Eclipse vs Urban

Get The Best June 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Eclipse

Eclipse offers a variety of pocketed coil mattresses that feature thick layers of memory foam. Since 1905, they have innovated their mattresses and brought them to market at a competitive pricepoint versus many retail offerings. Though customers find their products mostly comfortable at first, there are some customers that reported durability issues.

Urban

Urban Mattress is both a retailer and a brand of mattress. They were founded in Boulder, CO in 2008 with only one store and have grown to 14 stores in over 12 cities across the US. Their retail operation carries other mattress brands such as Vispring (the luxury British bedding brand) and Tempur-pedic, along with their own brand Urban Mattress and Urban Naturals. They are also active in social responsibility, donating to local charities in each of their locations. They have a budget line of Urban Mattress bedding focusing on both memory foam and hybrid bedding with a mid-price point to fit any budget.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Urban in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Eclipse: 7.8/10
Urban: 8.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Eclipse: 7.9/10
Urban: 8.8/10

Price Value:
Eclipse: 8.7/10
Urban: 8.8/10

No Back Pain:
Eclipse: 8.7/10
Urban: 8.9/10

Price:
Eclipse: $299-1999
Urban: $299-$4299

Eclipse:
Get Yours Now

Urban:
Get Yours Now

Eclipse's Owner Satisfaction

If you are considering this brand, take a look below for more from customers They, unfortunately, don't get the best reception from customers overall. Some customers had positive things to say about their new mattress, but others didn't feel good about the comfort.

Eclipse's Supportiveness

Some have described these mattresses as being supportive, but others have been disappointed with the quality. For those that are of larger body types or require more support for health reasons, do some added research before purchasing.

Edge Support
There are mixed signals about edge support on these mattresses. Some feel that there is evenness in support across the surface, but others had issues with lumpiness.

Eclipse's Durability

Unfortunately, not everyone rates thair mattresses well in terms of longevity. While some customers felt comfortable with their mattress, others found that quicker break down than others. Make sure to do some extra reading of the reviews and warranty policies before buying.

Urban's Owner Satisfaction

Reading online reviews is a wonderful way to find out if a specific product will work for you. Reviewers overall have positive things to say about these mattresses, but there are some that had a negative experience. Research more below to see if one of these mattresses will work with your body type.

Urban's Supportiveness

Everyone needs a mattress that properly supports them. Independent of whether you like soft mattresses, a mattress that gives you a healthier back and spine is very important. These mattresses do a good job with support over much of the competition.

Edge Support
Lots of folks are looking for mattresses with good edge support. These mattresses offer good quality edge support, which means that sleepers report feeling consistency in support near the sides of the bed.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is popular in measuring mattress firmness and it is a great way to measure even support too. These mattresses offer good evenness throughout the sleeping surface to help with better spine alignment.

Urban's Durability

It is a tough prospect to find great products that last a long time. Brands, by and large, hunt for short-term profits rather than building products that last. However, there are still great companies out there. These mattress, as an example, get good marks from customers on quality. Most sleepers will experience them lasting between 7 - 12 years, though those who are heavier may find that they break down faster.

Browse Eclipse Customer Reviews

No complaints thus far

Me and the wife are sleeping well since we bought one of these. We were happy with the eco-friendly score and the low impact on the environment. It's a pretty decent bed. Not a lot of tossing and turning, but still wake up sometimes in the night. May just be me.

View More Reviews

Browse Urban Customer Reviews

Bought it in Aurora, CO

Liked what I felt in the store, but it feels a little less magical at home. However, I can't complain much because it still really beats my old crappy Serta.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.