Eclipse vs Stearns And Foster

Get The Best March 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Eclipse

Eclipse has been building mattresses since 1905 and has a focus on being eco-friendly and carbon footprint conscious. Their claim to fame is that they have many all natural materials in their signature line of mattresses, such as silk and wool. Additionally, they have advanced with the times and have individually wrapped coils in their most elite mattresses. Most of their mattresses are innerspring or hybrid models and have multiple layers of foam or latex support layers between their coils. They also offer some of their mattress with Tencel, which is an eco-friendly wood based material and is non-toxic. Most Eclipse mattresses are sold in retail stores around the US.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy Posturpedic are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. But what do the consumers think?

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Eclipse in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Eclipse: 7.8/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Eclipse: 7.9/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Eclipse: 8.7/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Eclipse: 8.7/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Eclipse: $299-1999
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Eclipse:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Eclipse's Owner Satisfaction

There are is some negative input about these mattresses. Some sleepers were unhappy with the comfort, but others were really pleased. Therefore, it is more difficult to estimate if one of these will work perfectly for you. Take a look below to learn more about the specifics and to see if the mattress will work for you.

Eclipse's Supportiveness

These mattresses aren't the best in terms of support. Though some folks like the feel of these mattresses, others don't like how they work with their body. If you are thinking about buying one of these mattresses, take a look at the specs to make sure it will work for your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is always important to those who like sitting on the side of the bed. However, others don't really mind as long as they are comfortable sleeping. These mattresses may not offer the kind of edge support that lasts so make sure to do added research if it is important to you.

Eclipse's Durability

Unfortunately, customers don't always love the durability of these mattresses. While some folks had good experiences with the performance, others have experienced quicker issues than average. Make sure to take a look at the specifications, warranty, and reviews before buying.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Some customers are happy with their mattresses, but others are not as happy and have had complaints about comfort. Despite those that love these mattresses, these mattresses have lower than average customer satisfaction. Read on below for more information about these mattresses.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

Based on the reviews, these mattresses have above average supportiveness, which is ideal when you're looking for a mattress to cradle your hips and shoulders. However, some have had issues with support long term, so take a look at the firmness and durability ratings to ensure it works for you.

Edge Support
Edge support is an indicator of how supportive the sides of the mattress are versus the center. These mattresses offer good supportiveness for most, but some may exerience some dipping along the sides.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Getting a long-lasting mattress is awesome, and when instead we get a mattress that hurts our backs after a couple months, we feel awful. That said, nowadays, it is getting harder and harder to find lasting comfort. With more products available than ever, some brands are sacrificing quality. When it comes to these mattresses, some folks had issues with discomfort over a short period of time. That doesn't necessarily mean that durability issues will happen to everyone, but make sure to read up more before buying.

Browse Eclipse Customer Reviews

No complaints thus far

Me and the wife are sleeping well since we bought one of these. We were happy with the eco-friendly score and the low impact on the environment. It's a pretty decent bed. Not a lot of tossing and turning, but still wake up sometimes in the night. May just be me.

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Review from stephanie of Charlotte, NC

I am not accustomed to writing a negative review, especially after reading so many reviews that are positive; but please beware because you too could experience the same circumstances that we are currently experiencing. Unfortunately our experience with the Dartford Ultra Firm Mattress Set is not so positive; perhaps it is possible that we received a “substandard set”. At any rate, my husband and I saved and planned for this very expensive purchase for our retirement comfort and because we wanted a very high quality mattress. Additionally, before we made the decision we read numerous reviews, and we were convinced that this Stearns & Foster mattress would be the best for us. Well we’ve had our set for a little over one year and we have rotated it approximately twelve times just to keep it balanced, and still it has sags and there is a very conspicuous ridge in the middle of it.

We were informed that Macys has a very strong Customer Service satisfaction rate, so we contacted Macy’s regarding our experience and they advised us that an inspector would evaluate our concern and provide feedback to them. As we assumed it would be, the evaluation was not to our advantage. So it appears that the purchase that we thought would be very satisfactory especially given the reputation of Macys and Stearns & Foster, did not provide us with the value, quality and comfort that we expected Macys to stand behind. I would advise everyone to think twice about purchasing a mattress at this price point from Macys.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.