Classic Brands vs Helix

Get an Instant Discount for Helix Up To $125 Off Mattresses

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Classic Brands

Classic Brands offers a variety of mattresses including memory foam, hybrid, innerspring, and latex options. Overall, one of their big differentiators is there wide variety of products that you can buy. They offer their products in many low price online retailers including Amazon, Jet, Walmart, Overstock, and Wayfair. Also, you may find them in Macy's and Home Depot.

Helix

Helix is one of the most innovative companies in the mattress-in-a-box movement. Over the last 3 years, they have been offering fully customized mattresses to customers with their high-tech sleep quiz. Being one of the first to provide dual sided firmness options, they also have made it even simpler for customers to select the right mattress (even if they don't want to use the sleep quiz). With 6 comfort designs to choose from, Helix has really focused on delivering to every type of sleeper.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Helix in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Helix

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Classic Brands: 8.6/10
Helix: 9.4/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Classic Brands: 8.6/10
Helix: 9.3/10

Price Value:
Classic Brands: 8.9/10
Helix: 9.4/10

No Back Pain:
Classic Brands: 8.5/10
Helix: 9.3/10

Price:
Classic Brands: $139-$1299
Helix: $600-$1245

Classic Brands:
Get Yours Now

Helix:
Up To $125 Off Mattresses

Classic Brands's Owner Satisfaction

These mattresses are highly rated by customers overall and most feel very comfortable. Some folks didn't feel as comfortable, however. If one of these mattresses is up for your review, make sure to read more below to make sure it will work for your body type.

Classic Brands's Supportiveness

Mattress supportiveness is an important factor for everyone -- especially stomach and back sleepers. Also, deeper support that keeps the spine aligned with the rest of the body is an essential trait for side sleepers. For most sleepers, these mattresses offer a good amount of support. Some, however, have reported issues with support so if you are heavier in body type, make sure to do extra research.

Edge Support
Most feel comfortable with the edge support of these mattresses. Some customers weren't entirely satisfied with the edge support.

Classic Brands's Durability

Mattresses that have good durability ratings last between 7 - 12 years based on the materials used. Foam mattresses are generally not as durable, while mattresses with springs last longer if they are well made. However, unprepared mattresses will break down much faster no matter the materials used, especially for larger customers. Sleepers have mixed things to say about these mattresses. Some find them to be comfortable for the long term, but others have had issues.

Helix's Owner Satisfaction

Looking over customer reviews and ratings is a strong way to figure out if a company will meet your criteria. Overall, these mattresses are rated well by customers, but there are some that didn't feel as comfortable. Look over the below details to discover if one of these mattresses will fit your body.

Helix's Supportiveness

These mattresses are more supportive than most, which means the support layers of the mattress work with your body to align the spine for most. That said, there are rare reports of support issues, so make sure to do extra research to make sure that this mattress fits your sleeping preference and body type.

Edge Support
Most sleepers describe these mattresses as having good edge support, which means most don't experience any issues when sitting on the side of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In tests of the mattress density evenness and firmness, the support across the surface is solid and even. That said, some reviewers describe rare support issues, so read the reviews below before purchasing.

Helix's Durability

Having a mattress that lasts a long time can means thousands of dollars in your pocket. And that totally aligns with why durability is so important to mattress buyers. However, lots of brands are out for profits rather than making the ever-lasting product. Even with that, customers can still find great products and brands out there. These mattresses are experienced by customers as being highly durable. Unless you are of a heavier build, these mattresses should last 7 - 12 years.

Get an Instant Discount for Helix:   Up To $125 Off Mattresses

Browse Classic Brands Customer Reviews

This is the best mattress for the best price

There are reviews here for both the Classic Brands 11'' and 14''. This is for the 14'' Cool Gel. For years we slept on a traditional inner spring mattress with memory foam topper for comfort. I found that the memory foam traps heat. So while the topper made the mattress more comfortable, the heat was unbearable. We bought a Sealy memory foam mattress for our guest bedroom. I found it more comfortable than the old inner spring, but a bit too firm and too hot. The Classic Brands Cool Gel Ultimate 14'' Plush was the answer. As plush as an inner spring pillow top, but without the eventually troublesome springs that soon cause lumpy mattress syndrome. And, the cool gel works - keeping the mattress from overheating. I e-mailed Classic Brands before the purchase, asking them about foam density. I had read to avoid the low density memory foams as they don't hold up well. Classic responded quickly that they use 2'' of 4 lb cool gel memory foam on top on 2'' of 4 lb memory foam. The article I read recommended 4 lb foam and that sealed the deal for me. The mattress was made in China and Amazon estimated 1-3 months for delivery. We got it in 3 weeks. When I saw the box sitting on my patio where the delivery man left it, I was horrified. The box was badly damaged and the plastic inner cover was ripped open. These things are tightly compacted and rolled for shipping and once unwrapped expand from a few inches thick to the full 14''. Since the inner wrapper was torn, one end of the bed had already begun to expand. With one end still compressed, this thing looked like a giant mushroom. I contacted Classic and they said to inspect the cover and the foam for damage. If the foam was not damaged, we could keep the mattress and they would send a new cover if needed, or we could exchange it for a new one. The cover was smudged and the foam seemed undamaged, so we unwrapped it. Soon, the mattress had expanded to it's full 14''. We put it in the living room, under the windows for a day to expand. The chemical/foam smell was strong but dissipated after a day or so. Then we moved it to our bedroom and were able to clean the smudges from the cover. Despite the horrible package/shipping, the bed seemed in good condition. But the best part is sleeping on it. It's the perfect combination of firm-enough support and plush, soft comfort. And the cool gel really does work.. For the first time in a long time, I didn't wake up in the middle of the night overheated. When morning came, I got out of bed without the accustomed aches and pains. And my wife loved it as well from the first night sleeping on it. It comes with 2 cool gel memory foam pillows, which are quite firm compared to the old feather pillows I was used too. By putting an old feather pillow on top of the foam pillow, I got the perfect combination of firm support and plush comfort - just like the mattress, with no overheating. Very impressed with the responsiveness/communication from Classic Brands.

View More Reviews

Browse Helix Customer Reviews

Better than before - Eric S.

My helix isn't perfect but it's a whole lot better than what I was sleeping on before. After a couple months I've noticed a little sagging on the side I typically sleep but overall I love my mattress, sound investment.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.