Get The Best August 2022 Mattress Deals! Unlock Today's Coupons

Comfortaire vs. Sleep Number

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Comfortaire

Comfortaire made the original adjustable air-supported bed before a former employee went off to found Select Comfort, the makers of Sleep Number, which later acquired Comfortaire in 2013. Today, Comfortaire mattresses are sold throughout the US in select comfort Sleep Number store fronts and online. The difference between Sleep Number and Comfortaire is one of overall selection and technology. It is not doubt that the Sleep Number is Select Comfort's flagship brand, but Comfortaire offer a wider selection of options in their memory foam and latex -- and are low in VOCs from using Certipur materials.

Sleep Number

Sleep Number has innovated over the years, from their firmness number technology and now their smart mattress and anti-snore features. With more smart technology than ever before such as sleep tracking and automatic adjustments of temperature and firmness, most sleepers find the Sleep Number 360 mattresses very interesting. However, durability is a concern for many customers with reports of some components wearing out faster than expected given the high prices.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Comfortaire in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Comfortaire: 8.3/10
Sleep Number: 7.5/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Comfortaire: 8.2/10
Sleep Number: 7.4/10

Price Value:
Comfortaire: 6.8/10
Sleep Number: 8.2/10

No Back Pain:
Comfortaire: 8.9/10
Sleep Number: 8.5/10

Price:
Comfortaire: $1172-$7309
Sleep Number: $699-$11098

Comfortaire:
Get Yours Now

Sleep Number:
Get Yours Now

Comfortaire's Owner Satisfaction

We all want to see how customers respond before we invest a lot of money in an expensive product. That said, it is sometimes more tedious to understand the whole layout after browsing many brands. In our investigation of reviews and sentiment from customers, we discovered that sleepers give these mattresses above average scores. However, there is some mixed feedback Make sure to read on for added specifics.

Comfortaire's Supportiveness

These mattresses are good at support. Though some folks don't totally like the firmness levels of these mattresses, most reviewers like the amount of support these mattresses possess.

Edge Support
Edge support is important for those that need extra time getting out of bed or roll towards the edge of the mattress at night. These mattresses are well rated by most on edge support and they should supportive enough for most customers.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Many folks like to use bowling balls to measure mattress firmness and support. These mattresses do well at providing even support throughout the mattress, which means they should work well to align the spine of your body.

Comfortaire's Durability

We all want a mattress that is going to last over a decade, and when our mattress causes us back pain after only a few months, we feel terrible However, it is getting more and more difficult to find a durable mattress nowadays. With more companies than ever, companies fighting for profit at the demise of quality. In terms of these mattresses, some sleepers report durability concerns. Longevity issues aren't a guarantee, but make sure sure that you read up on the specifications to make sure your choice works for you.

Sleep Number's Owner Satisfaction

Getting to the bottom of customer reviews can be a relief when digging through all the noise when shopping for a mattress. Sadly, customers don't always feel comfortable with these mattresses. Some are happy with the feel and comfort of their mattress, but others complain about how it feels for them. There are more details below to study if you are considering buying.

Sleep Number's Supportiveness

Most customers describe these mattresses as providing good support, but others didn't always enjoy the feel. For those that are bigger than average, take a look at the firmness levels and overall specs as you'll want to make sure that this adequately supports your body and your spine.

Edge Support
For those that like to lay down by the side of the mattress, most reviewers describe the mattresses as being supportive on the edges. That said, some have had complaints so make sure to review more.

Sleep Number's Durability

These mattresses may not be as long-living as you'd like. Some reviewers have had complaints regarding durability and comfort over a short horizon. If you have a larger body frame and are hoping for something with longevity, these mattresses may comfort you initially, but make sure to brush up on the warranty and return policy before buying.

Browse Comfortaire Customer Reviews

Good air bed

Purchased in 2009. Bed started to leak in 2012. It was a great mattress for 3 years, but then started to leak. After contacting customer service twice, they agreed to send out a replacement air compartment, at no cost to me, even though it was a little outside of the 2-year, pro-rated warranty. If you like the support and consistency of an air mattress, this is the way to go. More economical than some of the other air bed companies.

View More Reviews

Browse Sleep Number Customer Reviews

Going with the C2 and adding my own bells and whistles

Very grateful for Candid Reviewer's advice. We were interested in the C2 after seeing the excellent rating it received from Consumer Reports, with high marks for durability, side and back sleeping. We went to the sleep number store, stuck to our plan and avoided being up- sold, and bought (on Amazon) both the recommended fiber topper and a gel topper to experiment with once the C2 arrives. We also are using our old metal frame with a queen-size bunkie board ($69), for a nice savings compared to the $300 foundation from sleep number. More $ for new sheets and bedding!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Brooklyn Bedding

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.