Craftmatic vs Ikea

Get The Best July 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Craftmatic

Craftmatic, made famous by their long-running TV commercials and infomercials, is the maker of adjustable beds (both mattresses and bases). Their business started in 1974 marketing adjustable bases and expanded to offer both mattresses and multiple lines of adjustable bases. They offer a selection of mattresses from memory foam to traditional innerspring and hybrid mattresses to go along with their adjustable bases. Their bases can be adjusted straight from a wireless remote control and they also offer a selection of additional ammenities on some of their beds, such as USB and power ports.

Ikea

IKEA, the low price furniture store also offers mattresses that you can pick up in store or have delivered. They offer a selection of foam, latex-blend, and spring mattresses for the price conscious shopper. Those looking for a deal for the materials used find their mattresses compelling for their lower prices, but there are many that describe durability and firmness issues with their mattresses that lead to discomfort or poor sleep.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Craftmatic in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Craftmatic


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Craftmatic: 8.8/10
Ikea: 7.1/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Craftmatic: 8.8/10
Ikea: 7.1/10

Price Value:
Craftmatic: 8.7/10
Ikea: 8.9/10

No Back Pain:
Craftmatic: 8.6/10
Ikea: 7.5/10

Price:
Craftmatic: $1800-$6000
Ikea: $89-$1199

Craftmatic:
Get Yours Now

Ikea:
Get Yours Now

Craftmatic's Owner Satisfaction

With brands doing lots of work on their online reputation, it's pretty hard for an average shopper to get to the bottom of customer satisfaction. That said, overall, these mattresses are reviewed well by sleepers. However, there were some complaints from sleepers that didn't feel as comfortable. so research more below to consider your body type with the mattress specifications!

Craftmatic's Supportiveness

Mattress support helps with aligning the back and making sure that things are comfortable for years to come. These mattresses provide solid support for most folks, but there are some cases where folks haven't felt 100% supported.

Edge Support
Edge support is a popular metric of success for mattress makers and for those that spend lots of time sitting on the edge of their bed. These mattresses are well regarded for edge support, but some who are heavier may experience some extra contouring when sitting

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Bowling ball tests are good measures of firmness and support. These mattresses do a great job at providing support for most customers, but there are some that mention issues with even support long term.

Craftmatic's Durability

Every mattress buyer is looking for a mattress that will continue to sleep comfortably after a decade. Though there might be some factors, like our bodies, that would mean that we would still want to a new mattress after 15 years, we all hope we can find a mattress that can last that long. These mattresses are competitive when it comes to durability. Most customers will find they last over 7 years, but some have reported not loving the overall feel. If you are a heavier person and concerned about longevity, make sure to review the specification before buying.

Ikea's Owner Satisfaction

Some sleepers are comfortable with their new beds, but others were not as satisfied with how the mattress made them feel. Despite those that love these mattresses, these mattresses have lower than average customer satisfaction. Read on below for more information about these mattresses.

Ikea's Supportiveness

Most customers report these mattresses to be supportive of their bodies, but others didn't always agree with the feel. For those that are heavier folks, take a look at the firmness ratings before buying as you'll want to make sure that your body is perfectly aligned.

Edge Support
For those that like to sit on the side of the mattress, these mattresses support most folks with good edge support. However, some have reported some issues over the long term so make sure to review before purchasing.

Ikea's Durability

Getting a mattress which has lasting comfort is what buyers are after. We all are hopeful our mattress will last a decade or more and stay just as cozy as day one. Unfortunately, not all sleepers have felt that these mattresses were durable enought for them. If you are thinking about buying and using full time, do some research on the reviews and return policy before purchasing.

Browse Craftmatic Customer Reviews

Great service

The service at Craftmatic is superb. I was treated from the moment I called the number on TV. The bed was delivered and I have been able to watch TV and knit in bed as my husband sleeps. No complaints here!

View More Reviews

Browse Ikea Customer Reviews

great so far

I also have had lower back issues for a few months, especially in the morning, and I think it is because my 8yo sleepmaker pillowtop mattress had 'hammocked'. I tried adding a memory foam mattress pad to extend its life, but that didnt really work - it just felt like being partly buried in a softer hammock.
The Hesseng mattress is very firm, as others have mentioned, but using the mattress pad (its also ikea - tussoy) on it I find it really comfortable and supportive. I havent tried it without the mattress pad, but I think it would be okay. After only two sleeps, my back definitely feels a bit better this morning
I chose the Hesseng because it has good quality materials, zoned pocket coils and no pillowtop. I didnt want a pillow top because they get sink holes, so I wanted to be able to replace the mattress pad rather than the whole mattress when the mattress pad fails.
I checked out lots of mattress shops but couldnt get a mattress of similar quality with these features anywhere near this price, plus I kept getting the hard sell to upgrade which is very annoying!
As someone else mentioned, it really did smell a bit like hay in the first day or two, in a nice way, but it doesnt smell at all now.
I am very happy with it so far and will try to remember to post an update once I have had it a while, as I found it difficult to find enough reviews to make my decision. Others have indicated that the Ikea mattresses dont last that long, and nowhere near their 25 year warranty. However, my expensive sleepmaker also only lasted 8 years and I hear the same of other beds, so even if this one lasts about the same amount of time before needing replacement, I will save money

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Level

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.