Get The Best Holiday 2021 Mattress Deals! Unlock Today's Coupons

Classic Brands vs. Intellibed

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Classic Brands

Classic Brands offers a variety of mattresses including memory foam, hybrid, innerspring, and latex options. Overall, one of their big differentiators is there wide variety of products that you can buy. They offer their products in many low price online retailers including Amazon, Jet, Walmart, Overstock, and Wayfair. Also, you may find them in Macy's and Home Depot.

Intellibed

Intellibed was founded in 2000 with a mission to be a sleep and health wellness company. Their hybrid mattresses feature their innovative Gel Matrix® -- a responsive gel grid that is firmer than memory foam. Intellibed mattresses feature layers of latex or memory foam, the Gel Matrix, and a coil support system. Overall, customers like their mattresses and liken them to other familiar gel technology used in other mattresses. Still, the price points are much higher than expected for the materials, and some customers have mentioned issues with firmness and longevity.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Intellibed in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Intellibed


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Classic Brands: 8.6/10
Intellibed: 8.7/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Classic Brands: 8.6/10
Intellibed: 8.6/10

Price Value:
Classic Brands: 8.9/10
Intellibed: 8.2/10

No Back Pain:
Classic Brands: 8.5/10
Intellibed: 8.8/10

Price:
Classic Brands: $139-$1299
Intellibed: $3099-$12998

Classic Brands:
Get Yours Now

Intellibed:
Get Yours Now

Classic Brands's Owner Satisfaction

It isn't always easy to figure out customer satisfaction with companies doing lots of work cleaning their online reputations. That said, overall, customers report these mattresses are comfortable. However, there were some sleepers that didn't like the feel. so look at the specifics below to make sure that this mattress will work for you!

Classic Brands's Supportiveness

It's important to have a supportive mattress for a good night's sleep. Most like the feel of this mattress for the first few months, but there are those that found their mattress less supportive. This is one reason to really do your research to make sure that these mattresses will fit your body type.

Edge Support
Most reviewers find edge support to be a differentiator of leading mattresses. These mattresses are okay in terms of edge support, but some may experience the edges to dip more over the long term.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In density tests that measure the initial supportiveness, supportiveness for these mattresses is fairly even. However, there are some folks that have experienced issues with support over time.

Classic Brands's Durability

Mattresses don't seem to be as long-living as they once were. A mattress that lasts 15 years is a hard thing for find. But, finding a mattress that really is cozy for a long time can save you lots long term. These mattresses get mixed feelings on durability. Many sleepers don't report issues, but others have complaints about durability over a shorter time frame than usual.

Intellibed's Owner Satisfaction

These mattresses get good marks when it comes to customer satisfaction. This means most customers leave positive ratings for this brand, but there were some caveats. There were some that felt discomfort. Learn more about the specifics of these mattresses below!

Intellibed's Supportiveness

Most customers describe these mattresses as supportive, which means that they align the spine for those that prefer their firmness specifications. That said, there are a few complaints from reviewers, so make sure to do research to connect your purchase pick with your body type and sleeping position.

Edge Support
Overall, these mattresses are described as having good edge support, which means most don't notice a depression when rolling towards the edge or sitting on the side of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In testing to see the even density and firmness of the mattress surface, the support is even across the surface. However, some customers describe one-off support issues, so make sure it works for your body before purchasing.

Intellibed's Durability

Durability is one of the most important factors for mattress shoppers, but because of the large amount of new companies making mattresses, it can be difficult for shoppers to find out. That said, the data on the materials used, tests performed, and customer reviews can be a good guide to estimate longevity. These mattresses provide above average durability for the everyday sleeper. Some who are larger may find their mattress to be less durable.

Browse Classic Brands Customer Reviews

This is the best mattress for the best price

There are reviews here for both the Classic Brands 11'' and 14''. This is for the 14'' Cool Gel. For years we slept on a traditional inner spring mattress with memory foam topper for comfort. I found that the memory foam traps heat. So while the topper made the mattress more comfortable, the heat was unbearable. We bought a Sealy memory foam mattress for our guest bedroom. I found it more comfortable than the old inner spring, but a bit too firm and too hot. The Classic Brands Cool Gel Ultimate 14'' Plush was the answer. As plush as an inner spring pillow top, but without the eventually troublesome springs that soon cause lumpy mattress syndrome. And, the cool gel works - keeping the mattress from overheating. I e-mailed Classic Brands before the purchase, asking them about foam density. I had read to avoid the low density memory foams as they don't hold up well. Classic responded quickly that they use 2'' of 4 lb cool gel memory foam on top on 2'' of 4 lb memory foam. The article I read recommended 4 lb foam and that sealed the deal for me. The mattress was made in China and Amazon estimated 1-3 months for delivery. We got it in 3 weeks. When I saw the box sitting on my patio where the delivery man left it, I was horrified. The box was badly damaged and the plastic inner cover was ripped open. These things are tightly compacted and rolled for shipping and once unwrapped expand from a few inches thick to the full 14''. Since the inner wrapper was torn, one end of the bed had already begun to expand. With one end still compressed, this thing looked like a giant mushroom. I contacted Classic and they said to inspect the cover and the foam for damage. If the foam was not damaged, we could keep the mattress and they would send a new cover if needed, or we could exchange it for a new one. The cover was smudged and the foam seemed undamaged, so we unwrapped it. Soon, the mattress had expanded to it's full 14''. We put it in the living room, under the windows for a day to expand. The chemical/foam smell was strong but dissipated after a day or so. Then we moved it to our bedroom and were able to clean the smudges from the cover. Despite the horrible package/shipping, the bed seemed in good condition. But the best part is sleeping on it. It's the perfect combination of firm-enough support and plush, soft comfort. And the cool gel really does work.. For the first time in a long time, I didn't wake up in the middle of the night overheated. When morning came, I got out of bed without the accustomed aches and pains. And my wife loved it as well from the first night sleeping on it. It comes with 2 cool gel memory foam pillows, which are quite firm compared to the old feather pillows I was used too. By putting an old feather pillow on top of the foam pillow, I got the perfect combination of firm support and plush comfort - just like the mattress, with no overheating. Very impressed with the responsiveness/communication from Classic Brands.

View More Reviews

Browse Intellibed Customer Reviews

Love the mattress and pillows

This is one of the most comfortable mattresses I have slept on. Have enjoyed it since the first night we received it. Got pillows to go with it and love them too. Highly recommend

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Puffy

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.