Custom Comfort vs Lucid

Get The Best September 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Custom Comfort

Custom Comfort is a southern Californian brand of mattresses -- selling in their retail locations. They are known for their wide range of options from budget friendly to luxury. Focused on hybrid and latex options, most folks report Custom Comfort mattresses to be comfortable, but some had issues with durability.

Lucid

Lucid mattresses have been selling mattresses online for the last seven years and they have a wide variety of gel memory foam, hybrid, and latex mattresses -- including a super thick 16 inch mattress. They offer a wide variety of mattress options that are low cost, which is preferred for budget-conscious shoppers. However, there are customers that have experienced some issues with sagging and durability over a shorter period than average, so these mattresses may be best only for temporary solutions.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Custom Comfort in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Custom Comfort: 7.8/10
Lucid: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Custom Comfort: 7.8/10
Lucid: 6.9/10

Price Value:
Custom Comfort: 7.7/10
Lucid: 7.3/10

No Back Pain:
Custom Comfort: 7.7/10
Lucid: 8.1/10

Price:
Custom Comfort: $170-$26795
Lucid: $375-$1000

Custom Comfort:
Get Yours Now

Lucid:
Get Yours Now

Custom Comfort's Owner Satisfaction

Using customer reviews as a guide can be great for discerning shoppers. Sleepers, regrettably, don't always repond positively towards these mattresses. Some have comfortable experiences, but others have issues. If you are considering, make sure to read on to figure out if one of these mattresses will work for you.

Custom Comfort's Supportiveness

Firmness isn't the same as support. A well supportive mattress aligns the spine and leads to healthy sleep. Sadly, not everyone thinks these mattresses are truly supportive. Most customers are happy with the support right after purchase, but some have had issues with support over the long term.

Edge Support
For those with mobility concerns or like to lay close to the side of the mattress, edge support is very important. These mattresses do a good job at edge support initially, but some may find that it changes over time.

Custom Comfort's Durability

Finding a long lasting mattress is great, but it's not always that easy. These mattresses are reported by customers to be not as durable as others. That said, some mattresses may last a significant time without problems, while other mattresses may become uncomfortable faster. If you are bigger in body type, take a look at the reviews before purchasing.

Lucid's Owner Satisfaction

If you are thinking about this brand, learn more about the specifics below. Sadly, they don't get the best reception from all customers. Some have had great things to say about how their mattresses work for them, but many others have had complaints about feel.

Lucid's Supportiveness

These mattresses may not be the best of the batch in terms of support. Though there are some who like the response of these mattresses, others have had issues with spine alignment. If you like these mattresses, make sure to look at the specifications to make sure it will agree with your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is a popular measure for those that like to sit on the edge of their mattress. Others don't really feel its that big of a deal as long as they are comfy sleeping. Overall these mattresses aren't as supportive over the long term so if edge support is important, make sure to do extra research.

Lucid's Durability

These mattresses may not provide the kind of lasting comfort that you want. Some sleepers have had problems with feel and durability over a shorter than average time. If you are search for longevity in a mattress and would consider yourself to have a larger body type, one of these mattresses may provide initial comfort, but make sure to brush up on the warranty and return policy before buying.

Browse Custom Comfort Customer Reviews

We bought our very first

We bought our very first Custom Comfort California King mattress in 2005. Full Latex mattress which served us well for the last 12 years. Using the Flip and Spin method recommended by CC gave us many years of restful night sleeps.

View More Reviews

Browse Lucid Customer Reviews

Fantastic delivery.

Fantastic delivery.....the mattress arrived in two days. We laid the mattress out on the platform for the bed and patiently waited the 48 hours for the mattress to expand. This 10'' mattress expanded to 9 1/4'' on one side and 9 5/8'' on the other side which, although is less than a 1/2'' differential, means that the mattress is not level. This also means that the mattress does not fill up its cover, which is intended for the full 10''. I scoured foam mattress websites and this mattress was advertised to be 'medium firm' and is the firmest mattress Lucid offers. Unfortunately, the mattress really isn't all that firm at all. It's a fine mattress if you don't mind the baggy cover and a spongy mattress.

We have a double mattress made by Dormia, which is firm and we like. We were trying to find that mattress again, but couldn't seem to find it. After reading all the product literature we could find, we thought this was the right mattress.

I'm trying to return it, but, of course, this mattress that expands after the box is opened will not fit in the box it arrived in. I'm having difficulty returning it because it needs to be returned in the box it came in.....

On the other hand.... I finally was able to return the mattress (which was no easy task packaging, etc, and we had to bundle it and wrap it in plastic) and Amazon was great and timely in issuing a refund.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Level

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.