Dream Bed vs Ikea

Get The Best July 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Dream Bed

Dream Bed and Dream Bed Lux are all-foam mattresses similar to some of the newer arrivals to the online mattress space. The big difference is that rather than being a mattress startup, Dream Bed is a brand by Mattress Firm, which is one of the largest mattress companies on the market with retail stores Sleep Train, Mattress Discounters, and 1-800-MATTRESS as part of their enterprise. Their mattresses get good ratings from customers at first, but some had issues with durability.

Ikea

IKEA, the low price furniture store also offers mattresses that you can pick up in store or have delivered. They offer a selection of foam, latex-blend, and spring mattresses for the price conscious shopper. Those looking for a deal for the materials used find their mattresses compelling for their lower prices, but there are many that describe durability and firmness issues with their mattresses that lead to discomfort or poor sleep.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Dream Bed in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Dream Bed


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Dream Bed: 8.3/10
Ikea: 7.1/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Dream Bed: 8.4/10
Ikea: 7.1/10

Price Value:
Dream Bed: 8.3/10
Ikea: 8.9/10

No Back Pain:
Dream Bed: 8.2/10
Ikea: 7.5/10

Price:
Dream Bed: $699-$1199
Ikea: $89-$1199

Dream Bed:
Get Yours Now

Ikea:
Get Yours Now

Dream Bed's Owner Satisfaction

Reviews are an excellent way to get at the benefits of a mattress. However, it can be a difficult thing to stay focused on after reading hundreds of reviews. These mattresses have received some mixed emotions from customers. Some are ecstatic about their new mattress, but others are less pleased.

Dream Bed's Supportiveness

Stomach and back sleepers need tons of support from their mattresses. Also, having good support that aligns the spine is a must-have for side sleepers. These mattresses do well overall with support. However, others had issues with the support so if you have a heavier body type, make sure to do extra research.

Edge Support
Most customers like the support in the edges of these mattresses. Some customers weren't entirely satisfied with the edge support.

Dream Bed's Durability

Having a mattress with good durability means saving yourself thousands. Sadly, in this day and age, everything from bedding to clothes degrades faster. These mattresses have mixed reviews when it comes to durability. Each mattress is different in how it affects you individually and may feel comfortable for you for years, but others have reported not being so lucky. Make sure to take look at some of the customer reviews to see if the mattress should work for you before purchasing.

Ikea's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews can be hard to see from a high level -- especially with all of the great marketing that is being done to capture people's attention. These mattresses, sadly, don't get the highest reception from sleepers. There are still those that love them, but many others have complaints. Research more below to learn about the specifics of the mattresses.

Ikea's Supportiveness

Better mattress support can lead to a better night's sleep. If your bed doesn't support you, you are likely not getting the good sleep that you need. These mattresses offered good support at first, but some had issues with comfort over the long term.

Edge Support
Most will find these mattresses to be fine for edge support, which is ideal for those who like to put weight on the side of the mattress. Those that have heavier frames may still find some discomfort while laying close to the side.

Ikea's Durability

Mattresses that are very durable are great, but difficult to find. These mattresses are not rated well for their longevity by reviewers. This means that some customers may experience that their mattress lasts longer than average, while other customers find their mattress to break down quicker than expected. If you have a wider frame than average, make sure to do some more research because you may be at a higher risk for durability issues.

Browse Dream Bed Customer Reviews

As advertised

This was easy to setup and came quickly as advertised. It's comfortable and I can't feel my spouse move in the night as well!

View More Reviews

Browse Ikea Customer Reviews

great so far

I also have had lower back issues for a few months, especially in the morning, and I think it is because my 8yo sleepmaker pillowtop mattress had 'hammocked'. I tried adding a memory foam mattress pad to extend its life, but that didnt really work - it just felt like being partly buried in a softer hammock.
The Hesseng mattress is very firm, as others have mentioned, but using the mattress pad (its also ikea - tussoy) on it I find it really comfortable and supportive. I havent tried it without the mattress pad, but I think it would be okay. After only two sleeps, my back definitely feels a bit better this morning
I chose the Hesseng because it has good quality materials, zoned pocket coils and no pillowtop. I didnt want a pillow top because they get sink holes, so I wanted to be able to replace the mattress pad rather than the whole mattress when the mattress pad fails.
I checked out lots of mattress shops but couldnt get a mattress of similar quality with these features anywhere near this price, plus I kept getting the hard sell to upgrade which is very annoying!
As someone else mentioned, it really did smell a bit like hay in the first day or two, in a nice way, but it doesnt smell at all now.
I am very happy with it so far and will try to remember to post an update once I have had it a while, as I found it difficult to find enough reviews to make my decision. Others have indicated that the Ikea mattresses dont last that long, and nowhere near their 25 year warranty. However, my expensive sleepmaker also only lasted 8 years and I hear the same of other beds, so even if this one lasts about the same amount of time before needing replacement, I will save money

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Level

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.