Classic Brands vs Eight

Get The Best June 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Classic Brands

Classic Brands offers a variety of mattresses including memory foam, hybrid, innerspring, and latex options. Overall, one of their big differentiators is there wide variety of products that you can buy. They offer their products in many low price online retailers including Amazon, Jet, Walmart, Overstock, and Wayfair. Also, you may find them in Macy's and Home Depot.

Eight

Eight Sleep is at it again! After creating the only smart mattress in a box, they have recently launched a new smart, tempurature regulating mattress, named 'The Pod.' With an active grid on the top layer that can either cool or heat the sleeper based on the bed's current temperature, the pod keeps you perfectly cozy all night long. Additionally, with a contouring, medium-firm memory foam design, it really is a gadget-lover's great night sleep!

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Eight in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Eight

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Classic Brands: 8.6/10
Eight: 9.4/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Classic Brands: 8.6/10
Eight: 9.2/10

Price Value:
Classic Brands: 8.9/10
Eight: 9.4/10

No Back Pain:
Classic Brands: 8.5/10
Eight: 9.3/10

Price:
Classic Brands: $139-$1299
Eight: $995-$2495

Classic Brands:
Get Yours Now

Eight:
Get Yours Now

Classic Brands's Owner Satisfaction

It isn't always easy to figure out customer satisfaction with companies doing lots of work cleaning their online reputations. That said, customers give these mattresses good marks overall. However, there were some complaints from sleepers that didn't feel as comfortable. so research more below to consider your body type with the mattress specifications!

Classic Brands's Supportiveness

A supportive mattress is important to all, but especially important for back and stomach sleepers. Even side sleepers need gentle support to make sure their spines are aligned. These mattresses are above average when it comes to support. However, others had problems with the support so if you have a heavy build, make sure to dig into the specifications.

Edge Support
Most agree with the edge support of these mattresses. Some customers weren't entirely satisfied with the edge support.

Classic Brands's Durability

Mattresses don't seem to provide lasting comfort as well as they once did. Finding a mattress that remains really comfortable after 15 years of use is definitely not a simple thing. Yet, finding a mattress that really remains comfortable that long can save you lots of money. Unfortunately, these mattresses get mixed reviews on durability. Many sleepers don't report issues, but others have complaints about durability over a shorter time frame than usual.

Eight's Owner Satisfaction

Great customer satisfaction scores are what shoppers want to see. These mattresses get higher marks from customers than many other competitors, which should give you confidence in learning more about them. Learn more to see if these mattresses will work for your body!

Eight's Supportiveness

Mattresses that are supportive are important to everyone. Even if you like a soft or a firm mattress, a mattress that keeps your body properly aligned is very important. Most customers say that these mattresses do well with support.

Edge Support
Some mattress connoisseurs report that edge support is a key for the mattress shopper. Overall, hese mattresses offer strong edge support, which means there is good support for sleepers on the sides of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Resting a bowling ball on the mattress is a fun way to measure mattress firmness and it is an excellent way of measuring support across the surface. These mattresses offer positive support throughtout the mattress.

Eight's Durability

It isn't easy to find great products that last a decade with constant use. Brands, for the most part, rather not make a product that lasts forever if they can make repeatable revenue. However, there are still great products out there. These mattresses, for example, do a great job with quality and durability. Most customers will find that they will last between 7 - 12 years, though those who are heavier may find that they break down faster.

Check the Prices For Eight:   Get Today's Prices

Browse Classic Brands Customer Reviews

This is the best mattress for the best price

There are reviews here for both the Classic Brands 11'' and 14''. This is for the 14'' Cool Gel. For years we slept on a traditional inner spring mattress with memory foam topper for comfort. I found that the memory foam traps heat. So while the topper made the mattress more comfortable, the heat was unbearable. We bought a Sealy memory foam mattress for our guest bedroom. I found it more comfortable than the old inner spring, but a bit too firm and too hot. The Classic Brands Cool Gel Ultimate 14'' Plush was the answer. As plush as an inner spring pillow top, but without the eventually troublesome springs that soon cause lumpy mattress syndrome. And, the cool gel works - keeping the mattress from overheating. I e-mailed Classic Brands before the purchase, asking them about foam density. I had read to avoid the low density memory foams as they don't hold up well. Classic responded quickly that they use 2'' of 4 lb cool gel memory foam on top on 2'' of 4 lb memory foam. The article I read recommended 4 lb foam and that sealed the deal for me. The mattress was made in China and Amazon estimated 1-3 months for delivery. We got it in 3 weeks. When I saw the box sitting on my patio where the delivery man left it, I was horrified. The box was badly damaged and the plastic inner cover was ripped open. These things are tightly compacted and rolled for shipping and once unwrapped expand from a few inches thick to the full 14''. Since the inner wrapper was torn, one end of the bed had already begun to expand. With one end still compressed, this thing looked like a giant mushroom. I contacted Classic and they said to inspect the cover and the foam for damage. If the foam was not damaged, we could keep the mattress and they would send a new cover if needed, or we could exchange it for a new one. The cover was smudged and the foam seemed undamaged, so we unwrapped it. Soon, the mattress had expanded to it's full 14''. We put it in the living room, under the windows for a day to expand. The chemical/foam smell was strong but dissipated after a day or so. Then we moved it to our bedroom and were able to clean the smudges from the cover. Despite the horrible package/shipping, the bed seemed in good condition. But the best part is sleeping on it. It's the perfect combination of firm-enough support and plush, soft comfort. And the cool gel really does work.. For the first time in a long time, I didn't wake up in the middle of the night overheated. When morning came, I got out of bed without the accustomed aches and pains. And my wife loved it as well from the first night sleeping on it. It comes with 2 cool gel memory foam pillows, which are quite firm compared to the old feather pillows I was used too. By putting an old feather pillow on top of the foam pillow, I got the perfect combination of firm support and plush comfort - just like the mattress, with no overheating. Very impressed with the responsiveness/communication from Classic Brands.

View More Reviews

Browse Eight Customer Reviews

Very cool bed

Although I have experienced bugs with my data collection, the overall concept of this bed is amazing. I am excited for future types of smart beds.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.