Get The Best Holiday 2021 Mattress Deals! Unlock Today's Coupons

Dream Bed vs. Sleep Number

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Dream Bed

Dream Bed and Dream Bed Lux are all-foam mattresses similar to some of the newer arrivals to the online mattress space. The big difference is that rather than being a mattress startup, Dream Bed is a brand by Mattress Firm, which is one of the largest mattress companies on the market with retail stores Sleep Train, Mattress Discounters, and 1-800-MATTRESS as part of their enterprise. Their mattresses get good ratings from customers at first, but some had issues with durability. Looking for DreamCloud? See what customers say in our updated DreamCloud mattress review.

Sleep Number

Sleep Number has innovated over the years, from their firmness number technology and now their smart mattress and anti-snore features. With more smart technology than ever before such as sleep tracking and automatic adjustments of temperature and firmness, most sleepers find the Sleep Number 360 mattresses very interesting. However, durability is a concern for many customers with reports of some components wearing out faster than expected given the high prices.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Dream Bed in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Dream Bed


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Dream Bed: 8.3/10
Sleep Number: 7.5/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Dream Bed: 8.4/10
Sleep Number: 7.4/10

Price Value:
Dream Bed: 8.3/10
Sleep Number: 8.2/10

No Back Pain:
Dream Bed: 8.2/10
Sleep Number: 8.5/10

Price:
Dream Bed: $699-$1199
Sleep Number: $699-$11098

Dream Bed:
Get Yours Now

Sleep Number:
Get Yours Now

Dream Bed's Owner Satisfaction

There were mixed feelings about these mattresses. There are reports from many folks of good initial comfort and happiness with their purchase, but there were others that didn't share the good feelings. Make sure to read on for more information on if one of these mattresses will work for you.

Dream Bed's Supportiveness

Overall, these mattresses have above average supportiveness, which is ideal for those that are suffering from a sagging mattress right now. That said, some reviewers have mentioned support issues in reference to their bodies, so make sure to do some extra research on the firmness and whether it will work on your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is a mesaure of the supportiveness along the sides of the mattress. These mattresses over good support overall, but some may experience some degrading of support over time.

Dream Bed's Durability

Finding a mattress that is highly durable can save you loads of money. But sadly, these days, most things degrade faster as companies fight to find profits. These mattresses, specifically, have mixed ratings when it comes to longevity. Each mattress is different in how it affects you individually and may feel comfortable for you for years, but others have reported not being so lucky. If you are considering, make sure to read more before buying.

Sleep Number's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews can be difficult to get at and even harder to understand -- especially with brands trying at all costs to protect their reputation. Sleepers, sadly, don't always feel comfortable from these mattresses. There are still folks that are content, but others who are really not. Make sure to read on to figure out if they will work for you.

Sleep Number's Supportiveness

Most customers report these mattresses to be supportive of their bodies, but others didn't always agree with the feel. For those that are heavier folks, take a look at the firmness ratings before buying as you'll want to ensure that your body and spine are supported well.

Edge Support
For those that like sitting on their mattress with their feet hanging off the side, these mattresses support most folks with good edge support. However, some had complaints so review more if you need edge support for mobility purposes.

Sleep Number's Durability

Everyone wants to find a mattress that will last over a decade, and when our mattress starts to hurt our backs after a few months, we feel swindled. However, finding lasting comfort nowadays is a real challenge. With more types of products than ever before, some brands aren't investing as much in quality. With these mattresses specifically, some sleepers report problems with lasting comfort. That doesn't mean that it will happen to you, but make sure to read the warranty and return policies before purchasing.

Browse Dream Bed Customer Reviews

As advertised

This was easy to setup and came quickly as advertised. It's comfortable and I can't feel my spouse move in the night as well!

View More Reviews

Browse Sleep Number Customer Reviews

Going with the C2 and adding my own bells and whistles

Very grateful for Candid Reviewer's advice. We were interested in the C2 after seeing the excellent rating it received from Consumer Reports, with high marks for durability, side and back sleeping. We went to the sleep number store, stuck to our plan and avoided being up- sold, and bought (on Amazon) both the recommended fiber topper and a gel topper to experiment with once the C2 arrives. We also are using our old metal frame with a queen-size bunkie board ($69), for a nice savings compared to the $300 foundation from sleep number. More $ for new sheets and bedding!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Puffy

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.