Craftmatic vs Ortho

Get The Best Holiday 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Craftmatic

Craftmatic, made famous by their long-running TV commercials and infomercials, is the maker of adjustable beds (both mattresses and bases). Their business started in 1974 marketing adjustable bases and expanded to offer both mattresses and multiple lines of adjustable bases. They offer a selection of mattresses from memory foam to traditional innerspring and hybrid mattresses to go along with their adjustable bases. Their bases can be adjusted straight from a wireless remote control and they also offer a selection of additional ammenities on some of their beds, such as USB and power ports.

Ortho

Ortho mattress is a southern Californian mattress retailer that sells their own brand of mattresses along with name brands like Serta and Tempur-Pedic. Their mattresses are made predominantly for the budget conscious shopper and come in either innerspring, hybrid, or memory foam options. Most folks like their Ortho mattresses, but some have had issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Craftmatic in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Craftmatic


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Craftmatic: 8.8/10
Ortho: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Craftmatic: 8.8/10
Ortho: 7.3/10

Price Value:
Craftmatic: 8.7/10
Ortho: 7.4/10

No Back Pain:
Craftmatic: 8.6/10
Ortho: 7.3/10

Price:
Craftmatic: $1800-$6000
Ortho: $149-$2539

Craftmatic:
Get Yours Now

Ortho:
Get Yours Now

Craftmatic's Owner Satisfaction

With brands investing in managing online reputation, it's difficult for the average shopper to get to the truth of customer satisfaction. That said, overall, these mattresses are reviewed well by sleepers. However, there were a few complaints from customers that didn't feel as cozy so make sure to research the below specifics to learn if this mattress will work for you!

Craftmatic's Supportiveness

Having a supportive mattress is key to having a good night sleep. These mattresses perform above average in terms of support. This is important if you don't have a supportive sleeping surface right now. Most folks report that these mattresses are supportive initially.

Edge Support
Edge support is how much support there is on the sides of the mattress versus the middle. These mattresses provide solid edge support overall, but some may experience sinking or contouring along the edge of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball and density tests are good measures of mattress firmness. It is also a great test for measuring evenness of support across the surface. Overall, these mattresses will give a good amount of evenness of support.

Craftmatic's Durability

Getting a durable mattress is essential to shoppers, but some companies are not as focused on the longevity of mattresses as they should be. The nice thing is that these mattresses are better than average when it comes to durability. Most folks are still comfy in their mattress after 5 years, but some heavier folks may find that it breaks down faster for them.

Ortho's Owner Satisfaction

If you are thinking about buying one of these mattresses, read more below for added specifics. Sadly, they don't get the best reception from all customers. Some were extremely happy with their purchase, but many others were not as excited.

Ortho's Supportiveness

There are mixed feelings from customers about the longevity of support of these mattresses. Though many find these mattresses comfy initially, if you are larger or have wide hips or shoulders, do some added dilligence before purchasing.

Edge Support
For customers looking for good edge support, some report that these mattresses don't have the best edge support.

Ortho's Durability

Finding a mattress that is highly durable is the best, and when our mattress starts to hurt our backs after a few months, we feel swindled. However, now more than ever, it is getting harder to find lasting comfort. With more choices than ever, many companies are sacrificing quality to make a quick dollar. With these mattresses specifically, some sleepers report problems with lasting comfort. It doesn't mean that durability issues will happen to you if you buy one of these, but make sure to read up on the warranty and return policies before buying.

Browse Craftmatic Customer Reviews

Great service

The service at Craftmatic is superb. I was treated from the moment I called the number on TV. The bed was delivered and I have been able to watch TV and knit in bed as my husband sleeps. No complaints here!

View More Reviews

Browse Ortho Customer Reviews

Great experience buying a mattress

Great experience buying a mattress. Knowledgeable, helpful, and not sales-y at all. There's a huge selection, but Johnny was able to help us narrow it down quickly based on our preferences and needs. Prices are reasonable (especially when you buy when there's a deal going on). We made our purchase at the end of the day, and the mattress was delivered (free) the next day without a hitch. Highly recommend!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.