hunt for highly durable mattresses. However, with some out there looking to ship more beds rather than making the right mattress, it can be tough to find a long lasting mattress. Overall, these mattresses are some of the most durable based on the reviews and the product specifications. Most sleepers will see them last up to a decade. If you are heavier or use your mattress more than nightly, then you may expect a little less durability.

Get an Instant Discount for Eight:   Get $100 Off The Pod

Saatva's Owner Satisfaction

Having highly rated customer satisfaction scores is a good beginning point to find if a mattress will work for you. Customers rate these mattresses highly when it comes to comfort. Customers have had good experiences with the company and feel comfortable in their beds. Take a look below to learn if this mattress will work for you!

Saatva's Supportiveness

Mattress support is key to a healthy night sleep. You don't want something that is going to sink and cause your back to curve rather than straighten. These mattresses provide the kind of support that works with your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is really important for those that like to dangle their feet over the side of the mattress. These mattresses do a good job with edge support and don't contour too much on the edges.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Popular among readers, the bowling ball test gives a good reading on mattress firmness and evenness of support. If a mattress is unneven in its supportiveness, then there is a big problem. However, these mattresses do a good job providing even support for sleepers.

Saatva's Durability

In terms of durability, these mattresses are quite competitive versus the competition. Having a long-living mattress can mean being comfy in bed for years. while one that breaks quickly can mean fast back pain. For most sleepers, these mattresses will last between 7 - 12 years on average, which is good for contemporary mattresses. Those that use their mattresses more than average or have larger builds may experience a slight decrease in longevity.

Check the Prices For Saatva:   Get Today's Prices

Browse Eight Customer Reviews

Very cool bed

Although I have experienced bugs with my data collection, the overall concept of this bed is amazing. I am excited for future types of smart beds.

View More Reviews

Browse Saatva Customer Reviews

Superb Luxury Mattress And Excellent Service Make The Saatva a Best Bet!

When I left a 35 year career as Creative Director for a major Advertising Agency my timing was perfect - the economy collapsed. I took a job with a major mattress chain creating campaigns to promote certain models.

During this period I visited a number of mattress manufacturers and was amazed that the same mattress meant to sell at a retail point of let's say $2,000 would by a simple change of the name and damask become a mattress set for an optimum price point of $800. This is why it's impossible for the consumer to comparison shop. If you find a mattress you like called "The Cloud" the store you're in is the only store that carries that mattress with that name.

Right down the street that very same mattress may be selling for as much as 50% more or less - the selling of mattresses is unfortunately a shady business and the consumer suffers from it.

I'll caveat the following by saying I am a research fanatic. It's in my blood and it drives most friends and family crazy - I am unrelenting and I go over board. That said when my better half and I realized that neither of us were getting a decent nights sleep, with the exception for our two Old English Bulldogs who could doze off on a bed of nails. I was handed my orders to find a mattress and the search began.

During a web search I found the Saatva site and book marked it along with the dozen others I had saved. When I finally read through the web site I was struck by two thing:.

1) The site is brimming with valuable information. There is virtually no what we call in advertising "fluff" or "weasel words" it's the best education about mattresses you'll find.

2) Claims by Saatva are backed up with facts. spec by spec, apples to apples. In fact there is a comparison chart between the Saatva mattress and other high end mattresses. As an example one comparison of the Saatva at $899 shows that the Saatva actually surpasses an equivalent Kings Down Mattress which has an MSRP of over three grand.

I drove them crazy with endless telephone calls and I'm surprised the company didn't take out a restraining order against me. What I found time and time again is that each person I spoke with knew the product inside and out. If I had questions about the coil system, the foam densities, the gauge of the springs they were answered. The few times there was a question that couldn't be answered ( because no normal person would ask these questions) but that's not me. I would be transferred to someone who could.

Never once was I pressured to buy. There is no "one time deal if you buy today" Pressure what so ever. Saatva means "Truth" and that's exactly what you get.

Now about the mattress!

We purchased the King Size Luxury Firm it was delivered with lightning speed and the plastic wrapping is beyond protective - it's closer to a Hazmat suit. When the mattress was placed in our bed frame - my spouse and I were both struck by how absolutely gorgeous it is. Quality touches abound. From the iron clad strong handles, to the intricate braiding on the sides. The deep tufted upholstered buttons make for an elegant and incredibly comfortable surface.

The Damask is pure 100% natural cotton both gorgeous in look and feel and the Damask ensures the mattress breathes. As far as support and comfort the Saatva mattress is brilliant. We haven't slept this well, this deeply and woken feeling this good in years, and that's a fact.
If you're still reading this novel and aren't comatose by this time, I applaud you. I promise to wrap this up in a minimum of 300 more pages.

The common thread between everyone at Saatva is passion.

Saatva promises silver but delivers gold and few mattress sellers, if any can make that claim. There is no single piece of furniture in the world that has such a profound effect on our health and well being. Our Saatva is the best investment we have made in years - and it's Bulldog Approved!

Highest Recommendation

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Level

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.