Cocoon vs Classic Brands

Get an Instant Discount for Cocoon $75 Off With Code SAVE75

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Cocoon

Cocoon by Sealy is Sealy's answer to the disruptive mattress in a box brands that have been so popular over the past two years. They offer two mattresses, both a variety of memory foams, a 'Chill' version and a regular version with a soft and a firm version. Through their massive brand awareness and mattress industry connections, it is no doubt that some of the disrupters are concerned about their mattress in a box entry.

Classic Brands

Classic Brands offers a variety of mattresses including memory foam, hybrid, innerspring, and latex options. Overall, one of their big differentiators is there wide variety of products that you can buy. They offer their products in many low price online retailers including Amazon, Jet, Walmart, Overstock, and Wayfair. Also, you may find them in Macy's and Home Depot.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Cocoon in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Cocoon


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Cocoon: 8.9/10
Classic Brands: 8.6/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Cocoon: 8.9/10
Classic Brands: 8.6/10

Price Value:
Cocoon: 8.8/10
Classic Brands: 8.9/10

No Back Pain:
Cocoon: 8.7/10
Classic Brands: 8.5/10

Price:
Cocoon: $399-$1149
Classic Brands: $139-$1299

Cocoon:
$75 Off With Code SAVE75

Classic Brands:
Get Yours Now

Browse Cocoon Reviews

Highly recommend this mattress

At first, I was skeptical about memory foam. We have been using a pillow top mattress for years, and seldom used anything else. Me and my husband have consequently been suffering from back pain for years, and realized a change was long overdue. When we received the mattress, it was rolled up and vacuum sealed in a box, so my first impression was that it would be too thin to fit our bed. But, after removing the plastic wrap and waiting not even 10 minutes, it expanded tremendously, and was very entertaining for my children. I initially thought that the mattress would be too soft for us, but the bed contains just enough firmness to be comfortable, yet just enough softness to create envy from my family whenever they sit on it (which is very often!). After the first week in years with much less back pains and a full nights sleep, we knew that we'd never look back. This is a mattress that pays for itself, and a purchase that will not be wished away. I highly recommend Cocoon by Sealy. 5 stars all around!

View More Reviews

Browse Classic Brands Reviews

This is the best mattress for the best price

There are reviews here for both the Classic Brands 11'' and 14''. This is for the 14'' Cool Gel. For years we slept on a traditional inner spring mattress with memory foam topper for comfort. I found that the memory foam traps heat. So while the topper made the mattress more comfortable, the heat was unbearable. We bought a Sealy memory foam mattress for our guest bedroom. I found it more comfortable than the old inner spring, but a bit too firm and too hot. The Classic Brands Cool Gel Ultimate 14'' Plush was the answer. As plush as an inner spring pillow top, but without the eventually troublesome springs that soon cause lumpy mattress syndrome. And, the cool gel works - keeping the mattress from overheating. I e-mailed Classic Brands before the purchase, asking them about foam density. I had read to avoid the low density memory foams as they don't hold up well. Classic responded quickly that they use 2'' of 4 lb cool gel memory foam on top on 2'' of 4 lb memory foam. The article I read recommended 4 lb foam and that sealed the deal for me. The mattress was made in China and Amazon estimated 1-3 months for delivery. We got it in 3 weeks. When I saw the box sitting on my patio where the delivery man left it, I was horrified. The box was badly damaged and the plastic inner cover was ripped open. These things are tightly compacted and rolled for shipping and once unwrapped expand from a few inches thick to the full 14''. Since the inner wrapper was torn, one end of the bed had already begun to expand. With one end still compressed, this thing looked like a giant mushroom. I contacted Classic and they said to inspect the cover and the foam for damage. If the foam was not damaged, we could keep the mattress and they would send a new cover if needed, or we could exchange it for a new one. The cover was smudged and the foam seemed undamaged, so we unwrapped it. Soon, the mattress had expanded to it's full 14''. We put it in the living room, under the windows for a day to expand. The chemical/foam smell was strong but dissipated after a day or so. Then we moved it to our bedroom and were able to clean the smudges from the cover. Despite the horrible package/shipping, the bed seemed in good condition. But the best part is sleeping on it. It's the perfect combination of firm-enough support and plush, soft comfort. And the cool gel really does work.. For the first time in a long time, I didn't wake up in the middle of the night overheated. When morning came, I got out of bed without the accustomed aches and pains. And my wife loved it as well from the first night sleeping on it. It comes with 2 cool gel memory foam pillows, which are quite firm compared to the old feather pillows I was used too. By putting an old feather pillow on top of the foam pillow, I got the perfect combination of firm support and plush comfort - just like the mattress, with no overheating. Very impressed with the responsiveness/communication from Classic Brands.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Sapira Sleep

Amore

Bear Mattress

Leesa

Tomorrow

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.