Cocoon vs Purple

Get an Instant Discount for Cocoon $75 Off With Code SAVE75

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Cocoon

Cocoon by Sealy is Sealy's answer to the disruptive mattress in a box brands that have been so popular over the past two years. They offer two mattresses, both a variety of memory foams, a 'Chill' version and a regular version with a soft and a firm version. Through their massive brand awareness and mattress industry connections, it is no doubt that some of the disrupters are concerned about their mattress in a box entry.

Purple

If you haven't heard of Purple, you're about to! There may be something to their name too -- the top of their mattress is a super lightweight and comfortable polymer that is purple. It uses a 'smart grid' technology to keep things cool and also to relieve joint pain and pressure points. Overall, it runs a bit less firm than other memory foam, but hardly soft and it has a nice bounce that somehow doesn't transfer.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Purple in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Purple

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Cocoon: 8.9/10
Purple: 9.4/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Cocoon: 8.9/10
Purple: 9.3/10

Price Value:
Cocoon: 8.8/10
Purple: 9.4/10

No Back Pain:
Cocoon: 8.7/10
Purple: 9.2/10

Price:
Cocoon: $399-$1149
Purple: $699-$1299

Cocoon:
$75 Off With Code SAVE75

Purple:
Get Yours Now

Browse Cocoon Reviews

Highly recommend this mattress

At first, I was skeptical about memory foam. We have been using a pillow top mattress for years, and seldom used anything else. Me and my husband have consequently been suffering from back pain for years, and realized a change was long overdue. When we received the mattress, it was rolled up and vacuum sealed in a box, so my first impression was that it would be too thin to fit our bed. But, after removing the plastic wrap and waiting not even 10 minutes, it expanded tremendously, and was very entertaining for my children. I initially thought that the mattress would be too soft for us, but the bed contains just enough firmness to be comfortable, yet just enough softness to create envy from my family whenever they sit on it (which is very often!). After the first week in years with much less back pains and a full nights sleep, we knew that we'd never look back. This is a mattress that pays for itself, and a purchase that will not be wished away. I highly recommend Cocoon by Sealy. 5 stars all around!

View More Reviews

Browse Purple Reviews

Simply a fantastic mattress.

Simply a fantastic mattress. A coworker sent me a link for this mattress when I mentioned I would soon be in the market for a new one. The website was informative, the videos were catchy. They were sold out at the time I first browsed the site, but I signed up for email notification of availability. A few weeks later, the email came, saying the product was available. The order was placed and a 2-3 week lead time was announced. By the end of the 3rd week, the product was delivered by UPS to my doorstep as promised. That poor UPS man! The king size version weighs in at 140lbs. Manageable for 2 people, but a bit unwieldy for only one!

The safety cutter provided was a bit on the flimsy side... not making it all the way through the needed cuts to free the mattress, but once open, the mattress was easily positioned on the bed and the sheets were put on.

The first few nights tooks some adjustment from a conventional mattress, but after one weeks time... I've never slept better! There's no getting hot as with a memory foam mattress. For people that move around in their sleep... the squishy top layer immediately responds to your motion... so you're not left to lay in an indention that no longer fits the new position of your body. I'm waiting up early... often 20-30 minutes before my alarm and I'm much better rested upon waking.

I HIGHLY recommend you give this product a try. With their no-risk, money back offering... it's a no-risk deal. (photo credit to my darling wife - she couldn't wait to share on her social media platforms).

I won't be sending mine back... and may consider springing for another in my guest bed!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Sapira Sleep

Amore

Bear Mattress

Leesa

Tomorrow

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.