Dromma vs Southerland

Get The Best July 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Dromma

Dromma Bed is one of the latest mattress in a box companies to hit the market in recent years. Like others, Dromma offers just one bed that is a blend of memory foams. What's different? Dromma is a blend of latex, polyurethane, and bio-foams that are CertiPUR-US certified so they don't offgas harmful chemicals. The top layer is latex, middle layer is a cooling gel memory foam layer, and its base layer is a polyurethane and bio-foam combination with an aim at lowering the amount of petro-chemicals in the product.

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. With both memory foam and pocketed coil options, most customers like their mattresses at first, but some customers experienced issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Dromma in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Dromma: 8.7/10
Southerland: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Dromma: 8.7/10
Southerland: 7.3/10

Price Value:
Dromma: 8.8/10
Southerland: 8.3/10

No Back Pain:
Dromma: 8.8/10
Southerland: 8.1/10

Price:
Dromma: $549-$949
Southerland: $399-2399

Dromma:
Get Yours Now

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

Dromma's Owner Satisfaction

Most sleepers give these mattresses good marks for satisfaction. This means most sleepers leave positive feedback, but there are some rare low reviews. There are some customers that disagreed with the comfort. Look on below to learn if these will mesh with your body!

Dromma's Supportiveness

These mattresses are more supportive than most, which means both their support and comfort layers align the back and comfort the body for most. That said, there are a few complaints from reviewers, so make sure to check out whether your purchase pick is right for your sleeping position and body type.

Edge Support
Overall, these mattresses are reported as having good edge support, which means most don't have any problems sitting on the side of the mattress comfortably.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In tests that measure to see if a mattress has even support throughout the mattress, the support across the surface is solid and even. That said, some have complained about support issues over a long period, so make sure it works for your body before purchasing.

Dromma's Durability

Everyone wants a mattress that offers durability and will last forever, but that is sometimes easier said than done. That said, customer feedback is clear on things when you can get at all of the reviews. These mattresses are more durable than average and should last over 5 years for most sleepers, but some who are heavier may find them less durable.

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

Understanding how customers feel about mattresses can be a great guiding force for shoppers. Customers don't always respond well to these mattresses. Some feel cozy and comfortable, but others don't feel that way. There are more details below to study if you are considering buying.

Southerland's Supportiveness

These mattresses don't fit the needs of everyone in terms of support. Though some folks like the feel of these mattresses, others have found these mattresses not to be comfortable. If this brand is on your short list, make sure to read more about it before purchasing.

Edge Support
Overall, edge support is extremely important to those with mobility issues. However, others don't really mind as long as they are comfortable sleeping. These mattresses are not as supportive overall, so if edge support is very important to you make sure to do some additional research.

Southerland's Durability

Everyone wants a mattress that will last forever, and when instead our new mattress causes us pain after a year, this is the worst. That said, it is much more difficult to find the right durable mattress nowadays. With more types of products than ever before, some brands aren't investing as much in quality. With these mattresses specifically, some sleepers report problems with lasting comfort. That doesn't mean that it will happen to you, but make sure to read the warranty and return policies before purchasing.

Browse Dromma Customer Reviews

Overall satisfaction, optimistic for improvement - LY

4 nights so far and I feel that I am adapting to the bed and the bed to me. Trying to replicate the memory of a bed that felt like lying on a cloud and... one that I looked forward to returning to if ever away on a trip. That bed was an extra firm traditional spring coil mattress with a 2” tempurpedic memory foam topper. Only drawback to that setup was that the topper gained heat and retained it throughout the night. Figured the new foam mattress technology could offer both the firmness, contour and comfort of the topper, and provide cooling and heat dissipation. Compared many of the bedinabox solutions and settled here because of the material composition layer mix and the fact that it was thicker at 12”. First night could really feel the density and support but wished it was a tad softer. Was really comfortable when lying on back but since I am predominantly a side sleeper the initial firmness took some getting used to. With each subsequent night I feel the mattress giving a little more as perhaps the compression and use conditions and eases the surface a bit over time. I typically toss and turn throughout the night because of both insomnia and apnea so I was optimistic that a new mattress could help. I feel a progression with this mattress in the right direction but think that another layer similar to the feel of traditional memory foam would make it perfect. I do feel as though I’m tossing less and more of that movement can be attributed to poor pillows and neck adjustments - that I am also replacing by weeks end with mypillow. Pleasantly surprised that off gassing and odor is minimal out of the box and seems to be getting less by the night; really not an issue. Also pleased that the heat gain I would be worried about has not factored in with this mattress. I’m choosing not to add a topper and expect that this mattress will grow on me. Overall very satisfied with my choice and experience thus far.

View More Reviews

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible - Valerie

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.