City vs Tuft And Needle

Get an Instant Discount for Tuft And Needle Get 10% Off Mattresses

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

City

City Mattress sells a variety of mattresses, including name brands like Serta and Sealy, and its own proprietary options City Mattress brand. With locations across New York and Florida, they get good marks on customer service overall, but there are some concerns around the durability and price value of some of the products sold.

Tuft And Needle

Tuft and Needle made a big splash in the mattress industry when it offered one of the lowest cost all-foam mattresses in a box directly to customers. As one of the earliest players in the mattress-in-a-box space, they've elaborated on their initial concept with two more innovative designs: The Mint and The Hybrid, which provide high quality, superbly pressure-relieving offerings. With their three mattresses and 100,000s of positive reviews, customers have spoken in approval of T&N.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Tuft And Needle in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Tuft And Needle

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
City: 7.2/10
Tuft And Needle: 9.4/10

Customer Satisfaction:
City: 7.2/10
Tuft And Needle: 9.5/10

Price Value:
City: 7.2/10
Tuft And Needle: 9.4/10

No Back Pain:
City: 7.2/10
Tuft And Needle: 9.3/10

Price:
City: $689-$2299
Tuft And Needle: $350-$1570

City:
Get Yours Now

Tuft And Needle:
Get 10% Off Mattresses

City's Owner Satisfaction

Sleeper reviews can be hard to understand from a high level -- especially with some companies focusing heavily on protecting their reputation. Customers, sadly, don't give these mattresses as high reception as others in the industry. There are still customers that really appreciate these beds, but many others that don't. Research more below to learn about the specifics of the mattresses.

City's Supportiveness

Some customers report that these mattresses don't provide the kind of support they expect. Though most find these mattresses comfortable initally, if you are heavier in build, make sure that your choice fits with your body before buying.

Edge Support
For those that are hoping for impressive edge support, some describe these mattresses has having declining edge support.

City's Durability

Everyone wants to find a mattress that will last over a decade, and when we instead buy a mattress that causes us discomfort after only a year, we feel cheated. However, it is getting more and more difficult to find a durable mattress nowadays. With more products in the industry than ever and rife competition, companies are sacrificing quality to find profits. When it comes to these mattresses, some folks had issues with discomfort over a short period of time. Longevity issues aren't a guarantee, but make sure sure that you read up on the specifications to make sure your choice works for you.

Tuft And Needle's Owner Satisfaction

Getting a sense of how customers feel about mattresses can direct shoppers towards good options. Unfortunately, customers don't always have good things to say about these mattresses. Some are content with the feel and comfort level, but others are not so much. If you are thinking about buying, make sure to get more details about the mattress below.

Tuft And Needle's Supportiveness

Some customers report that these mattresses are well supported, but some others have been dissatisfied. For those that have tender backs already, make sure to read the reviews to make sure the mattress works for you.

Edge Support
There are positive and negatives reported about edge support. Some feel that there is evenness in support across the surface, but others had issues with sagginess towards the sides.

Tuft And Needle's Durability

We all want a comfy mattress that lasts a long time, but some brands don't put the same kind of attention on building quality that lasts. That being said, these mattresses get good marks from reviewers on durability. Most customers are happy with their mattress for 5 to 7 years, but some who are heavy or use their mattress above average will find that their mattress is not as durable.

Get an Instant Discount for Tuft And Needle:   Get 10% Off Mattresses

Browse City Customer Reviews

I called City Mattress

I called City Mattress in Henrietta while I was on my way home on the NYS Thruway. The salesperson Eric was very knowledge and efficient when I inquired about models and pricing. I was so pleased at the ease of speaking with him that I decided to get off the Henrietta exit on my way home. When I walked in the store I was greeted by Eric and he showed me the mattress we had discussed. I noticed a different model close by that I was interested in because it was a similar model to the others I have for my kids. I asked for the best price, he gave me a great deal and that was it. He set up delivery for the next day and I was out of the store in less than 20 minutes. The delivery guys were also on time and they also asked if they should remove their shoes which is nice because most contractors do not and it's annoying. Overall, this was my first time buying from City mattress and it won't be my last. I actually called another sore in the area I had bought three mattresses from before I called City and the sales guy was short and not helpful. Their loss! Nice job City Mattress and thank you Eric!

View More Reviews

Browse Tuft And Needle Customer Reviews

The upgrades to the Mint mattress

The upgrades to the Mint mattress addresses the few weaknesses of the standard T and N mattress. We have been extremely satisfied with both of them and have begun giving them to our kids

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.