Comfortaire vs Signature Sleep

Get The Best April 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Comfortaire

Comfortaire made the original adjustable air-supported bed before a former employee went off to found Select Comfort, the makers of Sleep Number, which later acquired Comfortaire in 2013. Today, Comfortaire mattresses are sold throughout the US in select comfort Sleep Number store fronts and online. The difference between Sleep Number and Comfortaire is one of overall selection and technology. It is not doubt that the Sleep Number is Select Comfort's flagship brand, but Comfortaire offer a wider selection of options in their memory foam and latex -- and are low in VOCs from using Certipur materials.

Signature Sleep

Signature Sleep provides a direct to consumer mattress through its online and retail partners. You can find their products on popular sites like Amazon, Walmart, Overstock, and more. Their claim to fame is affordability with many larger size mattresses selling for under $500. If you are on a really tight budget and need something temporary, you may be intrigued by this brand, but there have been reports about quality issues and durability problems with some of these mattresses.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Comfortaire in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Comfortaire: 8.3/10
Signature Sleep: 7.5/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Comfortaire: 8.2/10
Signature Sleep: 6.5/10

Price Value:
Comfortaire: 6.8/10
Signature Sleep: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Comfortaire: 8.9/10
Signature Sleep: 6.8/10

Price:
Comfortaire: $1172-$7309
Signature Sleep: $79-$749

Comfortaire:
Get Yours Now

Signature Sleep:
Get Yours Now

Comfortaire's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews are a great way to figure out if a mattress will work for you. However, there are a lot of other brands out there competing for your attention. Customers report feeling both positively and negatively about these mattresses. Some are ecstatic about their new mattress, but others are less pleased.

Comfortaire's Supportiveness

Overall, mattress support is important for spinal alignment and deep comfort of a long horizon. Most sleepers report that these mattresses offer good support, but some customers have reported not feeling 100% supported all the time.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important attribute for solid mattresses and for those with mobility issues. These mattresses are well regarded for edge support, but some heavier folks may find there is a slight dip along the side.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Bowling ball tests are good indicators of firmness as well as support. These mattresses are supportive overall, but some folks may experience issues with support long term.

Comfortaire's Durability

Long lasting mattresses are wonderful, but not always simple to discover. These mattresses are reported by customers to be not as durable as others. That said, some mattresses may last a significantly long time without issue, while other mattresses may break down faster. If you have a wider frame than average, make sure to do some more research because you may be at a higher risk for durability issues.

Signature Sleep's Owner Satisfaction

If you are thinking about this one, do more research below to learn if this mattress will work for you. Unfortunately, they get poor ratings from some customers. Some folks were cozy in their new mattress, but others reported trouble getting comfortable.

Signature Sleep's Supportiveness

Having a supportive mattress is the key to a healthy night's sleep. You don't want something that is going to sink and cause your back to curve rather than straighten. Customers report that these mattresses support the spine well.

Edge Support
Edge support is one of the most important things to folks with mobility issues or enjoy sitting on the side of the mattress. These mattresses do a good job with edge support and don't contour too much on the edges.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
A popular item among readers, the bowling ball test does a good job showing firmness and contouring, but also evenness of support. If a mattress has lumpy support, some may find the mattress uncomfortable. However, these mattresses are rated well and shouldn't have that issue.

Signature Sleep's Durability

Unfortunately, customers don't always love the durability of these mattresses. While some have experienced good performance, others describe problems with comfort over a short time. If you are thinking about buying, read up on the return and warranty policies beforehand.

Browse Comfortaire Customer Reviews

Good air bed

Purchased in 2009. Bed started to leak in 2012. It was a great mattress for 3 years, but then started to leak. After contacting customer service twice, they agreed to send out a replacement air compartment, at no cost to me, even though it was a little outside of the 2-year, pro-rated warranty. If you like the support and consistency of an air mattress, this is the way to go. More economical than some of the other air bed companies.

View More Reviews

Browse Signature Sleep Customer Reviews

You Get What You Pay...Cheap is Cheap.

BUYER BEWARE! The reviews on this are highly inaccurate. I bought mine in the middle of April and am going to be very honest...this mattress does NOT live up to the hype. For the money, it's worth the buy but for the quality it's worth the wait if using all the time.

Good:
Mattress was delivered timely in a box and easily set itself up after we "opened" it.
Mattress was good to sleep on nightly for about 3 months.
Mattress is durable and handles dogs.

Bad:
Mattress had a funny smell(to be expected) for about 72 hours.
Mattress started to "lose" it's firmness and had a sinking feeling upon laying on it after 3 months.
Mattress is now the cause of many aches and pains.

Do buy this if you need a quest room mattress. Do NOT buy this if you plan on sleeping on it every night and need something semi-firm. If you like the soft sinking feeling, this could be a great buy. However, if you're like me and have lower back issues, do not buy this. As with anything, you pay for what you get. I didn't expect much out of a $300 mattress and I didn't get much. I gave it three stars because it's only worth three stars. This is NOT a 5 star buy unless you just need a guest room mattress.

The photo that I've attached is me pressing down with an outstretched hand and I am crouching so that none of my body weight is on top of it. The compression resulting is deep and shows the mattress is cheap.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.