Dormeo vs Symbol

Get The Best April 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Dormeo

Dormeo is a popular mattress brand in the UK and Europe with countless mattress offerings to choose from. They revolutionised the industry with their inclusion of the Octaspring all-foam coil, which provides targeted support while ensuring essential cooling and pressure relief. Since then, they have added pocket sprung and traditional all-foam varieties too. Customers generally like their mattresses, but there have been some complaints about durability.

Symbol

Symbol mattress company was founded in 1961, focused originally predominantly on commercial mattresses including mattresses for schools and health care facilities. Over the past few years, they have used their commercial backing to release consumer products through retailers in the Midwest, Northeast, and South Eastern U.S. They boast American made fabrics and manufacturing and use certified Certipur-US foam (which is low in volatile organic compounds) on some of their mattresses. Most customers like their mattresses at first, but there are some that experienced issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Dormeo in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Dormeo


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Dormeo: 8.7/10
Symbol: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Dormeo: 8.6/10
Symbol: 7.1/10

Price Value:
Dormeo: 8.1/10
Symbol: 7.1/10

No Back Pain:
Dormeo: 8.8/10
Symbol: 7.2/10

Price:
Dormeo: £99-£1549
Symbol: $189-$1259

Dormeo:
Get Yours Now

Symbol:
Get Yours Now

Dormeo's Owner Satisfaction

Input from customers is a powerful way to focus your list of potential mattresses to buy. These mattresses get high marks from customers, but some didn't agree with the feel. Found below are customer ratings and specifics on the mattresses -- learn on!

Dormeo's Supportiveness

These mattresses offer above average supportiveness, which is great when you've been looking for a mattress to support your spine. That said, there are some that have described a lack of support for them, so make sure to do some extra research on the firmness and whether it will work on your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is a useful indicator of resistance and support along the sides of the mattress. These mattresses do fine overall, but heavier folks may experience some contouring.

Dormeo's Durability

Reviewers provide mixed ratings about the durability of these mattresses. We all hope to find a mattress that remains cozy for 10 years or more, but unfortunately, not all of them will last as long as you hope. If a mattress with mixed feelings on durability is on your short list, make sure to do one last look at the warranty and return policies so you are protected.

Symbol's Owner Satisfaction

Customers don't always feel good about these mattresses. Some report feeling comfortable in their mattress, but there are others that have complaints. Due to this, it's harder to predict whether one of these will sleep perfectly for you. Continue reading below to learn if one of these mattresses will work for you.

Symbol's Supportiveness

Having a supportive mattress is key to having a good night sleep. These mattresses provide an above average amount of support for sleepers. It is important for those that have restless night sleeps from achy backs. Most folks report that these mattresses are supportive initially.

Edge Support
Edge support is the amount of resistance there is for sleepers along the sides versus the amount of support in the middle. These mattresses offer good edge support overall, but some may experience a slight contouring if they put too much pressure on the edge.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
By placing a bowling ball on the mattress, one can figure out mattress firmness. It is also a great test to see if there is evenness in support or if there are peaks and valleys. Overall, these mattresses will work well to provide even support.

Symbol's Durability

In addition to being well supported, having a long lasting mattress is what shoppers are looking for. We all are hopeful our mattress will last a decade or more and stay just as cozy as day one. Unfortunately, not all sleepers have felt that these mattresses were durable enought for them. If you are considering buying for nightly use, make sure to review the specs against your body type to make sure it will work for you.

Browse Dormeo Customer Reviews

Not as great as expected

Don't get me wrong, it is an okay mattress, but not the kind of mattress that I was really after. I got sold on their Octaspring tech, but in all it just makes weird bumbs in the mattress. I didn't feel as supported as I was before.

View More Reviews

Browse Symbol Customer Reviews

Symbol Mattress

We purchased our queen matress about a year ago. Loved it at first but now its broke down in the center. The place where u bought it tells me its not in warranty since i didnt buy the box springs with it. WELL I WASNT INFORMED OF THAT WHEN U PURCHASED IT or i would have got the box springs. Now im out 600 dollors on a 5 year warranty mattress. I will tell everyome i know about this. My company i work for purchases all its matresses from these people for campers. NOT ANYMORE

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.