Get The Best September 2021 Mattress Deals! Unlock Today's Coupons

Classic Brands vs. Sleep Number

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Classic Brands

Classic Brands offers a variety of mattresses including memory foam, hybrid, innerspring, and latex options. Overall, one of their big differentiators is there wide variety of products that you can buy. They offer their products in many low price online retailers including Amazon, Jet, Walmart, Overstock, and Wayfair. Also, you may find them in Macy's and Home Depot.

Sleep Number

Sleep Number has innovated over the years, from their firmness number technology and now their smart mattress and anti-snore features. With more smart technology than ever before such as sleep tracking and automatic adjustments of temperature and firmness, most sleepers find the Sleep Number 360 mattresses very interesting. However, durability is a concern for many customers with reports of some components wearing out faster than expected given the high prices.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Classic Brands in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Classic Brands: 8.6/10
Sleep Number: 7.5/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Classic Brands: 8.6/10
Sleep Number: 7.4/10

Price Value:
Classic Brands: 8.9/10
Sleep Number: 8.2/10

No Back Pain:
Classic Brands: 8.5/10
Sleep Number: 8.5/10

Price:
Classic Brands: $139-$1299
Sleep Number: $699-$11098

Classic Brands:
Get Yours Now

Sleep Number:
Get Yours Now

Classic Brands's Owner Satisfaction

By reading customer reviews, you can pinpoint the right mattresses for you. Customers review these mattresses highly, but some didn't like the feel as much. Below is a list of customer reviews and specifics on the feel of these mattresses -- research on to make sure one of these works for you!

Classic Brands's Supportiveness

Most reviewers feel well supported by these mattresses, but others didn't always agree with the feel. For those that have larger body types or wide hips or shoulders, make sure to read all of the reviews and specifications as you'll want to ensure that you're adequately supported.

Edge Support
For those that want to be able to sit on the side of their mattress in the morning, most folks will be comfortable with the support from these mattresses. However, some have had some issues so if you have mobility issues, make sure to review more.

Classic Brands's Durability

Mattresses don't last as long as they used to in years past. Finding a bed that lasts over 15 years is definitely not easy these days. That said, finding a long-living and comfortable mattress can save you thousands. Unfortunately, these mattresses get mixed reviews on durability. Many customers don't report problems, but others have issues with lasting comfort over a shorter than average horizon.

Sleep Number's Owner Satisfaction

Getting a sense of how customers feel about mattresses can direct shoppers towards good options. Unfortunately, customers don't always have good things to say about these mattresses. Some are content with the feel and comfort level, but others are not so much. If you are contemplating ordering, see below for more specifics that may be helpful.

Sleep Number's Supportiveness

Stomach and back sleepers need tons of support from their mattresses. Also, deeper support can be a make or break for side sleepers who need response but are at risk for back problems. These mattresses provide sleepers with above average supportiveness. That said, some others didn't like the support so if you are heavier, make sure to read the reviews.

Edge Support
Most folks like the edge support from these mattresses. But, some heavier customers may experience some dipping close to the edges.

Sleep Number's Durability

Finding a mattress with long lasting comfort is awesome, but difficult. These mattresses are not reviewed highly by customers when it comes to durability. This means that some customers may experience that their mattress lasts longer than average, while other customers may have much faster discomfort. If you are a bigger person, make sure to take a look at all of your options.

Browse Classic Brands Customer Reviews

This is the best mattress for the best price

There are reviews here for both the Classic Brands 11'' and 14''. This is for the 14'' Cool Gel. For years we slept on a traditional inner spring mattress with memory foam topper for comfort. I found that the memory foam traps heat. So while the topper made the mattress more comfortable, the heat was unbearable. We bought a Sealy memory foam mattress for our guest bedroom. I found it more comfortable than the old inner spring, but a bit too firm and too hot. The Classic Brands Cool Gel Ultimate 14'' Plush was the answer. As plush as an inner spring pillow top, but without the eventually troublesome springs that soon cause lumpy mattress syndrome. And, the cool gel works - keeping the mattress from overheating. I e-mailed Classic Brands before the purchase, asking them about foam density. I had read to avoid the low density memory foams as they don't hold up well. Classic responded quickly that they use 2'' of 4 lb cool gel memory foam on top on 2'' of 4 lb memory foam. The article I read recommended 4 lb foam and that sealed the deal for me. The mattress was made in China and Amazon estimated 1-3 months for delivery. We got it in 3 weeks. When I saw the box sitting on my patio where the delivery man left it, I was horrified. The box was badly damaged and the plastic inner cover was ripped open. These things are tightly compacted and rolled for shipping and once unwrapped expand from a few inches thick to the full 14''. Since the inner wrapper was torn, one end of the bed had already begun to expand. With one end still compressed, this thing looked like a giant mushroom. I contacted Classic and they said to inspect the cover and the foam for damage. If the foam was not damaged, we could keep the mattress and they would send a new cover if needed, or we could exchange it for a new one. The cover was smudged and the foam seemed undamaged, so we unwrapped it. Soon, the mattress had expanded to it's full 14''. We put it in the living room, under the windows for a day to expand. The chemical/foam smell was strong but dissipated after a day or so. Then we moved it to our bedroom and were able to clean the smudges from the cover. Despite the horrible package/shipping, the bed seemed in good condition. But the best part is sleeping on it. It's the perfect combination of firm-enough support and plush, soft comfort. And the cool gel really does work.. For the first time in a long time, I didn't wake up in the middle of the night overheated. When morning came, I got out of bed without the accustomed aches and pains. And my wife loved it as well from the first night sleeping on it. It comes with 2 cool gel memory foam pillows, which are quite firm compared to the old feather pillows I was used too. By putting an old feather pillow on top of the foam pillow, I got the perfect combination of firm support and plush comfort - just like the mattress, with no overheating. Very impressed with the responsiveness/communication from Classic Brands.

View More Reviews

Browse Sleep Number Customer Reviews

Going with the C2 and adding my own bells and whistles

Very grateful for Candid Reviewer's advice. We were interested in the C2 after seeing the excellent rating it received from Consumer Reports, with high marks for durability, side and back sleeping. We went to the sleep number store, stuck to our plan and avoided being up- sold, and bought (on Amazon) both the recommended fiber topper and a gel topper to experiment with once the C2 arrives. We also are using our old metal frame with a queen-size bunkie board ($69), for a nice savings compared to the $300 foundation from sleep number. More $ for new sheets and bedding!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Level

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.