Eight vs Idle

Get an Instant Discount for Eight Get $100 Off The Pod

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Eight

Eight Sleep is at it again! After creating the only smart mattress in a box, 'The Pod', their smart, temperature regulating mattress, they've also released the re-engineered and re-designed 'Pod Pro' and 'Pod Pro Max'. Their mattresses feature an active grid on the top layer that can either cool or heat the mattress at the control of your fingertips with the Eight Sleep App. Additionally, with advanced sleep tracking that measures your sleep stages, sleep time, toss and turns, heart rate, and even heart rate variability (HRV), these mattresses really are a gadget-lover's great night sleep!

Idle

Idle mattresses are some of the most interesting mattresses-in-a-box to take the industry by storm. One of the key differentiators is that they offer multiple double sided mattresses, which they claim allows one side to always rest and recover from use. With both latex and foam flippable hybrid varieties, and cooling foam mattress options, customers respond well to their offerings. With medium and luxury firm options, Idle is definitely a brand to consider.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Eight in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Eight

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Eight: 9.3/10
Idle: 9.1/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Eight: 9.2/10
Idle: 9.1/10

Price Value:
Eight: 9.3/10
Idle: 9.1/10

No Back Pain:
Eight: 9.3/10
Idle: 9.3/10

Price:
Eight: $2295-$4095
Idle: $910-$4640

Eight:
Get $100 Off The Pod

Idle:
Get Up To 50% Off + Free Pillows

Eight's Owner Satisfaction

Shopping for a new mattress is hard, which is why finding a brand with good customer satisfaction is a great starting point to finding if a mattress will work for you. Sleepers rate these mattresses highly versus others. Take a look at the specifics below to learn if one of these mattresses will work for you.

Eight's Supportiveness

A supportive mattress is one of the most important things to just about everyone. Whether you are looking for a firm mattress or a softer variety, a bed that gives you a healthy spine is what we're all looking for. Overwhelmingly, these mattresses provide a good level of support to their customers.

Edge Support
Lots of folks are looking for mattresses with good edge support. These mattresses do well in that category, which means that sleepers report feeling consistency in support near the sides of the bed.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is a great way to measure mattress firmness and it is an excellent way of measuring support across the surface. Reviewers note that these mattresses offer a good, even and supportive sleeping surface.

Eight's Durability

It's a hard prospect finding products that last decades. Brands, for the most part, rather go after the money than make something that can never ever break. However, there are still great products out there. Customers say that these mattresses do a great job on quality. Most sleepers will experience them lasting between 7 - 12 years, though those who are of heavier builds may experience them faltering sooner.

Get an Instant Discount for Eight:   Get $100 Off The Pod

Idle's Owner Satisfaction

Having excellent ratings from sleepers is an important factor for shoppers. Customers give this brand great ratings over most competitors, which should give you a good starting point to learn more. Read on to learn if these mattresses will work for your body!

Idle's Supportiveness

Being supportive is extremely important to how customers feel on their mattress and whether it enhances the natural curvature of the spine. These mattresses are good at supporting most sleepers. This means that you can sleep easy with these mattresses supporting you.

Edge Support
Most customers report that they are satisfied with the edge support of these mattresses. This means that you can sit on the edge of the bed or roll to the side and the mattress will feel supportive.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Some reviewers love the bowling ball test to measure firmness and support. These mattresses provide a consistent density surface, which is perfect for customers wanting to feel secure about support.

Idle's Durability

Customers are always on the lookout for highly durable mattresses. However, with some out there looking to ship more beds rather than making the right mattress, it can be difficult to find the right mattress that lasts. That being said, these mattresses specifically have high marks from customers on longevity. Most sleepers will see them last up to a decade. Those that are bigger or use their mattress more than 8 hours every night may find that their mattress is slightly less durable.

Get an Instant Discount for Idle:   Get Up To 50% Off + Free Pillows

Browse Eight Customer Reviews

Very cool bed

Although I have experienced bugs with my data collection, the overall concept of this bed is amazing. I am excited for future types of smart beds.

View More Reviews

Browse Idle Customer Reviews

Solid - Tessa

I spent a little more time looking for a bed that would support myself and my boyfriend who is a little bigger. I didn't want to pay a lot of money but I did need something that would last and support both of us. It has been a comfortable bed and is as strong as an ox.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.