Custom Comfort vs Sleep Number

Get The Best September 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Custom Comfort

Custom Comfort is a southern Californian brand of mattresses -- selling in their retail locations. They are known for their wide range of options from budget friendly to luxury. Focused on hybrid and latex options, most folks report Custom Comfort mattresses to be comfortable, but some had issues with durability.

Sleep Number

Sleep Number has innovated over the years. What most people know them for is their firmness number technology that allows you to adjust the firmness on either side of the bed with the touch of a remote. However, over the last few years, they have launched more smart technology in their mattresses. This tech adds sleep tracking and automated adjustment as you sleep. While most sleepers find this technology very interesting, there are some complaints from customers about durability and long term comfort. Read on to drilldown into each of their mattresses.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Custom Comfort in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Custom Comfort: 7.8/10
Sleep Number: 7.5/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Custom Comfort: 7.8/10
Sleep Number: 7.4/10

Price Value:
Custom Comfort: 7.7/10
Sleep Number: 8.2/10

No Back Pain:
Custom Comfort: 7.7/10
Sleep Number: 8.5/10

Price:
Custom Comfort: $170-$26795
Sleep Number: $499-$7099

Custom Comfort:
Get Yours Now

Sleep Number:
Get Yours Now

Custom Comfort's Owner Satisfaction

Discovering how folks really feel about a certain mattress is sometimes a hard thing -- especially with some companies focusing heavily on protecting their reputation. These mattresses, sadly, don't get the highest reception from sleepers. There are still customers that are very satisfied, but many others who are not. Get more details on the specifics and hear from customers below.

Custom Comfort's Supportiveness

Customers report that these mattresses don't offer the kind of lasting support that some of the other brands may. Though most find these mattresses comfortable initally, if you have wide hips and shoulders, make sure to read the reviews before buying.

Edge Support
For those that are looking for long-term edge support, some report that these mattresses don't have the best edge support.

Custom Comfort's Durability

Finding a long lasting mattress is great, but it's not always that easy. Sadly, sleepers don't rate these mattresses well when it comes to durability. That said, some mattresses may last a significant time without problems, while other customers may have much faster discomfort. If you are a bigger person, make sure to take a look at all of your options.

Sleep Number's Owner Satisfaction

Some folks were very pleased with their mattresses, but others had issues. Despite those that love these mattresses, these mattresses have lower than average customer satisfaction. Read on if you are considering buying for more information on the mattresses.

Sleep Number's Supportiveness

For stomach and back sleepers, a supportive mattress is essential. Even side sleepers need gentle support to make sure their spines are aligned. These mattresses provide sleepers with above average supportiveness. Some, however, have reported issues with support so if you are heavier in body type, make sure your choice aligns with your body.

Edge Support
Most agree with the edge support of these mattresses. Some folks may experience some sagging when sitting or laying close to the edge.

Sleep Number's Durability

In addition to being well supported, having a long lasting mattress is what shoppers are looking for. We all really want to find a bed that will be comfy a decade or more later. Unfortunately, not all customers regard these mattresses highly overall on durability, and some have had some problems over the short term. If you are considering buying for nightly use, read over the reviews, warranty, and return policies to make sure that you are safe in your purchase.

Browse Custom Comfort Customer Reviews

We bought our very first

We bought our very first Custom Comfort California King mattress in 2005. Full Latex mattress which served us well for the last 12 years. Using the Flip and Spin method recommended by CC gave us many years of restful night sleeps.

View More Reviews

Browse Sleep Number Customer Reviews

Going with the C2 and adding my own bells and whistles

Very grateful for Candid Reviewer's advice. We were interested in the C2 after seeing the excellent rating it received from Consumer Reports, with high marks for durability, side and back sleeping. We went to the sleep number store, stuck to our plan and avoided being up- sold, and bought (on Amazon) both the recommended fiber topper and a gel topper to experiment with once the C2 arrives. We also are using our old metal frame with a queen-size bunkie board ($69), for a nice savings compared to the $300 foundation from sleep number. More $ for new sheets and bedding!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Level

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.