Comfortaire vs Stearns And Foster

Get The Best July 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Comfortaire

Comfortaire made the original adjustable air-supported bed before a former employee went off to found Select Comfort, the makers of Sleep Number, which later acquired Comfortaire in 2013. Today, Comfortaire mattresses are sold throughout the US in select comfort Sleep Number store fronts and online. The difference between Sleep Number and Comfortaire is one of overall selection and technology. It is not doubt that the Sleep Number is Select Comfort's flagship brand, but Comfortaire offer a wider selection of options in their memory foam and latex -- and are low in VOCs from using Certipur materials.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy brands are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. With luxury craftsmanship and high profile hybrid designs, most customers find pillowy comfort with these mattresses at first. However, over the years, there have also been reports of durability concerns from customers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Comfortaire in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Comfortaire: 8.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Comfortaire: 8.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Comfortaire: 6.8/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Comfortaire: 8.9/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Comfortaire: $1172-$7309
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Comfortaire:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Comfortaire's Owner Satisfaction

With customer data, it is easier to understand if a mattress will work for you. That said, it is sometimes difficult to stay focused with all of the reviews from countless brands. These mattresses have received some mixed emotions from customers. Some are excited about their new mattress, but others are not very happy.

Comfortaire's Supportiveness

These mattresses are above average when it comes to support. Though these mattresses aren't as supportive as a select few folks would like, the majority of folks feel like there is the right amount of support for their bodies.

Edge Support
Edge support is very important for folks that face mobility issues or like to lie close to the side of the mattress. These mattresses do well on their edge support and they should be able to be comfortable for most customers.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is a nice way to measure mattress firmness and support. These mattresses provide above average evenness in support across the surface, which means they should work well to align the spine of your body.

Comfortaire's Durability

Unfortunately, these mattresse are not always rated well for durability. While some sleepers reported feeling comfortable, others describe problems with comfort over a short time. Take a look at the specifications of the mattress, warranty, and return policies before buying if you are considering.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

If you are considering one of these mattresses, make sure to read on for more information. Sadly, not all customers review them well overall. Some folks were cozy in their new mattress, but others reported trouble getting comfortable.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

Stomach and back sleepers need tons of support from their mattresses. Also, having good support that aligns the spine is a must-have for side sleepers. These mattresses provide sleepers with above average supportiveness. However, others had problems with the support so if you have a heavy build, make sure to review the specifications.

Edge Support
Most customers like the support in the edges of these mattresses. But, some heavier customers may experience some dipping close to the edges.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Durability is one of the most important attributes to finding a mattress. We all want to find a mattress that is just as cozy as it was day 1 on day 1001. However, sadly these mattresses are not rated very well by sleepers on longevity and some have experienced issues after only a short time. If you are considering buying for nightly use, read over the specs and policies to make sure it will work for you.

Browse Comfortaire Customer Reviews

Good air bed

Purchased in 2009. Bed started to leak in 2012. It was a great mattress for 3 years, but then started to leak. After contacting customer service twice, they agreed to send out a replacement air compartment, at no cost to me, even though it was a little outside of the 2-year, pro-rated warranty. If you like the support and consistency of an air mattress, this is the way to go. More economical than some of the other air bed companies.

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Finally experienced Sleep-full Bliss

Was really considering the new Foam/Gel topped mattresses, just because that is the "new" marketing for mattresses. My wife and I narrowed it down to the Stearns and Foster Reserve Firm and the Sealy Kelburn II. I was so ready for new a mattress as my lower back was always sore each morning. We went back into store and tried the two mattresses and she said I like the Stearns and Foster. I was hoping she'd say the Sealy Hyrbid but I actually felt a traditional style mattress was the best choice. Boy am I glad she chose the Stearns and Foster. THe bed arrived the next day in great condition, we let it air out from the packaging and put on a new mattress protector/topper. She added a little spray of fresh cotton scent to the topper and when we fell into bed that evening, it was bliss. We woke up Sunday morning, actually earlier than we normally do and both said....that is weird, we slept 7 hours and it feels like we slept 10.....and I had no sore back. We just laid there for couple more hours and enjoyed each others company. The Firm mattress is still very soft and with the light topper that carries a bit of filling it, it works perfect for the both of us. I weigh ~180 and the wife is ~120 One of the best purchasing decisions we ever made.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.