Dormeo vs Stearns And Foster

Get The Best January 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Dormeo

Dormeo is a popular mattress brand in the UK and Europe with countless mattress offerings to choose from. They revolutionised the industry with their inclusion of the Octaspring all-foam coil, which provides targeted support while ensuring essential cooling and pressure relief. Since then, they have added pocket sprung and traditional all-foam varieties too. Customers generally like their mattresses, but there have been some complaints about durability.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy Posturpedic are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. But what do the consumers think?

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Dormeo in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Dormeo


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Dormeo: 8.7/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Dormeo: 8.6/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Dormeo: 8.1/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Dormeo: 8.8/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Dormeo: £99-£1549
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Dormeo:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Dormeo's Owner Satisfaction

Sleeper satisfaction isn't simple to get to the bottom of with plenty of brands doing work cleaning up their online reputation. That said, overall, customers report these mattresses are comfortable. There were a few complaints from customers that couldn't get comfy so look below to see if the mattress specifications will work for your body type!

Dormeo's Supportiveness

Having a supportive mattress is essential for having a good night's sleep. These mattresses do well in supporting folks at the beginning, but there are those that found their mattress less supportive. Take a look at the specifications and the reviews to make sure that these fit your body.

Edge Support
Most folks find edge support to be an important deciding factor on the feel of a mattress. These mattresses have okay edge support for most sleepers, but there may be more declining edges over time.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In tests that measure the density and supportiveness of the mattresses, supportiveness for these mattresses is fairly even. That said, there are some that have experienced issues with support over time.

Dormeo's Durability

Durable mattresses last anywhere between 7 - 12 years based on the materials. Foam mattresses are not as durable, but mattresses with high quality coils tend to last longer. That said, mattresses that don't have good durability will start sagging much quicker no matter the materials. These mattresses get mixed emotions from sleepers. Some find them to be comfortable for the long term, but others have had issues.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Sleepers don't always feel excellent about these mattresses. Some customers were happy with the way their new mattresse made them feel, but others reported being uncomfortable. Due to this, it is more difficult to predict whether one will work flawlessly for you. Read on to learn more about the specifics to find out if these mattresses will work for you.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

For stomach and back sleepers, a supportive mattress is essential. Side sleepers also need deeper support and a responsive mattress for their hips and shoulders. These mattresses are above average when it comes to support. Some, however, have reported issues with support so if you are heavier in body type, make sure your choice aligns with your body.

Edge Support
Most customers like the support in the edges of these mattresses. Over the long term, some had issues with dipping along the sides.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Unfortunately, these mattresses aren't appreciated as well for their durability. While some customers felt well supported, others describe problems with comfort over a short time. Make sure to take a look at the specifications, warranty, and reviews before buying.

Browse Dormeo Customer Reviews

Not as great as expected

Don't get me wrong, it is an okay mattress, but not the kind of mattress that I was really after. I got sold on their Octaspring tech, but in all it just makes weird bumbs in the mattress. I didn't feel as supported as I was before.

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Review from stephanie of Charlotte, NC

I am not accustomed to writing a negative review, especially after reading so many reviews that are positive; but please beware because you too could experience the same circumstances that we are currently experiencing. Unfortunately our experience with the Dartford Ultra Firm Mattress Set is not so positive; perhaps it is possible that we received a “substandard set”. At any rate, my husband and I saved and planned for this very expensive purchase for our retirement comfort and because we wanted a very high quality mattress. Additionally, before we made the decision we read numerous reviews, and we were convinced that this Stearns & Foster mattress would be the best for us. Well we’ve had our set for a little over one year and we have rotated it approximately twelve times just to keep it balanced, and still it has sags and there is a very conspicuous ridge in the middle of it.

We were informed that Macys has a very strong Customer Service satisfaction rate, so we contacted Macy’s regarding our experience and they advised us that an inspector would evaluate our concern and provide feedback to them. As we assumed it would be, the evaluation was not to our advantage. So it appears that the purchase that we thought would be very satisfactory especially given the reputation of Macys and Stearns & Foster, did not provide us with the value, quality and comfort that we expected Macys to stand behind. I would advise everyone to think twice about purchasing a mattress at this price point from Macys.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Level

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.