Eclipse vs Sleep Number

Get The Best May 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Eclipse

Eclipse offers a variety of pocketed coil mattresses that feature thick layers of memory foam. Since 1905, they have innovated their mattresses and brought them to market at a competitive pricepoint versus many retail offerings. Though customers find their products mostly comfortable at first, there are some customers that reported durability issues.

Sleep Number

Sleep Number has innovated over the years. What most people know them for is their firmness number technology that allows you to adjust the firmness on either side of the bed with the touch of a remote. However, over the last few years, they have launched more smart technology in their mattresses. This tech adds sleep tracking and automated adjustment as you sleep. While most sleepers find this technology very interesting, there are some complaints from customers about durability and long term comfort. Read on to drilldown into each of their mattresses.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Eclipse in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Eclipse


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Eclipse: 7.8/10
Sleep Number: 7.5/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Eclipse: 7.9/10
Sleep Number: 7.4/10

Price Value:
Eclipse: 8.7/10
Sleep Number: 8.2/10

No Back Pain:
Eclipse: 8.7/10
Sleep Number: 8.5/10

Price:
Eclipse: $299-1999
Sleep Number: $499-$7099

Eclipse:
Get Yours Now

Sleep Number:
Get Yours Now

Eclipse's Owner Satisfaction

Using customer reviews as a guide can be great for discerning shoppers. Unfortunately, sleepers don't always feel great about these mattresses. Some are happy with the feel and comfort of their mattress, but others complain about how it feels for them. If you are contemplating ordering, see below for more specifics that may be helpful.

Eclipse's Supportiveness

In terms of support, customers give these mattresses mixed reviews. Some customers feel like these mattresses provide a cozy comfort, but others had problems getting comfortable. If you are heavier than average, these mattresses may leave something to be desired.

Edge Support
Edge support is an essential attribute for those that like to sit on the side of the mattress. Some customers have found these mattresses to not be evenly supportive.

Eclipse's Durability

In addition to being well supported, having a long lasting mattress is what shoppers are looking for. We all really want to find a bed that will be comfy a decade or more later. That said, not all customers rate these mattresses very well on durability and some have had issues over only a short horizon. If you are thinking about buying and using full time, read over the reviews, warranty, and return policies to make sure that you are safe in your purchase.

Sleep Number's Owner Satisfaction

Finding out how customers really feel is sometimes a difficult task -- especially with companies coming in and out of the market quickly. These mattresses, unfortunately, don't score as well with customers. There are still customers that really appreciate these beds, but many others that don't. Get more details on the specifics and hear from customers below.

Sleep Number's Supportiveness

Support is extremely important for the comfort of a night's sleep. Initially, these mattresses are reviewed as being quite supportive, but there are some complaints about supportiveness over the long term. Check out the mattress specifications to make sure that it fits your body type.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important attribute in hunting down a mattress that is comfortable no matter where you relax on it. These mattresses are generally well regarded on edge support, but some may experience the edges to dip more over the long term.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In tests that measure the density and supportiveness of the mattresses, there is initial support throughout the mattress is fairly even for most sleepers. However, there are some folks that have experienced issues with support over time.

Sleep Number's Durability

Finding a long lasting mattress is great, but it's not always that easy. Unfortunately, customers don't tend to rate these mattresses well in terms of durability. That said, some mattresses may last a significantly long time without issue, while other customers find their mattress to break down quicker than expected. If you are heavier in body type, you may want to do extra looking before buying.

Browse Eclipse Customer Reviews

No complaints thus far

Me and the wife are sleeping well since we bought one of these. We were happy with the eco-friendly score and the low impact on the environment. It's a pretty decent bed. Not a lot of tossing and turning, but still wake up sometimes in the night. May just be me.

View More Reviews

Browse Sleep Number Customer Reviews

Going with the C2 and adding my own bells and whistles

Very grateful for Candid Reviewer's advice. We were interested in the C2 after seeing the excellent rating it received from Consumer Reports, with high marks for durability, side and back sleeping. We went to the sleep number store, stuck to our plan and avoided being up- sold, and bought (on Amazon) both the recommended fiber topper and a gel topper to experiment with once the C2 arrives. We also are using our old metal frame with a queen-size bunkie board ($69), for a nice savings compared to the $300 foundation from sleep number. More $ for new sheets and bedding!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.